Tuesday, January 26, 2021 | 2:00 p.m. | 30 House Building

### **Members Present:**

Rep. Joel Ferry, Chair

Rep. Walt Brooks, Vice Chair

Rep. Brady Brammer

Rep. James A. Dunnigan

Rep. Timothy D. Hawkes

Rep. Brian S. King

Rep. A. Cory Maloy

Rep. Ashlee Matthews

Rep. Calvin R. Musselman

Rep. Casey Snider

Rep. Mark A. Strong

Rep. Jordan D. Teuscher

Rep. Norman K. Thurston

Rep. Mark A. Wheatley

## Members Absent:

Rep. Jon Hawkins

#### Staff Present:

Adam J. Sweet, Policy Analyst Jordan Gage, Committee Secretary

Note: A copy of related materials and an audio recording of the meeting can be found at www.le.utah.gov.

Chair Brooks called the meeting to order at 2:04 p.m.

Chair Brooks announced that H.B.187 would not be presented in the meeting.

Rep. Snider moved to approve the minutes of the January 21, 2021, meeting. The motion passed MOTION:

with a vote of 11 - 0 - 4.

Yeas-11 Nays-0 Absent-4

Rep. W. Brooks Rep. B. Brammer

Rep. J. Dunnigan Rep. J. Hawkins

Rep. J. Ferry Rep. A. Maloy Rep. T. Hawkes Rep. M. Wheatley

Rep. B. King

Rep. A. Matthews

Rep. C. Musselman

Rep. C. Snider

Rep. M. Strong

Rep. J. Teuscher

Rep. N. Thurston

# 1 . H.B. 71 Lien Restriction and Recovery Fund Amendments (Moss, C.)

Rep. Moss presented the bill with the assistance of John Richards, attorney, Richards Law.

Committee discussion took place on the bill.

Mark Steinagel, Director, Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing, Department of Commerce, spoke to the bill.

Kate Bradshaw, construction coalition including Utah Construction Suppliers Association, Utah Ready Mixed Contractors Association, Utah Heating and Plumbing Contractors Association, and Independent Electrical Contractors Association, spoke to the bill.

Taz Biesinger, Utah Home Builders Association, spoke to the bill.



MOTION:

Rep. Dunnigan moved to go to the next item on the agenda. The motion passed with a vote of 12 -0 - 3.

Absent-3

Rep. J. Ferry

Rep. T. Hawkes

Rep. J. Hawkins

Rep. J. Hawkins

Yeas-12

Rep. B. Brammer Rep. W. Brooks

Rep. J. Dunnigan

Rep. B. King

Rep. A. Maloy

Rep. A. Matthews

Rep. C. Musselman

Rep. C. Snider

Rep. M. Strong

Rep. J. Teuscher

Rep. N. Thurston

Rep. M. Wheatley

# 2 . H.B. 151 State Infrastructure Bank Amendments (Brammer, B.)

Nays-0

Rep. Brammer presented the bill.

Committee discussion took place on the bill.

Wayne Bradshaw, Utah League of Cities and Towns, spoke to the bill.

MOTION:

Rep. Thurston moved to pass H.B. 151 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 14 - 0 - 1.

Yeas-14

Nays-0 Absent-1

Rep. B. Brammer

Rep. W. Brooks

Rep. J. Dunnigan

Rep. J. Ferry

Rep. T. Hawkes

Rep. B. King

Rep. A. Maloy

Rep. A. Matthews

Rep. C. Musselman

Rep. C. Snider

Rep. M. Strong

Rep. J. Teuscher

Rep. N. Thurston

Rep. M. Wheatley

## 3 . H.B. 199 Pawnshop and Secondhand Merchandise Transaction Information Act Amendments (Dunnigan, J.)

Rep. Dunnigan presented the bill with the assistance of Daniel O'Bannon, Director, Division of Consumer Protection, Department of Commerce, and Hunter Bjorkman, ECOATM.

Committee discussion took place on the bill.

MOTION:

Rep. Musselman moved to adopt 1st Substitute H.B. 199. The motion passed with a vote of 14 - 0 -

Rep. J. Hawkins

Rep. J. Hawkins

Yeas-14 Absent-1 Nays-0

Rep. B. Brammer

Rep. W. Brooks

Rep. J. Dunnigan

Rep. J. Ferry

Rep. T. Hawkes

Rep. B. King

Rep. A. Maloy

Rep. A. Matthews

Rep. C. Musselman

Rep. C. Snider

Rep. M. Strong

Rep. J. Teuscher

Rep. N. Thurston

Rep. M. Wheatley

MOTION:

Rep. Musselman moved to pass 1st Substitute H.B. 199 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 14 - 0 - 1.

Yeas-14 Nays-0 Absent-1 Rep. B. Brammer Rep. J. Hawkins

Rep. W. Brooks

Rep. J. Dunnigan

Rep. J. Ferry

Rep. T. Hawkes

Rep. B. King

Rep. A. Maloy

Rep. A. Matthews

Rep. C. Musselman

Rep. C. Snider

Rep. M. Strong

Rep. J. Teuscher

Rep. N. Thurston

Rep. M. Wheatley

MOTION: Rep. Snider moved to adjourn. The motion passed with a vote of 14 - 0 - 1.

Yeas-14 Nays-0 Absent-1

Rep. B. Brammer

Rep. W. Brooks

Rep. J. Dunnigan

Rep. J. Ferry

Rep. T. Hawkes

Rep. B. King

Rep. A. Maloy

Rep. A. Matthews

Rep. C. Musselman

Rep. C. Snider

Rep. M. Strong

Rep. J. Teuscher

Rep. N. Thurston

Rep. M. Wheatley

Chair Brooks adjourned the meeting 3:04 p.m.