

## **MINUTES**

### HOUSE PUBLIC UTILITIES, ENERGY, AND TECHNOLOGY STANDING COMMITTEE

Monday, February 14, 2022 8:00 a.m. 110 Senate Building

#### **Members Present:**

Rep. Carl R. Albrecht, Chair Rep. Rex P. Shipp, Vice Chair

Rep. Scott H. Chew

Rep. Kay J. Christofferson

Rep. Clare Collard Rep. Steven J. Lund

Rep. Doug Owens

Rep. Michael J. Petersen

Rep. Angela Romero

Rep. Keven J. Stratton

Rep. Douglas R. Welton

Rep. Ryan D. Wilcox

#### **Staff Present:**

Samantha D. Brucker, Managing Policy Analyst

Linda Service, Committee Secretary

Note: A copy of related materials and an audio recording of the meeting can be found at www.le.utah.gov.

Chair Albrecht called the meeting to order at 8:00 a.m.

MOTION: Rep. Shipp moved to approve the minutes of the February 10, 2022 meeting. The motion passed

with a vote of 8 - 0 - 4.

Yeas - 8 Nays - 0

Rep. C. Albrecht Rep. S. Chew

Rep. K. Christofferson

Rep. S. Lund

Rep. D. Owens

Rep. M. Petersen

Rep. A. Romero

Rep. R. Shipp

Absent - 4 Rep. C. Collard Rep. K. Stratton Rep. D. Welton Rep. R. Wilcox

Rep. Handy presented the bill assisted by John Baza, Director, Division of Oil, Gas and Mining, and Rob Simmons, Director, Carbon Science Initiative, Energy and Geoscience Institute, University of Utah. Rep. Handy distributed a handout.

### HB 244 handout

Rep. Shipp assumed the chair.

Brian McPherson, Professor, University of Utah, spoke in support of the bill.

Matt Anderson, Deputy Director, Utah Office of Energy Development, spoke in support of the bill.

Rikki Hrenko-Browning, President, Utah Petroleum Association, spoke in support of the bill.

Jeff Hartley, Red Leaf/Green Leaf Resources, spoke in support of the bill.

MOTION: Rep. Christofferson moved to replace H.B. 244 with 2nd Substitute H.B. 244. The motion passed

with a vote of 9 - 0 - 3.

# HOUSE PUBLIC UTILITIES, ENERGY, AND TECHNOLOGY STANDING COMMITTEE

**February 14, 2022** 

Yeas - 9 Rep. C. Albrecht

Rep. S. Chew

Rep. K. Christofferson

Rep. C. Collard

Rep. D. Owens

Rep. M. Petersen

Rep. R. Shipp

Rep. K. Stratton

Rep. D. Welton

Rep. S. Lund Rep. A. Romero

Absent - 3

Rep. R. Wilcox

**MOTION:** Rep. Christofferson moved to pass 2nd Substitute H.B. 244 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 9 - 0 - 3.

Yeas - 9Nays - 0Absent - 3Rep. C. AlbrechtRep. S. LundRep. S. ChewRep. A. RomeroRep. K. ChristoffersonRep. R. Wilcox

Rep. C. Collard

Rep. D. Owens

Rep. M. Petersen

Rep. R. Shipp

Rep. K. Stratton

Rep. D. Welton

Rep. Albrecht resumed the chair.

### 1. H.B. 335 Blockchain and Digital Innovation Task Force (Teuscher, J.)

Rep. Teuscher presented the bill assisted by Matt Poll, local business owner.

Trace Mayer spoke in support of the bill.

Mike Caldwell spoke in support of the bill.

Seth Sunderland, Spring Canyon Capitol, spoke in support of the bill.

Frank Pignanelli, Executive Director, National Association of Industrial Bankers, spoke in support of the bill.

Dan Burton, General Counsel, Utah Attorney General's Office, spoke in support of the bill.

Cody Pritchett, CEO, Excavate Mining, spoke in support of the bill.

Dan Young, CEO, PC Laptops, spoke in support of the bill.

**MOTION:** Rep. Christofferson moved to amend H.B. 335 with Amendment #1. The motion passed with a vote

of 10 - 0 - 2.

Amendment 1 H.B. 335

1. Page 4, Lines 93 through 95:

93 (ii) the { incentivizing of } development of nonfinancial incentives for industries in the state related to blockchain, financial

94 technology, and digital innovation;

95 (iii) the {incentivizing} promotion of partnerships with existing financial institutions and regulated

# HOUSE PUBLIC UTILITIES, ENERGY, AND TECHNOLOGY STANDING COMMITTEE

February 14, 2022

Yeas - 10 Rep. C. Albrecht Nays - 0

Absent - 2 Rep. S. Chew Rep. D. Welton

Rep. K. Christofferson

Rep. C. Collard

Rep. S. Lund

Rep. D. Owens

Rep. M. Petersen

Rep. A. Romero

Rep. R. Shipp

Rep. K. Stratton

Rep. R. Wilcox

Rep. Christofferson moved to pass H.B. 335 out favorably as amended. The motion passed with a vote of 10 - 0 - 2.

Yeas - 10

MOTION:

Nays - 0

Nays - 0

Absent - 2

Absent - 2

Rep. S. Chew

Rep. D. Welton

Rep. C. Albrecht

Rep. S. Chew

Rep. K. Christofferson

Rep. D. Welton

Rep. C. Collard

Rep. S. Lund

Rep. D. Owens

Rep. M. Petersen

Rep. A. Romero

Rep. R. Shipp

Rep. K. Stratton

Rep. R. Wilcox

**MOTION:** Rep. Wilcox moved to adjourn. The motion passed with a vote of 10 - 0 - 2.

<u>Yeas - 10</u>

Rep. C. Albrecht Rep. K. Christofferson

Rep. C. Collard

Rep. S. Lund

Rep. D. Owens

Rep. M. Petersen

Rep. A. Romero

Rep. R. Shipp

Rep. K. Stratton

Rep. R. Wilcox

Chair Albrecht adjourned the meeting at 9:51 a.m.

NOTE: H.B. 0244 was not discussed in the meeting.