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To:    Health and Human Services Interim Committee 
 
From:    Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing (DOPL)  
  Utah Department of Commerce 
 
Subject:   Sunset Review Recommendations – Sunset Date July 1, 2022 
  Educational Qualifications for Licensure and Reporting  
  Sections of Code that Sunset:   58-60-405(3)  

 
S.B 68 passed during the 2020 General Legislative Session added Subsection 58-60-

405(3) to the Mental Health Professional Practice Act to expand access to clinical mental health 
licensure.   

 
Subsection (3)(a) adds a pathway to obtain licensure as an Associate Clinical Mental 

Health Counselor (ACMHC) for those who complete a doctoral or master’s degree from an 
educational program in rehabilitation counseling accredited by the Council for Accreditation of 
Counseling and Related Educational Programs, and have passed the National Counselor 
Examination (NCE) and the National Clinical Mental Health Counseling Examination (NCMHCE). 

 
Subsection (3)(b) required DOPL to report to the Occupational and Professional 

Licensure Review Committee (OPLR) in the 2021 interim regarding: (1) the number of applicants 
applying for and approved for licensure under this new subsection; (2) changes to DOPL rules 
regarding these new licensure qualifications; and (3) DOPL’s recommendations for legislation or 
other action that it considered necessary to carry out the provisions of this subsection.   DOPL 
submitted this information to OPLR on August 26, 2021 -- see attached (“OPLR Report”). 

 
Is the statute necessary/should the statute be reauthorized?   
 
Yes.  Subsection 58-60-405(3) has provided a good alternative pathway for non-

traditional applicants to become licensed.  This pathway should be kept open to offer additional 
qualified applicants a way to satisfy this profession’s educational requirement. 

 
Is the statute accomplishing its objective?   
 
Yes.  As described in DOPL’s attached OPLR Report, two applicants have successfully 

used this statute to obtain licensure as an Associate Clinical Mental Health Counselor.  (Four 
applicants have applied under this subsection, but two did not pass the required exams.)  DOPL 
expects additional successful applicants in the future.      
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Are there ways to improve the statute?  
 
Yes.  DOPL’s OPLR Report recommends amending Utah Code § 58-60-405(1)(d) to 

reduce the 4,000-hour postgraduate supervised training requirement to 3,000 hours, to align 
with the national average of supervised training for ACMHC's.   

 
Upon information and belief, Senator Weiler and Representative Thurston may file a bill 

in the upcoming 2022 General Session that includes this recommended improvement. 
 

 
 
Based on the foregoing, DOPL recommends the continuation of this alternative pathway to 
ACMHC licensure in 58-60-405(3), and reaffirms DOPL’s recommendation in its OPLR Report 
that the 4,000-hour postgraduate supervised training requirement in Subsection 58-60-
405(1)(d) be reduced to 3,000 hours.  If Subsection 58-60-405(3) is kept as a separate 
subsection in the statute, DOPL recommends that it receive a new sunset date of July 1, 2032, 
ten years from the upcoming sunset date.   
 
 
 
Contacts for questions:   
Jen Falkenrath, DOPL Bureau Manager over mental health professions 
Larry Marx, DOPL Bureau Manager (Manager II over DOPL health professions) 
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4. Recommendations for legislation or other action that the division considers
necessary to carry out the provisions of Utah Code § 58-60-405(3 ).

The Division recommends amending Utah Code§ 58-60-405(l)(d) to align with 
the national average of supervised training for ACMHC's. Currently the Utah 
Code requires 4,000 hours of post graduate supervised training. The national 
average is approximately 3,000 hours. 




