

MINUTES

HOUSE NATURAL RESOURCES, AGRICULTURE, AND **ENVIRONMENT STANDING COMMITTEE**

Friday, January 22, 2021 2:00 p.m. 445 State Capitol

Members Present:

Rep. Keven J. Stratton, Chair

Rep. Casey Snider, Vice Chair

Rep. Carl R. Albrecht

Rep. Gay Lynn Bennion

Rep. Joel K. Briscoe

Rep. Scott H. Chew

Rep. Stephen G. Handy

Rep. Michael L. Kohler

Rep. Phil Lyman

Rep. Douglas V. Sagers Rep. Rex P. Shipp

Members Absent:

Rep. Timothy D. Hawkes

Rep. Mike Schultz

Rep. Christine F. Watkins

Staff Present:

Nathan W. Brady, Policy Analyst Linda Service, Committee Secretary

Note: A copy of related materials and an audio recording of the meeting can be found at www.le.utah.gov.

Chair Stratton called the meeting to order at 2:03 p.m.

Chair Stratton introduced the members of the committee.

Rep. Lyman moved to approve the minutes of the March 9, 2020 meeting. The motion passed with MOTION:

a vote of 10 - 0 - 4.

Yeas-10 Nays-0

Rep. G. Bennion

Rep. J. Briscoe

Rep. S. Chew

Rep. S. Handy

Rep. M. Kohler

Rep. P. Lyman

Rep. D. Sagers

Rep. R. Shipp

Rep. C. Snider

Rep. K. Stratton

Absent-4

Rep. C. Albrecht

Rep. T. Hawkes Rep. M. Schultz

Rep. C. Watkins

1.1 Water Supply Discussion

Glen Merrill, National Weather Service, gave a presentation on Utah"s water outlook and concerns.

Jordan Clayton, Natural Resources Conservation Service, addressed snowpack in Utah.

Snow Survey - Water Supply

Laura Haskell, Division of Water Resources, reviewed reservoir storage levels and drought statistics.

Reservoir levels and drought statistics

Committee members requested clarification on the above presentations.

2 . H.B. 163 Agricultural Advisory Board Amendments (Snider, C.)



HOUSE NATURAL RESOURCES, AGRICULTURE, AND ENVIRONMENT STANDING COMMITTEE

Rep. Snider introduced the bill.

Craig Butters, Commissioner, Department of Agriculture and Food, spoke in support of the bill.

Mike Larson, representing himself, spoke to the bill.

Garrick Hall, Utah Farm Bureau, spoke in support of the bill.

MOTION: Rep. Albrecht moved to pass H.B. 163 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 11 - 0 - 3.

Yeas-11 Nays-0 Absent-3
Rep. C. Albrecht Rep. G. Bennion Rep. J. Briscoe Rep. S. Chew
Rep. S. Chew
Rep. S. Handy
Rep. M. Kohler
Rep. P. Lyman

Rep. Snider introduced the bill.

Rep. D. Sagers Rep. R. Shipp Rep. C. Snider Rep. K. Stratton

3 . H.B. 166 Livestock Amendments (Snider, C.)

Craig Butters spoke in support of the bill.

Jake Garfield, Utah Association of Counties, spoke in support of the bill.

Mike Larson spoke in support of the bill.

Wade Garrett, Utah Farm Bureau, spoke in support of the bill.

MOTION: Rep. Sagers moved to pass H.B. 166 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 10 - 0 - 4.

Yeas-10Nays-0Absent-4Rep. C. AlbrechtRep. S. HandyRep. G. BennionRep. T. HawkesRep. J. BriscoeRep. M. SchultzRep. S. ChewRep. C. Watkins

Rep. M. Kohler Rep. P. Lyman Rep. D. Sagers Rep. R. Shipp

Rep. C. Snider

Rep. K. Stratton

Rep. Chew introduced the bill.

4. H.B. 171 Agricultural Land Use Regulation (Chew, S.)

Wayne Bradshaw, Utah League of Cities and Towns, spoke to the bill.



HOUSE NATURAL RESOURCES, AGRICULTURE, AND ENVIRONMENT STANDING COMMITTEE

Cody James, Utah Department of Agriculture, spoke to the bill.

Garrick Hall spoke in support of the bill.

Jake Garfield spoke to the bill.

Andy Gant, Kane County Commissioner, spoke to the bill.

Craig Butters spoke in support of the bill.

MOTION: Rep. Lyman moved to pass H.B. 171 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 8 - 0 - 6.

<u>Yeas-8</u>	<u>Nays-0</u>	<u>Absent-6</u>
Rep. G. Bennion	·	Rep. C. Albrecht
Rep. J. Briscoe		Rep. S. Handy
Rep. S. Chew		Rep. T. Hawkes
Rep. M. Kohler		Rep. M. Schultz
Rep. P. Lyman		Rep. C. Snider
Rep. D. Sagers		Rep. C. Watkins
Don D Chinn		•

Rep. R. Shipp Rep. K. Stratton

MOTION: Rep. Bennion moved to adjourn. The motion passed with a vote of 8 - 0 - 6.

Yeas-8	Nays-0	Absent-6
Rep. G. Bennion		Rep. C. Albrecht
Rep. J. Briscoe		Rep. S. Handy
Rep. S. Chew		Rep. T. Hawkes
Rep. M. Kohler		Rep. M. Schultz
Rep. P. Lyman		Rep. C. Snider
Rep. D. Šagers		Rep. C. Watkins
Dais D. Obissis		•

Rep. R. Shipp Rep. K. Stratton

Chair Stratton adjourned the meeting at 3:45 pm..