	2021 GENERAL SESSION
	STATE OF UTAH
LO	NG TITLE
Gei	neral Description:
	This bill amends provisions related to suspension of an individual's driver license.
Hig	ghlighted Provisions:
	This bill:
	• defines a term;
	<ul> <li>prohibits the suspension of an individual's driver license by the Driver License</li> </ul>
	Division based solely on the individual's failure to pay certain fines;
	<ul> <li>prohibits a court from ordering a driver license suspension or revocation under</li> </ul>
	certain circumstances; and
	<ul><li>makes technical changes.</li></ul>
Mo	ney Appropriated in this Bill:
	None
Oth	ner Special Clauses:
	None
Uta	th Code Sections Affected:
AM	IENDS:
	41-6a-509, as last amended by Laws of Utah 2020, Chapter 177
	41-6a-517, as last amended by Laws of Utah 2020, Chapter 12
	<b>41-6a-1715</b> , as last amended by Laws of Utah 2014, Chapter 416
	<b>53-3-102</b> , as last amended by Laws of Utah 2019, Chapters 426 and 459
	<b>53-3-218</b> , as last amended by Laws of Utah 2018, Chapter 121
	53-3-221, as last amended by Laws of Utah 2015, Chapter 52
Вез	it enacted by the Legislature of the state of Utah:
	Section 1. Section <b>41-6a-509</b> is amended to read:
	41-6a-509. Driver license suspension or revocation for a driving under the

33	(1) The Driver License Division shall, if the person is 21 years of age or older at the
34	time of arrest:
35	(a) suspend for a period of 120 days the operator's license of a person convicted for the
36	first time under Section 41-6a-502; or
37	(b) revoke for a period of two years the license of a person if:
38	(i) the person has a prior conviction as defined under Subsection 41-6a-501(2); and
39	(ii) the current violation under Section 41-6a-502 is committed within a period of 10
40	years from the date of the prior violation.
41	(2) The Driver License Division shall, if the person is 19 years of age or older but
42	under 21 years of age at the time of arrest:
43	(a) suspend the person's driver license until the person is 21 years of age or for a period
44	of one year, whichever is longer, if the person is convicted for the first time of a violation under
45	Section 41-6a-502 of an offense that was committed on or after July 1, 2011;
46	(b) deny the person's application for a license or learner's permit until the person is 21
47	years of age or for a period of one year, whichever is longer, if the person:
48	(i) is convicted for the first time of a violation under Section 41-6a-502 of an offense
49	committed on or after July 1, 2011; and
50	(ii) has not been issued an operator license;
51	(c) revoke the person's driver license until the person is 21 years of age or for a period
52	of two years, whichever is longer, if:
53	(i) the person has a prior conviction as defined under Subsection 41-6a-501(2); and
54	(ii) the current violation under Section 41-6a-502 is committed within a period of 10
55	years from the date of the prior violation; or
56	(d) deny the person's application for a license or learner's permit until the person is 21
57	years of age or for a period of two years, whichever is longer, if:
58	(i) the person has a prior conviction as defined under Subsection 41-6a-501(2);
59	(ii) the current violation under Section 41-6a-502 is committed within a period of 10
60	years from the date of the prior violation; and
61	(iii) the person has not been issued an operator license.
62	(3) The Driver License Division shall, if the person is under 19 years of age at the time
63	of arrest:

64 (a) suspend the person's driver license until the person is 21 years of age if the person is convicted for the first time of a violation under Section 41-6a-502;

- (b) deny the person's application for a license or learner's permit until the person is 21 years of age if the person:
  - (i) is convicted for the first time of a violation under Section 41-6a-502; and
- (ii) has not been issued an operator license;

66

67

68

76

77

78

79

80

81

82

83

84

85

- 70 (c) revoke the person's driver license until the person is 21 years of age if:
- 71 (i) the person has a prior conviction as defined under Subsection 41-6a-501(2); and
- 72 (ii) the current violation under Section 41-6a-502 is committed within a period of 10 73 years from the date of the prior violation; or
- 74 (d) deny the person's application for a license or learner's permit until the person is 21 75 years of age if:
  - (i) the person has a prior conviction as defined under Subsection 41-6a-501(2);
  - (ii) the current violation under Section 41-6a-502 is committed within a period of 10 years from the date of the prior violation; and
  - (iii) the person has not been issued an operator license.
    - (4) The Driver License Division shall suspend or revoke the license of a person as ordered by the court under Subsection (9).
  - (5) The Driver License Division shall subtract from any suspension or revocation period the number of days for which a license was previously suspended under Section 53-3-223 or 53-3-231, if the previous suspension was based on the same occurrence upon which the record of conviction is based.
- (6) If a conviction recorded as impaired driving is amended to a driving under the
   influence conviction under Section 41-6a-502 in accordance with Subsection
   41-6a-502.5(3)(a)(ii), the Driver License Division:
- 89 (a) may not subtract from any suspension or revocation any time for which a license was previously suspended or revoked under Section 53-3-223 or 53-3-231; and
- 91 (b) shall start the suspension or revocation time under Subsection (1) on the date of the amended conviction.
- 93 (7) A court that reported a conviction of a violation of Section 41-6a-502 for a 94 violation that occurred on or after July 1, 2009, to the Driver License Division may shorten the

suspension period imposed under Subsection (2)(a) or (b) or Subsection (3)(a) or (b) prior to completion of the suspension period if the person:

(a) completes at least six months of the license suspension;

(b) completes a screening;

