

Tuesday, March 1, 202212:00 p.m. 1445 State Capitol

Members Present:

Rep. Kay J. Christofferson, Chair Rep. Mike Winder, Vice Chair

Rep. Melissa G. Ballard

Rep. Suzanne Harrison

Rep. Ken Ivory

Rep. Dan N. Johnson

Rep. Karen Kwan

Rep. Ashlee Matthews

Rep. Merrill F. Nelson

Rep. Karen M. Peterson

Rep. Jeffrey D. Stenguist

Rep. Raymond P. Ward

Staff Present:

Micah Ann Wixom, Policy Analyst Jonathan Rees, Committee Secretary

Rep. M. Ballard

Note: A copy of related materials and an audio recording of the meeting can be found at www.le.utah.gov.

Vice Chair Winder called the meeting to order at 2:11 PM.

MOTION: Rep. Ward moved to approve the minutes of the February 28, 2022, meeting. The motion passed

with a vote of 7 - 0 - 5.

Yeas - 7 Nays - 0 Absent - 5

Rep. K. Christofferson Rep. M. Ballard Rep. K. Ivory Rep. S. Harrison

Rep. D. Johnson Rep. K. Kwan Rep. A. Matthews Rep. M. Nelson

Rep. K. Peterson Rep. J. Stenauist

Rep. R. Ward

Rep. M. Winder

1. 3rd Sub. S.B. 204 Automobile Amendments (Bramble, C.)

Sen. Bramble presented the bill.

Rep. Ivory moved to pass 3rd Substitute S.B. 204 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of MOTION:

11 - 0 - 1.

Absent - 1 Yeas - 11 Nays - 0

Rep. K. Christofferson

Rep. S. Harrison

Rep. K. Ivory

Rep. D. Johnson

Rep. K. Kwan

Rep. A. Matthews

Rep. M. Nelson

Rep. K. Peterson

Rep. J. Stenquist

Rep. R. Ward

Rep. M. Winder

MOTION: Rep. Ivory moved to place 3rd Substitute S.B. 204 on the Consent Calendar. The motion passed

with a vote of 11 - 0 - 1.

Yeas - 11 Absent - 1 <u>Nays - 0</u> Rep. K. Christofferson Rep. M. Ballard

Rep. S. Harrison

Rep. K. Ivory

Rep. D. Johnson

Rep. K. Kwan

Rep. A. Matthews

Rep. M. Nelson

Rep. K. Peterson

Rep. J. Stenguist

Rep. R. Ward

Rep. M. Winder

2. 1st Sub. S.B. 215 Railroad Crossing Modifications (Mayne, K.)

Sen. Ipson and Rep. Dunnigan presented the bill and distributed a handout.

Jeff Worthington, President, Utah AFLCIO, spoke in favor of the bill.

MOTION: Rep. Matthews moved to pass 1st Substitute S.B. 215 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 11 - 0 - 1.

Yeas - 11 Nays - 0 Absent - 1 Rep. D. Johnson

Rep. M. Ballard

Rep. K. Christofferson

Rep. S. Harrison

Rep. K. Ivory

Rep. K. Kwan

Rep. A. Matthews

Rep. M. Nelson

Rep. K. Peterson

Rep. J. Stenguist

Rep. R. Ward

Rep. M. Winder

MOTION: Rep. Matthews moved to place 1st Substitute S.B. 215 on the Consent Calendar. The motion passed with a vote of 11 - 0 - 1.

Yeas - 11 Nays - 0 Absent - 1 Rep. M. Ballard Rep. D. Johnson

Rep. K. Christofferson

Rep. S. Harrison

Rep. K. Ivory

Rep. K. Kwan

Rep. A. Matthews

Rep. M. Nelson

Rep. K. Peterson

Rep. J. Stenguist

Rep. R. Ward

Rep. M. Winder

3. 1st Sub. S.B. 214 Utah Broadband Center Advisory Commission (Wilson, C.)

Sen. Wilson presented the bill with the assistance of Ryan Starks, Managing Director of Business Services, Go Utah.

Kira Slawson, Executive Director and Legal Council, Rural Telecom Association, spoke in favor of the bill.

MOTION: Rep. Stenguist moved to pass 1st Substitute S.B. 214 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 11 - 0 - 1.

