Friday, February 28, 2020 | 8:30 a.m. | 30 House Building

## **Members Present:**

Rep. Kay J. Christofferson, Chair Rep. Kyle R. Andersen, Vice Chair

Rep. Melissa G. Ballard Rep. Suzanne Harrison Rep. Dan N. Johnson Rep. Marsha Judkins Rep. Karen Kwan

Rep. Merrill F. Nelson

Rep. Raymond P. Ward

## Members Absent:

Rep. Steve R. Christiansen Rep. Adam Robertson Rep. Lawanna Shurtliff

## Staff Present:

Art L. Hunsaker, Policy Analyst Steve Benard, Committee Secretary

Note: A copy of related materials and an audio recording of the meeting can be found at www.le.utah.gov.

Chair Christofferson called the meeting to order.

MOTION: Rep. Judkins moved to approve the minutes for Feb 24, 2020. The motion passed unanimously.

The motion passed with a vote of 8 - 0 - 4.

Yeas-8 Navs-0 Absent-4

Rep. K. Andersen Rep. S. Christiansen Rep. M. Ballard Rep. D. Johnson

Rep. K. Christofferson Rep. A. Robertson Rep. S. Harrison Rep. L. Shurtliff

Rep. M. Judkins Rep. K. Kwan

Rep. M. Nelson

Rep. R. Ward

## 1. 1st Sub. S.B. 92 Statewide Comprehensive Rail Plan (Anderegg, J.)

Sen. Jacob L. Anderegg explained the bill and responded to questions from committee members.

Teri Newell, Deputy Director of Utah Department of Transportation, spoke to the bill.

Karson Eilers, Utah League of Cities and Towns, spoke in favor of the bil;

Andrew Gruber, Executive Director of the Wasatch Front Regional Council, spoke in favor of the bill.

Ashlyn Yates of Westminster College, spoke in favor of the bill.

MOTION: Rep. Harrison moved to pass 1st Substitute S.B. 92 out favorably. The motion passed unanimously.

The motion passed with a vote of 9 - 0 - 3.



Rep. K. Kwan Rep. M. Nelson

Rep. M. Nelson

Yeas-9 Nays-0 Absent-3

Rep. K. Andersen
Rep. M. Ballard
Rep. A. Robertson
Rep. A. Robertson

Rep. K. Christofferson Rep. L. Shurtliff

Rep. S. Harrison
Rep. D. Johnson
Rep. M. Judkins

Rep. R. Ward

MOTION: Rep. Johnson moved to adjourn. The motion passed with a vote of 8 - 0 - 4.

Yeas-8 Nays-0 Absent-4

Rep. K. Andersen
Rep. M. Ballard
Rep. K. Christofferson
Rep. K. Christofferson
Rep. S. Harrison
Rep. Rep. R. Ward

Rep. K. Christofferson
Rep. S. Harrison
Rep. D. Johnson
Rep. M. Judkins
Rep. K. Kwan

Chair Christofferson adjourned the meeting at 9:37 am .