- 99 (c) completes an assessment, if it is found appropriate by a screening under Subsection 100 (7)(b);
  - (d) completes substance abuse treatment if it is found appropriate by the assessment under Subsection (7)(c);
  - (e) completes an educational series if substance abuse treatment is not required by an assessment under Subsection (7)(c) or the court does not order substance abuse treatment;
  - (f) has not been convicted of a violation of any motor vehicle law in which the person was involved as the operator of the vehicle during the suspension period imposed under Subsection (2)(a) or (b) or Subsection (3)(a) or (b);
  - (g) has complied with all the terms of the person's probation or all orders of the court if not ordered to probation; and
  - (h) (i) is 18 years of age or older and provides a sworn statement to the court that the person has not unlawfully consumed alcohol during the suspension period imposed under Subsection (2)(a) or (b) or Subsection (3)(a) or (b); or
  - (ii) is under 18 years of age and has the person's parent or legal guardian provide an affidavit or sworn statement to the court certifying that to the parent or legal guardian's knowledge the person has not unlawfully consumed alcohol during the suspension period imposed under Subsection (2)(a) or (b) or Subsection (3)(a) or (b).
  - (8) If the court shortens a person's license suspension period in accordance with the requirements of Subsection (7), the court shall forward the order shortening the person's suspension period prior to the completion of the suspension period imposed under Subsection (2)(a) or (b) or Subsection (3)(a) or (b) to the Driver License Division.
  - (9) (a) (i) In addition to any other penalties provided in this section, a court may order the operator's license of a person who is convicted of a violation of Section 41-6a-502 to be suspended or revoked for an additional period of 90 days, 120 days, 180 days, one year, or two years to remove from the highways those persons who have shown they are safety hazards.
    - (ii) The additional suspension or revocation period provided in this Subsection (9) shall

126

begin the date on which the individual would be eligible to reinstate the individual's driving 127 privilege for a violation of Section 41-6a-502. 128 (b) If the court suspends or revokes the person's license under this Subsection (9), the 129 court shall prepare and send to the Driver License Division an order to suspend or revoke that 130 person's driving privileges for a specified period of time. 131 (10) (a) The court shall notify the Driver License Division if a person fails to [:(i)] 132 complete all court ordered: 133 [(A)] (i) screening; 134 [<del>(B)</del>] (ii) assessment; 135 [<del>(C)</del>] (iii) educational series; 136 [(D)] (iv) substance abuse treatment; and (E) (v) hours of work in a compensatory-service work program, or . 137 138 (ii) pay all fines and fees, including fees for restitution and treatment costs. 139 (b) [<del>Upon</del>] Subject to Subsection 53-3-218(3), upon receiving the notification 140 described in Subsection (10)(a), the division shall suspend the person's driving privilege in 141 accordance with [Subsections 53-3-221(2) and (3)] Subsection 53-3-221(2). 142 (11) (a) A court that reported a conviction of a violation of Section 41-6a-502 to the 143 Driver License Division may shorten the suspension period imposed under Subsection (1) 144 before completion of the suspension period if the person is participating in or has successfully 145 completed a 24-7 sobriety program as defined in Section 41-6a-515.5. 146 (b) If the court shortens a person's license suspension period in accordance with the 147 requirements of this Subsection (11), the court shall forward to the Driver License Division the 148 order shortening the person's suspension period. 149 (c) The court shall notify the Driver License Division if a person fails to complete all 150 requirements of a 24-7 sobriety program. (d) [<del>Upon</del>] Subject to Subsection 53-3-218(3), upon receiving the notification 151 152 described in Subsection (11)(c), the division shall suspend the person's driving privilege in 153 accordance with [Subsections 53-3-221(2) and (3)] Subsection 53-3-221(2). Section 2. Section 41-6a-517 is amended to read: 154 155 41-6a-517. Definitions -- Driving with any measurable controlled substance in the 156 body -- Penalties -- Arrest without warrant.

157	(1) As used in this section:
158	(a) "Controlled substance" means the same as that term is defined in Section 58-37-2.
159	(b) "Practitioner" means the same as that term is defined in Section 58-37-2.
160	(c) "Prescribe" means the same as that term is defined in Section 58-37-2.
161	(d) "Prescription" means the same as that term is defined in Section 58-37-2.
162	(2) (a) Except as provided in Subsection (2)(b), in cases not amounting to a violation of
163	Section 41-6a-502, a person may not operate or be in actual physical control of a motor vehicle
164	within this state if the person has any measurable controlled substance or metabolite of a
165	controlled substance in the person's body.
166	(b) Subsection (2)(a) does not apply to a person that has
167	11-nor-9-carboxy-tetrahydrocannabinol as the only controlled substance present in the person's
168	body.
169	(3) It is an affirmative defense to prosecution under this section that the controlled
170	substance was:
171	(a) involuntarily ingested by the accused;
172	(b) prescribed by a practitioner for use by the accused;
173	(c) cannabis in a medicinal dosage form or a cannabis product in a medicinal dosage
174	form that the accused ingested in accordance with Title 26, Chapter 61a, Utah Medical
175	Cannabis Act; or
176	(d) otherwise legally ingested.
177	(4) (a) A person convicted of a violation of Subsection (2) is guilty of a class B
178	misdemeanor.
179	(b) A person who violates this section is subject to conviction and sentencing under
180	both this section and any applicable offense under Section 58-37-8.
181	(5) A peace officer may, without a warrant, arrest a person for a violation of this
182	section when the officer has probable cause to believe the violation has occurred, although not
183	in the officer's presence, and if the officer has probable cause to believe that the violation was
184	committed by the person.
185	(6) The Driver License Division shall, if the person is 21 years of age or older on the
186	date of arrest:

- 6 -

187

(a) suspend, for a period of 120 days, the driver license of a person convicted under