Yeas - 11 Nays - 0 Absent - 1 Rep. M. Ballard Rep. D. Johnson

Rep. K. Christofferson

Rep. S. Harrison

Rep. K. Ivory

Rep. K. Kwan

Rep. A. Matthews

Rep. M. Nelson

Rep. K. Peterson

Rep. J. Stenguist

Rep. R. Ward

Rep. M. Winder

4. 2nd Sub. S.B. 227 Consumer Privacy Act (Cullimore, K. A.)

Sen. Cullimore presented the bill.

Rep. Stenguist moved to amend 2nd Substitute S.B. 227 with Amendment #1. The motion passed MOTION:

with a vote of 11 - 0 - 1.

Amendment 1 2nd Sub. S.B. 227

Page 4, Lines 105 through 106:

(b) "Biometric data" includes data described in Subsection (6)(a) that are {-: 105

106 (i) generated by automatic measurements of an individual's fingerprint, voiceprint, eye

2. Page 4, Lines 108 through 109:

108 specific individual (; or).

109 { (ii) captured from a patient in a health care setting. }

Page 4, Lines 113 through 114:

113 (iii) data generated from an item described in Subsection (6)(c)(i) or (ii); {-or-}

(iv) information captured from a patient in a health care setting; or

{\(\frac{\(\)}}{\(\frac{\(\frac{\)\}}{\}\}}}}}}\) \right)} \rightilt\}} \right) \intimetrim\text{infinity}}} \right. \rightilde{\int}\} \right. \right. \text{infinity}}} \right. \right. \right. \text{infinity}}} \right. \right. \right. \right. \right. \right. \right. \text{infinity}}} \right. \right.} \right. \right.

Yeas - 11 Nays - 0 Absent - 1 Rep. M. Ballard Rep. D. Johnson

Rep. K. Christofferson

Rep. S. Harrison

Rep. K. Ivory

Rep. K. Kwan

Rep. A. Matthews

Rep. M. Nelson

Rep. K. Peterson

Rep. J. Stenguist

Rep. R. Ward

Rep. M. Winder

Dave Davis, President, Utah Retail and Merchant Association, spoke in favor of the bill.

Caden Rosenbaum, Technology and Innovation Policy Analyst, Libertas Institute, spoke in opposition to the bill.

Maureen Mahoney, Senior Policy Analyst, Consumer Reports, spoke in opposition to the bill.

MOTION:

Rep. Ivory moved to pass 2nd Substitute S.B. 227 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 12 - 0 - 0.

<u>Yeas - 12</u>

Nays - 0

Absent - 0

Rep. M. Ballard

Rep. K. Christofferson

Rep. S. Harrison

Rep. K. Ivory

Rep. D. Johnson

Rep. K. Kwan

Rep. A. Matthews

Rep. M. Nelson

Rep. K. Peterson

Rep. J. Stenguist

Rep. R. Ward

Rep. M. Winder

5. 1st Sub. S.J.R. 10 Joint Resolution Emphasizing a Desire and Readiness to Host a Future Olympic and Paralympic Winter Games (*Kitchen*, *D.*)

Rep. Hawkins presented the bill.

MOTION:

Rep. Ward moved to pass 1st Substitute S.J.R. 10 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 12 - 0 - 0.

Yeas - 12

Nays - 0

Absent - 0

Rep. M. Ballard

Rep. K. Christofferson

Rep. S. Harrison

Rep. K. Ivory

Rep. D. Johnson

Rep. K. Kwan

Rep. A. Matthews

Rep. M. Nelson

Rep. K. Peterson

Rep. J. Stenauist

Rep. R. Ward

Rep. M. Winder

MOTION: Chair Christofferson moved to adjourn. The motion passed with a vote of 12 - 0 - 0.

Nays - 0

Absent - 0

Yeas - 12 Rep. M. Ballard

Rep. K. Christofferson

Rep. S. Harrison

Rep. K. Ivory

Rep. D. Johnson

Rep. K. Kwan

Rep. A. Matthews

Rep. M. Nelson

Rep. K. Peterson

Rep. J. Stenguist

Rep. R. Ward

Rep. M. Winder

Vice Chair Winder adjourned the meeting at 3:21 PM.