

MINUTES HOUSE ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT AND WORKFORCE SERVICES STANDING COMMITTEE

RE Wednesday, February 16, 2022 4:00 p.m. 110 Senate Building

Members Present: Rep. Stephen G. Handy, Chair Rep. Jeffrey D. Stenquist, Vice Chair Rep. Clare Collard Rep. Steven J. Lund Rep. Carol Spackman Moss Rep. Doug Owens Rep. Susan Pulsipher Rep. Mike Winder

Members Absent: Rep. Stephen L. Whyte

Staff Present: Samantha D. Brucker, Managing Policy Analyst Lorna Wells, Committee Secretary

Note: A copy of related materials and an audio recording of the meeting can be found at www.le.utah.gov.

Chair Handy called the meeting to order at 4:13 p.m.

MOTION: Rep. Stenquist moved to approve the minutes of the February 11, 2022 meeting. The motion passed with a vote of 5 - 0 - 4.

<u>Yeas - 5</u>	<u>Nays - 0</u>	<u>Absent - 4</u>
Rep. C. Collard	-	Rep. S. Lund
Rep. S. Handy		Rep. C. Moss
Rep. D. Owens		Rep. S. Whyte
Rep. S. Pulsipher		Rep. M. Winder
Rep. J. Stenquist		

1. H.J.R. 15 Joint Resolution Recognizing the Employment First Initiative (Eliason, S.)

Rep. Eliason presented the bill.

Andrew Riggle, Disability Law Center spoke against the bill.

Linda Hansen, mother of two adults with disabilities, spoke in favor of the bill.

Anita Bennett, mother of an adult daughter with multiple disabilities, commented on the bill.

Everette Bacon commented on the bill.

Josh Tuttle, School to Work Advisory Committee, commented on the bill.

Tricia Jones-Parkin, Board Member, Association of People Supporting Employment First Chapter, commented on the bill.

MOTION: Rep. Owens moved to pass H.J.R. 15 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 8 - 0 - 1.

HOUSE ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT AND WORKFORCE SERVICES STANDING COMMITTEE

February 16, 2022

Yeas - 8 Rep. C. Collard Rep. S. Handy Rep. S. Lund Rep. C. Moss Rep. D. Owens Rep. S. Pulsipher Rep. J. Stenquist Rep. M. Winder	<u>Nays - 0</u>	<u>Absent - 1</u> Rep. S. Whyte	
	Rep. Stenquist moved to place H.J.R. 15 on the Co of 8 - 0 - 1.	onsent Calendar. The motion passed with a v	vote
Yeas - 8 Rep. C. Collard Rep. S. Handy Rep. S. Lund Rep. C. Moss Rep. D. Owens Rep. S. Pulsipher Rep. J. Stenquist Rep. M. Winder	<u>Nays - 0</u>	<u>Absent - 1</u> Rep. S. Whyte	

2. H.C.R. 15 Concurrent Resolution Condemning Antisemitism (Owens, D.)

Rep. Owens presented the bill with the assistance of Patrice Arent, Executive Board Member, National Association of Jewish Legislators; and Rabbi Samuel Spector, Rabbi of Congregation Kol Ami in Salt Lake City.

Michael Mower, Senior Advisor of Community Outreach and Intergovernmental Relations, spoke in favor of the bill.

Jay Jacobson, retired physician and professor, and Chair of the United Jewish Federation's Task Force on Antisemitism, spoke in favor of the bill.

Seth Brysk, Anti-defamation League Regional Director, spoke in favor of the bill.

MOTION: Rep. Moss moved to pass H.C.R. 15 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 7 - 0 - 2.

Absent - 2

Rep. S. Whyte

Rep. M. Winder

Yeas - 7 Rep. C. Collard Rep. S. Handy Rep. S. Lund Rep. C. Moss Rep. D. Owens Rep. S. Pulsipher Rep. J. Stenquist

3. H.B. 333 Economic and Workforce Development Amendments (Hawkes, T.)

Nays - 0

Rep. Timothy Hawkes presented the bill with the assistance of Dan Hemmert, Executive Director, Governor's Office of Economic Opporutnity.

Paul Larsen, Brigham City Community and Economic Development Director and on the Advisory Committee for the Utah Main Street Program, spoke against the bill.

Chris Merritt, State Historic Preservation Officer for Utah, spoke in favor of the bill.

HOUSE ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT AND WORKFORCE SERVICES STANDING COMMITTEE

Jared Stewart, Tooele City Economic Development commented on the bill.

Jill Love, Director of the Department of Cultural and Community Engagement, spoke in favor of the bill.

MOTION: Rep. Stenquist moved to pass H.B. 333 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 7 - 0 - 2.

Absent - 2

Rep. S. Whyte

Rep. M. Winder

<u>Nays - 0</u>

Yeas - 7 Rep. C. Collard Rep. S. Handy Rep. S. Lund Rep. C. Moss Rep. D. Owens Rep. S. Pulsipher Rep. J. Stenquist

MOTION: Rep. Stenquist moved to adjourn. The motion passed with a vote of 7 - 0 - 2.

Yeas - 7Nays - 0Absent - 2Rep. C. CollardRep. S. WhyteRep. S. HandyRep. M. WinderRep. S. LundRep. M. WinderRep. C. MossRep. D. OwensRep. S. PulsipherRep. J. Stenquist

Chair Handy adjourned the meeting at 5:30 p.m.