188 Subsection (2) of an offense committed on or after July 1, 2009; or 189 (b) revoke, for a period of two years, the driver license of a person if: 190 (i) the person has a prior conviction as defined under Subsection 41-6a-501(2); and 191 (ii) the current violation under Subsection (2) is committed on or after July 1, 2009, 192 and within a period of 10 years after the date of the prior violation. 193 (7) The Driver License Division shall, if the person is 19 years of age or older but 194 under 21 years of age on the date of arrest: 195 (a) suspend, until the person is 21 years of age or for a period of one year, whichever is 196 longer, the driver license of a person convicted under Subsection (2) of an offense committed 197 on or after July 1, 2011; or 198 (b) revoke, until the person is 21 years of age or for a period of two years, whichever is 199 longer, the driver license of a person if: 200 (i) the person has a prior conviction as defined under Subsection 41-6a-501(2); and 201 (ii) the current violation under Subsection (2) is committed on or after July 1, 2009, and within a period of 10 years after the date of the prior violation. 202 203 (8) The Driver License Division shall, if the person is under 19 years of age on the date 204 of arrest: 205 (a) suspend, until the person is 21 years of age, the driver license of a person convicted 206 under Subsection (2) of an offense committed on or after July 1, 2009; or 207 (b) revoke, until the person is 21 years of age, the driver license of a person if: 208 (i) the person has a prior conviction as defined under Subsection 41-6a-501(2); and 209 (ii) the current violation under Subsection (2) is committed on or after July 1, 2009, 210 and within a period of 10 years after the date of the prior violation. 211 (9) The Driver License Division shall subtract from any suspension or revocation 212 period the number of days for which a license was previously suspended under Section 213 53-3-223 or 53-3-231, if the previous suspension was based on the same occurrence upon 214 which the record of conviction is based. 215 (10) The Driver License Division shall: 216 (a) deny, suspend, or revoke a person's license for the denial and suspension periods in 217 effect prior to July 1, 2009, for a conviction of a violation under Subsection (2) that was 218 committed prior to July 1, 2009; or

219 (b) deny, suspend, or revoke the operator's license of a person for the denial, 220 suspension, or revocation periods in effect from July 1, 2009, through June 30, 2011, if: 221 (i) the person was 20 years of age or older but under 21 years of age at the time of 222 arrest; and 223 (ii) the conviction under Subsection (2) is for an offense that was committed on or after 224 July 1, 2009, and prior to July 1, 2011. 225 (11) A court that reported a conviction of a violation of this section for a violation that 226 occurred on or after July 1, 2009, to the Driver License Division may shorten the suspension 227 period imposed under Subsection (7)(a) or (8)(a) prior to completion of the suspension period 228 if the person: 229 (a) completes at least six months of the license suspension; 230 (b) completes a screening; 231 (c) completes an assessment, if it is found appropriate by a screening under Subsection 232 (11)(b);233 (d) completes substance abuse treatment if it is found appropriate by the assessment 234 under Subsection (11)(c); 235 (e) completes an educational series if substance abuse treatment is not required by the 236 assessment under Subsection (11)(c) or the court does not order substance abuse treatment; 237 (f) has not been convicted of a violation of any motor vehicle law in which the person 238 was involved as the operator of the vehicle during the suspension period imposed under 239 Subsection (7)(a) or (8)(a); (g) has complied with all the terms of the person's probation or all orders of the court if 240 241 not ordered to probation; and 242 (h) (i) is 18 years of age or older and provides a sworn statement to the court that the 243 person has not consumed a controlled substance not prescribed by a practitioner for use by the 244 person or unlawfully consumed alcohol during the suspension period imposed under 245 Subsection (7)(a) or (8)(a); or 246 (ii) is under 18 years of age and has the person's parent or legal guardian provide an 247 affidavit or other sworn statement to the court certifying that to the parent or legal guardian's 248 knowledge the person has not consumed a controlled substance not prescribed by a practitioner 249 for use by the person or unlawfully consumed alcohol during the suspension period imposed

250 under Subsection (7)(a) or (8)(a). 251 (12) If the court shortens a person's license suspension period in accordance with the 252 requirements of Subsection (11), the court shall forward the order shortening the person's 253 license suspension period prior to the completion of the suspension period imposed under 254 Subsection (7)(a) or (8)(a) to the Driver License Division. 255 (13) (a) The court shall notify the Driver License Division if a person fails to [:(i)-] 256 complete all court ordered screening and assessment, educational series, and substance abuse 257 treatment[; or]. 258 (ii) pay all fines and fees, including fees for restitution and treatment costs. 259 (b) [<del>Upon</del>] Subject to Subsection 53-3-218(3), upon receiving the notification, the 260 division shall suspend the person's driving privilege in accordance with Subsections 261 <del>53-3-221(2)</del> and <del>(3)</del>] Subsection 53-3-221(2). 262 (14) The court: 263 (a) shall order supervised probation in accordance with Section 41-6a-507 for a person 264 convicted under Subsection (2); and 265 (b) may order a person convicted under Subsection (2) to participate in a 24-7 sobriety 266 program as defined in Section 41-6a-515.5 if the person is 21 years of age or older. 267 (15) (a) A court that reported a conviction of a violation of this section to the Driver 268 License Division may shorten the suspension period imposed under Subsection (6) before 269 completion of the suspension period if the person is participating in or has successfully 270 completed a 24-7 sobriety program as defined in Section 41-6a-515.5. 271 (b) If the court shortens a person's license suspension period in accordance with the 272 requirements of this Subsection (15), the court shall forward to the Driver License Division the 273 order shortening the person's suspension period. 274 (c) The court shall notify the Driver License Division if a person fails to complete all 275 requirements of a 24-7 sobriety program. 276 (d) [<del>Upon</del>] Subject to Subsection 53-3-218(3), upon receiving the notification 277 described in Subsection (15)(c), the division shall suspend the person's driving privilege in 278 accordance with [Subsections 53-3-221(2) and (3)] Subsection 53-3-221(2). 279 Section 3. Section 41-6a-1715 is amended to read: 280 41-6a-1715. Careless driving defined and prohibited.

281	(1) A person operating a motor venicle is guilty of careless driving if the person:
282	(a) commits two or more moving traffic violations under this chapter in a series of acts
283	within a single continuous period of driving covering three miles or less in total distance; or
284	(b) commits a moving traffic violation under this chapter other than a moving traffic
285	violation under Part 6, Speed Restrictions, while being distracted by one or more activities
286	taking place within the vehicle that are not related to the operation of a motor vehicle,
287	including:
288	(i) searching for an item in the vehicle; or
289	(ii) attending to personal hygiene or grooming.
290	(2) A violation of this section is a class C misdemeanor.
291	(3) In addition to the penalty provided under this section or any other section, a judge
292	may order the revocation of the convicted person's driver license if the violation causes or
293	results in the death of another person in accordance with Subsection [53-3-218(6)]
294	<u>53-3-218(7)</u> .
295	Section 4. Section 53-3-102 is amended to read:
296	53-3-102. Definitions.
297	As used in this chapter:
298	(1) "Autocycle" means a motor vehicle that:
299	(a) is designed to travel with three or fewer wheels in contact with the ground;
300	(b) is equipped with a steering wheel; and
301	(c) is equipped with seating that does not require the operator to straddle or sit astride
302	the vehicle.
303	(2) "Cancellation" means the termination by the division of a license issued through
304	error or fraud or for which consent under Section 53-3-211 has been withdrawn.
305	(3) "Class D license" means the class of license issued to drive motor vehicles not
306	defined as commercial motor vehicles or motorcycles under this chapter.
307	(4) "Commercial driver instruction permit" or "CDIP" means a commercial learner
308	permit:
309	(a) issued under Section 53-3-408; or
310	(b) issued by a state or other jurisdiction of domicile in compliance with the standards
311	contained in 49 C.F.R. Part 383.

