

Members Present: Rep. Kay J. Christofferson, Chair Rep. Mike Winder, Vice Chair Rep. Melissa G. Ballard Rep. Ken Ivory Rep. Dan N. Johnson Rep. Karen Kwan Rep. Merrill F. Nelson Rep. Karen M. Peterson Rep. Jeffrey D. Stenquist Rep. Raymond P. Ward

## Members Absent:

Rep. Suzanne Harrison Rep. Ashlee Matthews

**Staff Present:** Micah Ann Wixom, Policy Analyst Jonathan Rees, Committee Secretary

Absent - 4

Rep. M. Ballard

Rep. S. Harrison

Rep. A. Matthews Rep. J. Stenquist

Note: A copy of related materials and an audio recording of the meeting can be found at www.le.utah.gov.

Nays - 0

Chair Christofferson called the meeting to order at 8:11 AM.

MOTION:

Rep. Johnson moved to approve the minutes. The motion passed with a vote of 8 - 0 - 4.

Yeas - 8 Rep. K. Christofferson Rep. K. Ivory Rep. D. Johnson Rep. K. Kwan Rep. M. Nelson Rep. K. Peterson Rep. R. Ward Rep. M. Winder

## 1. H.B. 319 Jordan River Improvement Amendments (Acton, C.K.)

Rep. Acton presented the bill with the assistance of Soren Simonson, Executive Director, Jordan River Commission and Leif Elder, Utah Department of Transportation.

**MOTION:** Rep. Ward moved to amend H.B. 319 with Amendment #2. The motion passed with a vote of 9 - 0 - 3.

## Amendment 2 H.B. 319

- 1. Page 3, Lines 71 through 75:
- 71 (4) The commission shall work with the Department of Transportation, created in
- 72 <u>Section 72-1-201, to:</u>

73 (a) have the Department of Transportation post by no later than July 1, {2023 } 2025 , as funding allows, consistent

74 and attractive signs where a highway that is designated as a state highway under Title 72,

75 Chapter 4, Designation of State Highways Act, but is not a freeway crosses the Jordan River;

<u>Nays - 0</u>

Yeas - 9 Rep. M. Ballard Rep. K. Christofferson Rep. K. Ivory Rep. D. Johnson Rep. M. Nelson Rep. K. Peterson Rep. J. Stenquist Rep. R. Ward Rep. M. Winder <u>Absent - 3</u> Rep. S. Harrison Rep. K. Kwan

Rep. R. Ward Rep. M. Winder MOTION: Rep. Ward moved to pass H

Rep. Ward moved to pass H.B. 319 out favorably. The motion failed with a vote of 4 - 4 - 4.

<u>Yeas - 4</u> Rep. M. Ballard Rep. D. Johnson Rep. J. Stenquist Rep. M. Winder <u>Nays - 4</u> Rep. K. Christofferson Rep. K. Ivory Rep. M. Nelson Rep. K. Peterson <u>Absent - 4</u> Rep. S. Harrison Rep. K. Kwan Rep. A. Matthews Rep. R. Ward

Rep. A. Matthews

**MOTION:** Rep. Stenquist moved to adjourn. The motion passed with a vote of 7 - 0 - 5.

Yeas - 7 Rep. M. Ballard Rep. K. Christofferson Rep. D. Johnson Rep. M. Nelson Rep. K. Peterson Rep. J. Stenquist Rep. M. Winder

<u>Nays - 0</u>

Absent - 5 Rep. S. Harrison Rep. K. Ivory Rep. K. Kwan Rep. A. Matthews Rep. R. Ward

Chair Christofferson adjourned the meeting at 9:02 AM.