

HOUSE BUSINESS AND LABOR STANDING COMMITTEE

Monday, March 9, 2020 | 8:00 a.m. | 445 State Capitol

Members Present:

Rep. James A. Dunnigan, Chair Rep. A. Cory Maloy, Vice Chair

Rep. Brady Brammer Rep. Craig Hall Rep. Brian S. King

Rep. Calvin R. Musselman

Rep. Marc K. Roberts Rep. Casey Snider

Rep. Mark A. Wheatley

Rep. Mike Winder

Members Absent:

Rep. Susan Duckworth Rep. Timothy D. Hawkes Rep. Michael K. McKell Rep. Tim Quinn

Rep. Tim Quinn Rep. Mike Schultz

Staff Present:

Adam J. Sweet, Policy Analyst

Claire Kirkland, Committee Secretary

Rep. M. Wheatley

Rep. S. Duckworth

Rep. T. Hawkes

Rep. M. McKell

Note: A copy of related materials and an audio recording of the meeting can be found at www.le.utah.gov.

Chair Dunnigan called the meeting to order at 8:12 a.m.

MOTION: Rep. Winder moved to approve the minutes of the March 5, 2020, meeting. The motion passed

with a vote of 7 - 0 - 8.

<u>Yeas-7</u> <u>Nays-0</u> <u>Absent-8</u>

Rep. B. Brammer
Rep. J. Dunnigan
Rep. C. Hall
Rep. B. King
Rep. A. Maloy
Rep. C. Musselman
Rep. M. Schultz
Rep. M. Winder
Rep. M. Winder

1. 2nd Sub. S.B. 171 Nonprofit Entities Amendments (McCay, D.)

Sen. Daniel McCay presented the bill.

Connor Boyack, President, Libertas Institute, spoke in favor of the bill.

MOTION: Rep. Winder moved to replace 2nd Substitute S.B. 171 with 3rd Substitute S.B. 171. The motion

passed with a vote of 9 - 0 - 6.

Yeas-9 Nays-0 Absent-6

Rep. B. Brammer Rep. J. Dunnigan Rep. C. Hall

Rep. B. King
Rep. A. Maloy
Rep. C. Musselman
Rep. M. Roberts
Rep. M. Schultz

Rep. C. Snider Rep. M. Wheatley

Rep. M. Winder



MOTION:

Rep. Maloy moved to pass 3rd Substitute S.B. 171 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 9 - 1 - 5.

Yeas-9 Nays-1 Absent-5

Rep. J. Dunnigan
Rep. B. Brammer
Rep. C. Hall
Rep. B. King
Rep. B. King
Rep. A. Maloy
Rep. C. Musselman
Rep. C. Musselman
Rep. B. Brammer
Rep. M. Duckworth
Rep. T. Hawkes
Rep. M. McKell
Rep. T. Quinn
Rep. M. Schultz

Rep. M. Roberts Rep. C. Snider Rep. M. Wheatley Rep. M. Winder

2 . 2nd Sub. S.B. 103 Consumer Alcoholic Beverage Purchasing (Davis, G.)

Sen. Gene Davis and Salvador Petilos, Executive Director, Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control, presented the bill.

MOTION: Rep. Brammer moved to pass 2nd Substitute S.B. 103 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 9 - 0 - 6.

Rep. Winder moved to approve the minutes of the March 5, 2020, meeting (draft minutes

Yeas-9 Nays-0 Absent-6

Rep. B. Brammer
Rep. J. Dunnigan
Rep. C. Hall
Rep. B. King
Rep. A. Maloy
Rep. C. Musselman
Rep. C. S. Duckworth
Rep. T. Hawkes
Rep. M. McKell
Rep. T. Quinn
Rep. A. Maloy
Rep. C. Musselman
Rep. C. Snider

Rep. C. Musselman Rep. M. Roberts Rep. M. Wheatley Rep. M. Winder

MOTION:

Rep. M. Winder

unpublished at time of previous motion). The motion passed with a vote of 9 - 0 - 6.

Yeas-9Nays-0Absent-6Rep. B. BrammerRep. S. DuckworthRep. J. DunniganRep. T. HawkesRep. C. HallRep. M. McKell

Rep. C. Hall
Rep. B. King
Rep. A. Maloy
Rep. C. Musselman
Rep. M. Roberts
Rep. M. Wheatley

3 . 1st Sub. S.B. 201 Professional Licensing Amendments (Anderegg, J.)

Sen. Jacob L. Anderegg and Heather Andrews, State Director, Americans for Prosperity-Utah, presented the bill.

MOTION: Rep. Winder moved to pass 1st Substitute S.B. 201 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of

9 - 0 - 6.



<u>Yeas-9</u> <u>Nays-0</u> <u>Absent-6</u>

Rep. B. Brammer
Rep. J. Dunnigan
Rep. C. Hall
Rep. B. King
Rep. A. Maloy
Rep. A. Maloy
Rep. M. Duckworth
Rep. T. Hawkes
Rep. M. McKell
Rep. T. Quinn
Rep. M. Schultz

Rep. C. Musselman Rep. C. Snider Rep. M. Roberts

Rep. M. Wheatley Rep. M. Winder

Rep. M. Winder

Rep. C. Snider Rep. M. Wheatley Rep. M. Winder

4. 1st Sub. S.B. 183 Nonjudicial Foreclosure Amendments (Bramble, C.)

Sen. Curtis S. Bramble presented 1st. Sub. S.B. 183.

Bruce Jenkins, Chair, Legislative Action Committee, Community Association Institute, spoke to the bill.

Holly Christensen, American Resort Development Association, spoke in favor of the bill.

MOTION: Rep. Winder moved to pass 1st Substitute S.B. 183 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 10 - 0 - 5.

<u>Yeas-10</u> Nays-0 Absent-5
Rep. B. Brammer Rep. S. Duckworth

Rep. B. Brammer
Rep. J. Dunnigan
Rep. C. Hall
Rep. B. King
Rep. B. King
Rep. T. Quinn
Rep. T. Quinn

Rep. A. Maloy Rep. M. Schultz
Rep. C. Musselman
Rep. M. Roberts

Rep. M. Roberts
Rep. C. Snider
Rep. M. Wheatley

MOTION: Rep. Brammer moved to adjourn. The motion passed with a vote of 10 - 0 - 5.

Yeas-10 Nays-0 Absent-5

Rep. B. Brammer
Rep. J. Dunnigan
Rep. C. Hall
Rep. B. King
Rep. A. Maloy
Rep. A. Maloy
Rep. M. McKell
Rep. M. Schultz

Rep. A. Maloy
Rep. C. Musselman
Rep. M. Schull
Rep. M. Schull

Chair Dunnigan adjourned the meeting at 9:13 p.m.