312	(5) "Commercial driver license" or "CDL" means a license:
313	(a) issued substantially in accordance with the requirements of Title XII, Pub. L.
314	99-570, the Commercial Motor Vehicle Safety Act of 1986, and in accordance with Part 4,
315	Uniform Commercial Driver License Act, which authorizes the holder to drive a class of
316	commercial motor vehicle; and
317	(b) that was obtained by providing evidence of lawful presence in the United States
318	with one of the document requirements described in Subsection 53-3-410(1)(i)(i).
319	(6) (a) "Commercial driver license motor vehicle record" or "CDL MVR" means a
320	driving record that:
321	(i) applies to a person who holds or is required to hold a commercial driver instruction
322	permit or a CDL license; and
323	(ii) contains the following:
324	(A) information contained in the driver history, including convictions, pleas held in
325	abeyance, disqualifications, and other licensing actions for violations of any state or local law
326	relating to motor vehicle traffic control, committed in any type of vehicle;
327	(B) driver self-certification status information under Section 53-3-410.1; and
328	(C) information from medical certification record keeping in accordance with 49
329	C.F.R. Sec. 383.73(o).
330	(b) "Commercial driver license motor vehicle record" or "CDL MVR" does not mean a
331	motor vehicle record described in Subsection (30).
332	(7) (a) "Commercial motor vehicle" means a motor vehicle or combination of motor
333	vehicles designed or used to transport passengers or property if the motor vehicle:
334	(i) has a gross vehicle weight rating of 26,001 or more pounds or a lesser rating as
335	determined by federal regulation;
336	(ii) is designed to transport 16 or more passengers, including the driver; or
337	(iii) is transporting hazardous materials and is required to be placarded in accordance
338	with 49 C.F.R. Part 172, Subpart F.
339	(b) The following vehicles are not considered a commercial motor vehicle for purposes
340	of Part 4, Uniform Commercial Driver License Act:
341	(i) equipment owned and operated by the United States Department of Defense when
342	driven by any active duty military personnel and members of the reserves and national guard or

343 active duty including personnel on full-time national guard duty, personnel on part-time 344 training, and national guard military technicians and civilians who are required to wear military 345 uniforms and are subject to the code of military justice; 346 (ii) vehicles controlled and driven by a farmer to transport agricultural products, farm 347 machinery, or farm supplies to or from a farm within 150 miles of his farm but not in operation 348 as a motor carrier for hire; 349 (iii) firefighting and emergency vehicles; 350 (iv) recreational vehicles that are not used in commerce and are driven solely as family 351 or personal conveyances for recreational purposes; and 352 (v) vehicles used to provide transportation network services, as defined in Section 353 13-51-102. 354 (8) "Conviction" means any of the following: 355 (a) an unvacated adjudication of guilt or a determination that a person has violated or 356 failed to comply with the law in a court of original jurisdiction or an administrative proceeding; 357 (b) an unvacated forfeiture of bail or collateral deposited to secure a person's 358 appearance in court; 359 (c) a plea of guilty or nolo contendere accepted by the court; 360 (d) the payment of a fine or court costs; or 361 (e) violation of a condition of release without bail, regardless of whether the penalty is 362 rebated, suspended, or probated. 363 (9) "Denial" or "denied" means the withdrawal of a driving privilege by the division to 364 which the provisions of Title 41, Chapter 12a, Part 4, Proof of Owner's or Operator's Security, 365 do not apply. 366 (10) "Director" means the division director appointed under Section 53-3-103. 367 (11) "Disqualification" means either: 368 (a) the suspension, revocation, cancellation, denial, or any other withdrawal by a state 369 of a person's privileges to drive a commercial motor vehicle; 370 (b) a determination by the Federal Highway Administration, under 49 C.F.R. Part 386, 371 that a person is no longer qualified to drive a commercial motor vehicle under 49 C.F.R. Part

(c) the loss of qualification that automatically follows conviction of an offense listed in

372

373

391; or

- 374 49 C.F.R. Part 383.51.
- 375 (12) "Division" means the Driver License Division of the department created in
- 376 Section 53-3-103.
- 377 (13) "Downgrade" means to obtain a lower license class than what was originally 378 issued during an existing license cycle.
- 379 (14) "Drive" means:
- 380 (a) to operate or be in physical control of a motor vehicle upon a highway; and
- 381 (b) in Subsections 53-3-414(1) through (3), Subsection 53-3-414(5), and Sections
- 53-3-417 and 53-3-418, the operation or physical control of a motor vehicle at any place within
- 383 the state.
- 384 (15) (a) "Driver" means an individual who drives, or is in actual physical control of a
- motor vehicle in any location open to the general public for purposes of vehicular traffic.
- 386 (b) In Part 4, Uniform Commercial Driver License Act, "driver" includes any person 387 who is required to hold a CDL under Part 4, Uniform Commercial Driver License Act, or
- 388 federal law.
- 389 (16) "Driving privilege card" means the evidence of the privilege granted and issued 390 under this chapter to drive a motor vehicle to a person whose privilege was obtained without
- 391 providing evidence of lawful presence in the United States.
- 392 (17) "Electronic license certificate" means the evidence, in an electronic format as
- described in Section 53-3-235, of a privilege granted under this chapter to drive a motor
- 394 vehicle.
- 395 (18) "Extension" means a renewal completed in a manner specified by the division.
- 396 (19) "Farm tractor" means every motor vehicle designed and used primarily as a farm
- implement for drawing plows, mowing machines, and other implements of husbandry.
- 398 (20) "Highway" means the entire width between property lines of every way or place of 399 any nature when any part of it is open to the use of the public, as a matter of right, for traffic.
- 400 (21) "Human driver" means the same as that term is defined in Section 41-26-102.1.
- 401 (22) "Identification card" means a card issued under Part 8, Identification Card Act, to 402 a person for identification purposes.
- 403 (23) "Indigent" means that a person's income falls below the federal poverty guideline 404 issued annually by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services in the Federal Register.

