

## **MINUTES**

## HOUSE ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT AND WORKFORCE SERVICES STANDING COMMITTEE

Tuesday, February 22, 2022 | 9:00 a.m. | 110 Senate Building

**Members Present:** 

Rep. Jeffrey D. Stenguist, Vice Chair

Rep. Clare Collard

Rep. Steven J. Lund

Rep. Carol Spackman Moss

Rep. Doug Owens

Rep. Susan Pulsipher

Rep. Stephen L. Whyte

Members Absent:

Rep. Stephen G. Handy, Chair

Rep. Mike Winder

**Staff Present:** 

Seth Anderson, Policy Analyst

Samantha D. Brucker, Managing Policy Analyst

Lorna Wells, Committee Secretary

Note: A copy of related materials and an audio recording of the meeting can be found at www.le.utah.gov.

Chair Stenguist called the meeting to order at 9:02 a.m.

**MOTION:** Rep. Pulsipher moved to approve the minutes of the February 16, 2022 meeting. The motion

passed with a vote of 7 - 0 - 2.

Nays - 0 Absent - 2
Dilard Rep. S. Handy

Rep. C. Collard
Rep. S. Lund
Rep. S. Handy
Rep. M. Winder

Rep. C. Moss

Yeas - 7

Rep. D. Owens

Rep. S. Pulsipher

Rep. J. Stenguist

Rep. S. Whyte

## 1. H.B. 405 Switcher Amendments (Schultz, M.)

Rep. Mike Schultz presented the bill with the assistance of Dr. Daniel Mendoza, Professor of Atmospheric Sciences at the University of Utah.

Emissions and Potential Impacts of Utah's Freight Switcher Locomotives HB 405

Dan Dougan, Salt Lake City Council Chair, spoke in favor of the bill.

George Chapman spoke against the bill.

Nathan Anderson, Sr. Director, Public Affairs, Union Pacific Railroad, spoke against the bill.

Ashley Miller, Executive Director, Breathe Utah, spoke in favor of the bill.

**MOTION:** Rep. Owens moved to pass H.B. 405 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 7 - 0 - 2.



## HOUSE ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT AND WORKFORCE SERVICES STANDING COMMITTEE

February 22, 2022

 $\begin{array}{ccc} \underline{\text{Yeas-7}} & \underline{\text{Nays-0}} & \underline{\text{Absent-2}} \\ \text{Rep. C. Collard} & \text{Rep. S. Handy} \\ \text{Rep. S. Lund} & \text{Rep. M. Winder} \end{array}$ 

Rep. C. Moss Rep. D. Owens Rep. S. Pulsipher Rep. J. Stenquist Rep. S. Whyte

Rep. J. Stenquist Rep. S. Whyte

**MOTION:** Rep. Owens moved to adjourn. The motion passed with a vote of 7 - 0 - 2.

Yeas - 7 Rep. C. Collard Rep. S. Handy

Rep. C. Collard
Rep. S. Handy
Rep. S. Lund
Rep. C. Moss
Rep. D. Owens
Rep. S. Pulsipher

Chair Stenquist adjourned the meeting at 9:55 a.m.