

## **MINUTES**

## SENATE TRANSPORTATION, PUBLIC UTILITIES, ENERGY, AND TECHNOLOGY STANDING COMMITTEE

Monday, March 9, 2020 | 9:16 a.m. | 215 Senate Building

**Members Present:** 

Sen. Wayne A. Harper, Chair Sen. Jacob L. Anderegg

Sen. David G. Buxton Sen. Kathleen Riebe

Sen. Ronald Winterton

Members Absent:

President J. Stuart Adams

Sen. Don L. Ipson Sen. Karen Mayne

Staff Present:

Karin M. Rueff, Policy Analyst Karen Allred, Committee Secretary

Note: A copy of related materials and an audio recording of the meeting can be found at www.le.utah.gov.

Chair Harper called the meeting to order at 9:16 a.m.

**MOTION:** Sen. Winterton moved to approve the minutes of March 5, 2020. The motion passed with a vote of

3 - 0 - 5.

Yeas-3 Nays-0 Absent-5

Sen. W. Harper
Sen. J. Adams
Sen. K. Riebe
Sen. J. Anderegg
Sen. R. Winterton
Sen. D. Buxton
Sen. D. Ipson

Sen. K. Mayne

## 1 . 2nd Sub. H.B. 396 Electric Vehicle Charging Infrastructure Amendments (Snow, V. L.)

Rep. V. Lowry Snow presented the bill with the assistance of James Campbell, Rocky Mountain Power.

Jeff Peterson, Executive Director, Utah Rural Electric Association, spoke in favor of the bill.

Soren Simonsen, Jordan River Commission, spoke in favor of the bill.

Wayne Neiderhouser, electric automobile owner, spoke in favor of the bill.

Jill Flygare, Chief Operating Officer, Inland Port Authority, spoke in favor of the bill.

Jacey Skinner, Vice President of Public Policy, Salt Lake Chamber, spoke in favor of the bill.

Scott Baird, Executive Director, Department of Environmental Quality, responded to questions from the committee.

**MOTION:** Sen. Riebe moved to pass 2nd Substitute H.B. 396 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of

5 - 0 - 3.

Yeas-5 Nays-0 Absent-3 Sen. J. Anderegg Sen. J. Adams

Sen. D. Buxton Sen. D. Ipson
Sen. W. Harper Sen. K. Mayne

Sen. K. Riebe

Sen. R. Winterton

March 9, 2020

**MOTION:** Sen. Riebe moved to adjourn. The motion passed with a vote of 5 - 0 - 3.

Yeas-5Nays-0Absent-3Sen. J. AndereggSen. J. AdamsSen. D. BuxtonSen. D. IpsonSen. W. HarperSen. K. Mayne

Sen. K. Riebe Sen. R. Winterton

Chair Harper adjourned the meeting at 9:51 a.m.

Page 2 of 2