405	(24) "License" means the privilege to drive a motor vehicle.
406	(25) (a) "License certificate" means the evidence of the privilege issued under this
407	chapter to drive a motor vehicle.
408	(b) "License certificate" evidence includes:
409	(i) a regular license certificate;
410	(ii) a limited-term license certificate;
411	(iii) a driving privilege card;
412	(iv) a CDL license certificate;
413	(v) a limited-term CDL license certificate;
414	(vi) a temporary regular license certificate;
415	(vii) a temporary limited-term license certificate; and
416	(viii) an electronic license certificate created in Section 53-3-235.
417	(26) "Limited-term commercial driver license" or "limited-term CDL" means a license
418	(a) issued substantially in accordance with the requirements of Title XII, Pub. L. No.
419	99-570, the Commercial Motor Vehicle Safety Act of 1986, and in accordance with Part 4,
420	Uniform Commercial Driver License Act, which authorizes the holder to drive a class of
421	commercial motor vehicle; and
422	(b) that was obtained by providing evidence of lawful presence in the United States
423	with one of the document requirements described in Subsection 53-3-410(1)(i)(ii).
424	(27) "Limited-term identification card" means an identification card issued under this
425	chapter to a person whose card was obtained by providing evidence of lawful presence in the
426	United States with one of the document requirements described in Subsection
427	53-3-804(2)(i)(ii).
428	(28) "Limited-term license certificate" means the evidence of the privilege granted and
429	issued under this chapter to drive a motor vehicle to a person whose privilege was obtained
430	providing evidence of lawful presence in the United States with one of the document
431	requirements described in Subsection 53-3-205(8)(a)(ii)(B).
432	(29) "Motor vehicle" means the same as that term is defined in Section 41-1a-102.
433	(30) "Motor vehicle record" or "MVR" means a driving record under Subsection
434	53-3-109(6)(a).
435	(31) "Motorboat" means the same as that term is defined in Section 73-18-2.

436	(32) "Motorcycle" means every motor vehicle, other than a tractor, having a seat or
437	saddle for the use of the rider and designed to travel with not more than three wheels in contact
438	with the ground.
439	(33) "Office of Recovery Services" means the Office of Recovery Services, created in
440	Section 62A-11-102.
441	(34) "Operate" means the same as that term is defined in Section 41-1a-102.
442	(35) (a) "Owner" means a person other than a lien holder having an interest in the
443	property or title to a vehicle.
444	(b) "Owner" includes a person entitled to the use and possession of a vehicle subject to
445	a security interest in another person but excludes a lessee under a lease not intended as security.
446	(36) "Penalty accounts receivable" means a fine, restitution, forfeiture, fee, surcharge,
447	or other financial penalty imposed on an individual by a court or other government entity.
448	[(36)] (37) (a) "Private passenger carrier" means any motor vehicle for hire that is:
449	(i) designed to transport 15 or fewer passengers, including the driver; and
450	(ii) operated to transport an employee of the person that hires the motor vehicle.
451	(b) "Private passenger carrier" does not include:
452	(i) a taxicab;
453	(ii) a motor vehicle driven by a transportation network driver as defined in Section
454	13-51-102;
455	(iii) a motor vehicle driven for transportation network services as defined in Section
456	13-51-102; and
457	(iv) a motor vehicle driven for a transportation network company as defined in Section
458	13-51-102 and registered with the Division of Consumer Protection as described in Section
459	13-51-104.
460	[(37)] (38) "Regular identification card" means an identification card issued under this
461	chapter to a person whose card was obtained by providing evidence of lawful presence in the
462	United States with one of the document requirements described in Subsection 53-3-804(2)(i)(i).
463	[(38)] (39) "Regular license certificate" means the evidence of the privilege issued
464	under this chapter to drive a motor vehicle whose privilege was obtained by providing evidence
465	of lawful presence in the United States with one of the document requirements described in
466	Subsection 53-3-205(8)(a)(ii)(A).

46 /	[(39)] (40) "Renewal" means to validate a license certificate so that it expires at a later
468	date.
469	[(40)] (41) "Reportable violation" means an offense required to be reported to the
470	division as determined by the division and includes those offenses against which points are
471	assessed under Section 53-3-221.
472	[ <del>(41)</del> ] <u>(42)</u> (a) "Resident" means an individual who:
473	(i) has established a domicile in this state, as defined in Section 41-1a-202, or
474	regardless of domicile, remains in this state for an aggregate period of six months or more
475	during any calendar year;
476	(ii) engages in a trade, profession, or occupation in this state, or who accepts
477	employment in other than seasonal work in this state, and who does not commute into the state;
478	(iii) declares himself to be a resident of this state by obtaining a valid Utah driver
479	license certificate or motor vehicle registration; or
480	(iv) declares himself a resident of this state to obtain privileges not ordinarily extended
481	to nonresidents, including going to school, or placing children in school without paying
482	nonresident tuition or fees.
483	(b) "Resident" does not include any of the following:
484	(i) a member of the military, temporarily stationed in this state;
485	(ii) an out-of-state student, as classified by an institution of higher education,
486	regardless of whether the student engages in any type of employment in this state;
487	(iii) a person domiciled in another state or country, who is temporarily assigned in this
488	state, assigned by or representing an employer, religious or private organization, or a
489	governmental entity; or
490	(iv) an immediate family member who resides with or a household member of a person
491	listed in Subsections [(41)] (42)(b)(i) through (iii).
492	$[\frac{(42)}{(43)}]$ "Revocation" means the termination by action of the division of a licensee's
493	privilege to drive a motor vehicle.
494	[(43)] (44) (a) "School bus" means a commercial motor vehicle used to transport
495	pre-primary, primary, or secondary school students to and from home and school, or to and
496	from school sponsored events.
497	(b) "School bus" does not include a bus used as a common carrier as defined in Section

