Thursday, February 4, 2021 | 3:40 p.m. | 1150 State Office Building

Members Present:

Rep. Mike Winder, Vice Chair

Rep. Melissa G. Ballard

Rep. Steve R. Christiansen

Rep. Suzanne Harrison

Rep. Dan N. Johnson

Rep. Karen Kwan

Rep. Ashlee Matthews

Rep. Merrill F. Nelson

Rep. Jeffrey D. Stenguist

Rep. Raymond P. Ward

Members Absent:

Rep. Kay J. Christofferson, Chair

Rep. Joel Ferry

Staff Present:

Seth Anderson, Policy Analyst Andy Yewdell, Policy Analyst

Daniel Ryan, Committee Secretary

Note: A copy of related materials and an audio recording of the meeting can be found at www.le.utah.gov.

Chair Winder called the meeting to order at 3:50 p.m.

MOTION: Rep. Ward moved to approve the minutes of the February 1, 2021, meeting. The motion passed

with a vote of 8 - 0 - 4.

Yeas-8 Navs-0 Absent-4

Rep. M. Ballard Rep. K. Christofferson

Rep. S. Christiansen

Rep. K. Kwan

Rep. A. Matthews

Rep. M. Nelson

Rep. J. Stenguist

Rep. R. Ward

Rep. M. Winder

Rep. J. Ferry

Rep. S. Harrison Rep. D. Johnson

1 . H.B. 195 Vehicle, Boat, and Trailer Registration Amendments (Robertson, A.)

Rep. Adam Robertson presented the bill.

HB 195 - Vehicle & Trailer Registration Amendments

Rep. Ballard assumed the chair.

HB195 - Infographic

PennDot Report

Committee members asked questions.

Rep. Winder resumed the chair.

Dave Kallas, Clyde Companies, spoke in favor of the bill.

Craig Black, Chief of Police, North Salt Lake Police Department, spoke to the bill.

Ty Hunter, Boating Program Coordinator, Utah Division of Parks and Recreation, spoke to the bill.



Rep. A. Matthews Rep. M. Nelson Rep. J. Stenquist

Rep. J. Stenguist Rep. M. Winder

Committee members asked questions of Chief Craig Black.

MOTION: Rep. Stenguist moved to hold H.B. 195. The motion passed with a vote of 8 - 1 - 3.

Yeas-8 Nays-1 Absent-3

Rep. M. Ballard Rep. M. Winder Rep. K. Christofferson

Rep. S. Christiansen Rep. J. Ferry Rep. S. Harrison Rep. R. Ward

Rep. D. Johnson Rep. K. Kwan

MOTION: Rep. Matthews moved to adjourn. The motion passed with a vote of 9 - 0 - 3.

Yeas-9 Nays-0 Absent-3

Rep. K. Christofferson Rep. M. Ballard

Rep. S. Christiansen Rep. J. Ferry

Rep. S. Harrison Rep. R. Ward

Rep. D. Johnson Rep. K. Kwan

Rep. A. Matthews Rep. M. Nelson

Chair Winder adjourned the meeting at 4:59 p.m.