198	59-12-102.
199	[(44)] (45) "Suspension" means the temporary withdrawal by action of the division of a
500	licensee's privilege to drive a motor vehicle.
501	[(45)] (46) "Taxicab" means any class D motor vehicle transporting any number of
502	passengers for hire and that is subject to state or federal regulation as a taxi.
503	Section 5. Section 53-3-218 is amended to read:
504	53-3-218. Court to report convictions and may recommend suspension of license
505	Severity of speeding violation defined.
506	(1) As used in this section, "conviction" means conviction by the court of first
507	impression or final administrative determination in an administrative traffic proceeding.
508	(2) (a) Except as provided in Subsection (2)(c), a court having jurisdiction over
509	offenses committed under this chapter or any other law of this state, or under any municipal
510	ordinance regulating driving motor vehicles on highways or driving motorboats on the water,
511	shall forward to the division within five days, an abstract of the court record of the conviction
512	or plea held in abeyance of any person in the court for a reportable traffic or motorboating
513	violation of any laws or ordinances, and may recommend the suspension of the license of the
514	person convicted.
515	(b) When the division receives a court record of a conviction or plea in abeyance for a
516	motorboat violation, the division may only take action against a person's driver license if the
517	motorboat violation is for a violation of Title 41, Chapter 6a, Part 5, Driving Under the
518	Influence and Reckless Driving.
519	(c) A court may not forward to the division an abstract of a court record of a conviction
520	for a violation described in Subsection 53-3-220(1)(c)(i) or (ii), unless the court found that the
521	person convicted of the violation was an operator of a motor vehicle at the time of the
522	violation.
523	(3) (a) A court may not order the division to suspend a person's driver's license based
524	solely on the person's failure to pay a penalty accounts receivable.
525	(b) The court may notify the division, and the division may, prior to sentencing,
526	suspend the driver license of a person who fails to appear if the person is charged with:
527	(i) an offense of any level that is a moving traffic violation;
528	(ii) an offense described in Title 41, Chapter 12a, Part 3, Owner's or Operator's

129	Security Requirement; or
530	(iii) an offense described in Subsection 53-3-220(1)(a) or (b).
531	[(3)] (4) The abstract shall be made in the form prescribed by the division and shall
532	include:
533	(a) the name, date of birth, and address of the party charged;
534	(b) the license certificate number of the party charged, if any;
535	(c) the registration number of the motor vehicle or motorboat involved;
36	(d) whether the motor vehicle was a commercial motor vehicle;
537	(e) whether the motor vehicle carried hazardous materials;
538	(f) whether the motor vehicle carried 16 or more occupants;
539	(g) whether the driver presented a commercial driver license;
540	(h) the nature of the offense;
541	(i) whether the offense involved an accident;
542	(j) the driver's blood alcohol content, if applicable;
543	(k) if the offense involved a speeding violation:
544	(i) the posted speed limit;
545	(ii) the actual speed; and
546	(iii) whether the speeding violation occurred on a highway that is part of the interstate
547	system as defined in Section 72-1-102;
548	(1) the date of the hearing;
549	(m) the plea;
550	(n) the judgment or whether bail was forfeited; and
551	(o) the severity of the violation, which shall be graded by the court as "minimum,"
552	"intermediate," or "maximum" as established in accordance with Subsection 53-3-221(4).
553	[(4)] (5) When a convicted person secures a judgment of acquittal or reversal in any
554	appellate court after conviction in the court of first impression, the division shall reinstate the
555	convicted person's license immediately upon receipt of a certified copy of the judgment of
556	acquittal or reversal.
557	[(5)] (6) Upon a conviction for a violation of the prohibition on using a handheld
558	wireless communication device for text messaging or electronic mail communication while
559	operating a moving motor vehicle under Section 41-6a-1716, a judge may order a suspension

560 of the convicted person's license for a period of three months. 561 [<del>(6)</del>] (7) Upon a conviction for a violation of careless driving under Section 562 41-6a-1715 that causes or results in the death of another person, a judge may order a revocation 563 of the convicted person's license for a period of one year. 564 Section 6. Section 53-3-221 is amended to read: 565 53-3-221. Offenses that may result in denial, suspension, disqualification, or revocation of license -- Additional grounds for suspension -- Point system for traffic 566 567 violations -- Notice and hearing -- Reporting of traffic violation procedures. 568 (1) By following the procedures in Title 63G, Chapter 4, Administrative Procedures 569 Act, the division may deny, suspend, disqualify, or revoke the license or permit of any person 570 without receiving a record of the person's conviction of crime when the division has been 571 notified or has reason to believe the person: 572 (a) has committed any offenses for which mandatory suspension or revocation of a 573 license is required upon conviction under Section 53-3-220; 574 (b) has, by reckless or unlawful driving of a motor vehicle, caused or contributed to an 575 accident resulting in death or injury to any other person, or serious property damage; 576 (c) is incompetent to drive a motor vehicle or mobility vehicle or has a mental or 577 physical disability rendering it unsafe for the person to drive a motor vehicle or mobility 578 vehicle upon the highways; 579 (d) has committed a serious violation of the motor vehicle laws of this state; 580 (e) has knowingly committed a violation of Section 53-3-229; or 581 (f) has been convicted of serious offenses against traffic laws governing the movement 582 of motor vehicles with a frequency that indicates a disrespect for traffic laws and a disregard 583 for the safety of other persons on the highways. 584 [(2) (a) The division may suspend the license of a person under Subsection (1) when 585 the person has failed to comply with the terms stated on a traffic citation issued in this state, 586 except this Subsection (2) does not apply to highway weight limit violations or violations of 587 law governing the transportation of hazardous materials. 588 [(b) This Subsection (2) applies to parking and standing violations only if a court has 589 issued a warrant for the arrest of a person for failure to post bail, appear, or otherwise satisfy 590 the terms of the citation.

591	(2) (a) (i) Except as provided in Subsection 53-3-218(3), and subject to
592	Subsection(2)(a)(ii), the division may suspend a license of a person under Subsection (1):
593	(A) when the person has failed tocomply with the terms stated on a traffic citation
594	issued in this state;
595	(B) when the person has failed to successfully complete a 24-7 sobriety program as
596	defined in Section 41-6a-515.5; or
597	(C) if the division receives a notification from a court as described in Subsection
598	41-6a-509(11)(d) or 41-6a-517(13)(b).
599	(ii) This Subsection (2) does not apply to highway weight limit violations or violations
600	of law governing the transportation of hazardous materials.
601	[(e)] (b) (i) This Subsection (2) may not be exercised unless notice of the pending
602	suspension of the driving privilege has been sent at least [10] 30 days previously to the person
603	at the address provided to the division.
604	(ii) After clearance by the division, a report authorized by Section 53-3-104 may not
605	contain any evidence of a suspension that occurred as a result of failure to comply with the
606	terms stated on a traffic citation.
607	[(3) (a) The division may suspend the license of a person under Subsection (1) when
608	the division has been notified by a court that the person has an outstanding unpaid fine, an
609	outstanding incomplete restitution requirement, or an outstanding warrant levied by order of a
610	court.]
611	[(b) The suspension remains in effect until the division is notified by the court that the
612	order has been satisfied.]
613	[(c) After clearance by the division, a report authorized by Section 53-3-104 may not
614	contain any evidence of the suspension.]
615	[(d) The provisions of Subsection (3)(c) do not apply to:]
616	[(i) a CDIP or CDL license holder; or]
617	[(ii) a violation that occurred in a commercial motor vehicle.]
618	(3) Except as provided in Subsection 53-3-218(3), the division may not revoke, deny,
619	suspend, or disqualify an individual's driver license based solely on:
620	(a) the individual's failure to appear;
621	(b) the individual's failure to pay an outstanding penalty accounts receivable; or

622	(c) the issuance of a bench warrant as a result of an event described in Subsection
623	(3)(a) or (b).
624	(4) (a) The division shall make rules establishing a point system as provided for in this
625	Subsection (4).
626	(b) (i) The division shall assign a number of points to each type of moving traffic
627	violation as a measure of its seriousness.
628	(ii) The points shall be based upon actual relationships between types of traffic
629	violations and motor vehicle traffic accidents.
630	(iii) Except as provided in Subsection (4)(b)(iv), the division may not assess points
631	against a person's driving record for a conviction of a traffic violation:
632	(A) that occurred in another state; and
633	(B) that was committed on or after July 1, 2011.
634	(iv) The provisions of Subsection (4)(b)(iii) do not apply to:
635	(A) a reckless or impaired driving violation or a speeding violation for exceeding the
636	posted speed limit by 21 or more miles per hour; or
637	(B) an offense committed in another state which, if committed within Utah, would
638	result in the mandatory suspension or revocation of a license upon conviction under Section
639	53-3-220.
640	(c) Every person convicted of a traffic violation shall have assessed against the person's
641	driving record the number of points that the division has assigned to the type of violation of
642	which the person has been convicted, except that the number of points assessed shall be
643	decreased by 10% if on the abstract of the court record of the conviction the court has graded
644	the severity of violation as minimum, and shall be increased by 10% if on the abstract the court
645	has graded the severity of violation as maximum.
646	(d) (i) A separate procedure for assessing points for speeding offenses shall be
647	established by the division based upon the severity of the offense.
648	(ii) The severity of a speeding violation shall be graded as:
649	(A) "minimum" for exceeding the posted speed limit by up to 10 miles per hour;
650	(B) "intermediate" for exceeding the posted speed limit by from 11 to 20 miles per
651	hour; and
652	(C) "maximum" for exceeding the posted speed limit by 21 or more miles per hour.

(iii) Consideration shall be made for assessment of no points on minimum speeding violations, except for speeding violations in school zones.

- (e) (i) Points assessed against a person's driving record shall be deleted for violations occurring before a time limit set by the division.
  - (ii) The time limit may not exceed three years.

653

654

655

656

657

660

661

662

663

664

665

666

667

668

669

670

671

672

673

674

675

676

677

680

- 658 (iii) The division may also delete points to reward violation-free driving for periods of 659 time set by the division.
  - (f) (i) By publication in two newspapers having general circulation throughout the state, the division shall give notice of the number of points it has assigned to each type of traffic violation, the time limit set by the division for the deletion of points, and the point level at which the division will generally take action to deny or suspend under this section.
  - (ii) The division may not change any of the information provided above regarding points without first giving new notice in the same manner.
  - (5) (a) (i) If the division finds that the license of a person should be denied, suspended, disqualified, or revoked under this section, the division shall immediately notify the licensee in a manner specified by the division and afford the person an opportunity for a hearing in the county where the licensee resides.
  - (ii) The hearing shall be documented, and the division or its authorized agent may administer oaths, may issue subpoenas for the attendance of witnesses and the production of relevant books and papers, and may require a reexamination of the licensee.
  - (iii) One or more members of the division may conduct the hearing, and any decision made after a hearing before any number of the members of the division is as valid as if made after a hearing before the full membership of the division.
  - (iv) After the hearing the division shall either rescind or affirm its decision to deny, suspend, disqualify, or revoke the license.
- 678 (b) The denial, suspension, disqualification, or revocation of the license remains in 679 effect pending qualifications determined by the division regarding a person:
  - (i) whose license has been denied or suspended following reexamination;
- (ii) who is incompetent to drive a motor vehicle;
- 682 (iii) who is afflicted with mental or physical infirmities that might make him dangerous 683 on the highways; or

(iv) who may not have the necessary knowledge or skill to drive a motor vehicle safely.

- (6) (a) Subject to Subsection (6)(d), the division shall suspend a person's license when the division receives notice from the Office of Recovery Services that the Office of Recovery Services has ordered the suspension of the person's license.
- (b) A suspension under Subsection (6)(a) shall remain in effect until the division receives notice from the Office of Recovery Services that the Office of Recovery Services has rescinded the order of suspension.
- (c) After an order of suspension is rescinded under Subsection (6)(b), a report authorized by Section 53-3-104 may not contain any evidence of the suspension.
- (d) (i) If the division suspends a person's license under this Subsection (6), the division shall, upon application, issue a temporary limited driver license to the person if that person needs a driver license for employment, education, or child visitation.
  - (ii) The temporary limited driver license described in this section:
- (A) shall provide that the person may operate a motor vehicle only for the purpose of driving to or from the person's place of employment, education, or child visitation;
- (B) shall prohibit the person from driving a motor vehicle for any purpose other than a purpose described in Subsection (6)(d)(ii)(A); and
- (C) shall expire 90 days after the day on which the temporary limited driver license is issued.
- (iii) (A) During the period beginning on the day on which a temporary limited driver license is issued under this Subsection (6), and ending on the day that the temporary limited driver license expires, the suspension described in this Subsection (6) only applies if the person who is suspended operates a motor vehicle for a purpose other than employment, education, or child visitation.
- 708 (B) Upon expiration of a temporary limited driver license described in this Subsection 709 (6)(d):
  - (I) a suspension described in Subsection (6)(a) shall be in full effect until the division receives notice, under Subsection (6)(b), that the order of suspension is rescinded; and
- 712 (II) a person suspended under Subsection (6)(a) may not drive a motor vehicle for any reason.
- 714 (iv) The division is not required to issue a limited driver license to a person under this

Subsection (6)(d) if there are other legal grounds for the suspension of the person's driver license.

- 717 (v) The division shall make rules, in accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah 718 Administrative Rulemaking Act, to implement the provisions of this part.
- 719 (7) (a) The division may suspend or revoke the license of any resident of this state 720 upon receiving notice of the conviction of that person in another state of an offense committed 721 there that, if committed in this state, would be grounds for the suspension or revocation of a 722 license.

723

724

725

726

727

728

729

730

731

732

733

734

741

- (b) The division may, upon receiving a record of the conviction in this state of a nonresident driver of a motor vehicle or motorboat of any offense under the motor vehicle laws of this state, forward a certified copy of the record to the motor vehicle administrator in the state where the person convicted is a resident.
- (8) (a) The division may suspend or revoke the license of any nonresident to drive a motor vehicle in this state for any cause for which the license of a resident driver may be suspended or revoked.
- (b) Any nonresident who drives a motor vehicle upon a highway when the person's license has been suspended or revoked by the division is guilty of a class C misdemeanor.
- (9) (a) The division may not deny or suspend the license of any person for a period of more than one year except:
  - (i) for failure to comply with the terms of a traffic citation under Subsection (2);
- 735 (ii) upon receipt of a second or subsequent order suspending juvenile driving privileges 736 under Section 53-3-219;
- 737 (iii) when extending a denial or suspension upon receiving certain records or reports 738 under Subsection 53-3-220(2);
- 739 (iv) for failure to give and maintain owner's or operator's security under Section 740 41-12a-411:
  - (v) when the division suspends the license under Subsection (6); or
- 742 (vi) when the division denies the license under Subsection (14).
- 743 (b) The division may suspend the license of a person under Subsection (2) until the 744 person shows satisfactory evidence of compliance with the terms of the traffic citation.
- 745 (10) (a) By following the procedures in Title 63G, Chapter 4, Administrative

Procedures Act, the division may suspend the license of any person without receiving a record of the person's conviction for a crime when the division has reason to believe that the person's license was granted by the division through error or fraud or that the necessary consent for the license has been withdrawn or is terminated.

- (b) The procedure upon suspension is the same as under Subsection (5), except that after the hearing the division shall either rescind its order of suspension or cancel the license.
- (11) (a) The division, having good cause to believe that a licensed driver is incompetent or otherwise not qualified to be licensed, may upon notice in a manner specified by the division of at least five days to the licensee require him to submit to an examination.
- (b) Upon the conclusion of the examination the division may suspend or revoke the person's license, permit him to retain the license, or grant a license subject to a restriction imposed in accordance with Section 53-3-208.
- (c) Refusal or neglect of the licensee to submit to an examination is grounds for suspension or revocation of the licensee's license.
- (12) (a) Except as provided in Subsection (12)(b), a report authorized by Section 53-3-104 may not contain any evidence of a conviction for speeding on an interstate system in this state if the conviction was for a speed of 10 miles per hour or less, above the posted speed limit and did not result in an accident, unless authorized in a manner specified by the division by the individual whose report is being requested.
  - (b) The provisions of Subsection (12)(a) do not apply for:
  - (i) a CDIP or CDL license holder; or
  - (ii) a violation that occurred in a commercial motor vehicle.
- 768 (13) (a) By following the procedures in Title 63G, Chapter 4, Administrative 769 Procedures Act, the division may suspend the license of a person if it has reason to believe that
- the person is the owner of a motor vehicle for which security is required under Title 41,
- 771 Chapter 12a, Financial Responsibility of Motor Vehicle Owners and Operators Act, and has
- driven the motor vehicle or permitted it to be driven within this state without the security being
- in effect.

746

747

748

749

750

751

752

753

754

755

756

757

758

759

760

761

762

763

764

765

766

767

776

- 774 (b) The division may suspend a driving privilege card holder's driving privilege card if 775 the division receives notification from the Motor Vehicle Division that:
  - (i) the driving privilege card holder is the registered owner of a vehicle; and

777 (ii) the driving privilege card holder's vehicle registration has been revoked under 778 Subsection 41-1a-110(2)(a)(ii)(A). 779 (c) Section 41-12a-411 regarding the requirement of proof of owner's or operator's 780 security applies to persons whose driving privileges are suspended under this Subsection (13). 781 (14) The division may deny an individual's license if the person fails to comply with 782 the requirement to downgrade the person's CDL to a class D license under Section 53-3-410.1. 783 (15) The division may deny a person's class A, B, C, or D license if the person fails to 784 comply with the requirement to have a K restriction removed from the person's license. 785 (16) Any suspension or revocation of a person's license under this section also 786 disqualifies any license issued to that person under Part 4, Uniform Commercial Driver License

787

Act.