

MINUTES

LAW ENFORCEMENT AND CRIMINAL JUSTICE INTERIM

COMMITTEE

Wednesday, June 15, 2022 | 9:00 a.m. | 30 House Building

Members Present:

Sen. Keith Grover, Chair Rep. Ryan D. Wilcox, Chair

Sen. Don L. Ipson

Sen. Kathleen A. Riebe

Sen. Daniel W. Thatcher

Rep. Melissa G. Ballard

Rep. Jefferson S. Burton

Rep. Matthew H. Gwynn

Rep. Sandra Hollins

Rep. Marsha Judkins

Rep. Kelly B. Miles

Rep. Val L. Peterson

Rep. Angela Romero

Rep. Travis M. Seegmiller

Rep. Andrew Stoddard

Rep. Stephen L. Whyte

Members Absent:

Sen. Kirk A. Cullimore

Staff Present:

John Feinauer, Managing Policy Analyst

Esther D. Chelsea-McCarty, Associate General

Counsel

Jackie Rogers, Associate General Counsel

Taylor Calabrese, Administrative Assistant

Note: A copy of related materials and an audio recording of the meeting can be found at www.le.utah.gov.

Chair Grover called the meeting to order at 9:06 a.m.

1. Committee Business

Rep. Gwynn moved to approve the minutes of the May 18, 2022, meeting. The motion passed with MOTION:

a vote of 12 - 0 - 5.

Yeas - 12 Absent - 5 Navs - 0

Sen. K. Cullimore Rep. M. Ballard

Rep. J. Burton

Rep. M. Judkins Sen. K. Grover Rep. V. Peterson

Rep. M. Gwynn Rep. T. Seegmiller Sen. D. Thatcher Rep. S. Hollins

Sen. D. Ipson

Rep. K. Miles

Sen. K. Riebe

Rep. A. Romero

Rep. A. Stoddard

Rep. S. Whyte

Rep. R. Wilcox

2. First Responder Mental Health Services

2a - H.B. 23, First Responder Mental Health Service Amendments (2022 General Session)

Jess Anderson, Commissioner, Department of Public Safety, presented an update on the implementation of grant-funded programs established in 2022 General Session H.B. 23, First Responder Mental Health Services Amendments.

Jess Anderson responded to guestions from the committee.

Dean Penovich, Bureau Director, and Guy Dansie, Program Manager, Bureau of Emergency Medical Services and Preparedness, presented on the Critical Incident Stress Management Team.



The committee discussed the presentation.

Dean Penovich and Guy Dansie responded to questions from the committee.

MOTION: Sen. Riebe moved to open a committee bill file to address first responder mental health services.

The motion passed with a vote of 15 - 0 - 2.

Yeas - 15 Nays - 0 Absent - 2

Sen. K. Cullimore Rep. M. Ballard

Sen. D. Thatcher Rep. J. Burton

Sen. K. Grover Rep. M. Gwynn

Sen. D. Ipson Rep. M. Judkins

Rep. S. Hollins

Rep. K. Miles Rep. V. Peterson

Sen. K. Riebe Rep. A. Romero

Rep. T. Seegmiller

Rep. A. Stoddard

Rep. S. Whyte

Rep. R. Wilcox

3. School Resource Officers

Rhett Larsen, Student School Safety Specialist, Utah State Board of Education, presented on the current landscape of the use of school resource officers.

Tyler Kotter, Chief of Investigations, Department of Public Safety, provided an update on school resource officers and their training.

Tyler Kotter and Rhett Larsen responded to questions from the committee.

The committee discussed the presentation.

4. Master Offense List

4a - Master Offense List 2022

4b - Master Offense List Report 2022

Daniel Strong, Director, Utah Sentencing Commission, presented on the Master Offense List.

Daniel Strong responded to questions from the committee and continued presenting.

Daniel Strong responded to additional questions from the committee.

5. Sentencing Guidelines

5a - Sentencing Guidelines Presentation

Daniel Strong presented on the Utah Sentencing Commission and sentencing guidelines.

Daniel Strong responded to questions from the committee and continued presenting.



Daniel Strong responded to additional questions from the committee.

Michael Drechsel, Assistant State Court Administrator, Administrative Office of the Courts, responded to questions from the committee.

Steve Burton, Defense Attorney, Utah Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers, responded to questions from the committee.

6. State v. Carter

6a - State v. Carter

6b - State v. Carter Call for Legislative Action

6c - State v. Carter Judiciary Letter

Jackie Rogers, Associate General Counsel, presented on State v. Carter.

Jackie Rogers responded to questions from the committee.

MOTION:

Rep. Gwynn moved to open a committee bill file to address the concerns raised by the courts regarding State v. Carter and refer it to the Criminal Code Evaluation Task Force for further study. The motion passed with a vote of 16 - 0 - 1.

Yeas - 16 Navs - 0 Absent - 1 Rep. M. Ballard Sen. K. Cullimore

Rep. J. Burton

Sen. K. Grover Rep. M. Gwynn

Rep. S. Hollins

Sen. D. Ipson

Rep. M. Judkins

Rep. K. Miles

Rep. V. Peterson

Sen. K. Riebe

Rep. A. Romero

Rep. T. Seegmiller

Rep. A. Stoddard

Sen. D. Thatcher

Rep. S. Whyte

Rep. R. Wilcox

7. Reverse Keyword Search and Geolocation Requests

7a - H.B. 491, Law Enforcement Court Order Reporting Amendments (2022 General Session)

7b - H.B. 251, Electronic Location Amendments (2021 General Session)

Jason Groth, Deputy Legal Director, American Civil Liberties Union, and Leslie Corbly, Privacy Policy Analyst, Libertas Institute, presented on reverse keyword search and geolocation requests.

Jason Groth responded to questions from the committee.

Eric Young, Chief of Police, Ogden Police Department, and Jeff Gray, Search & Seizure Section Director, Office of the Utah Attorney General, presented a response to reverse keyword search and geolocation requests.

MOTION:

Rep. K. Miles

Rep. R. Wilcox

Rep. Wilcox moved to open a committee bill file to increase the clarity surrounding reverse keyword search and geolocation requests. The motion passed with a vote of 15 - 0 - 2.

Yeas - 15 Nays - 0 Absent - 2

Rep. M. Ballard Sen. K. Cullimore Rep. J. Burton Rep. S. Hollins

Sen. K. Grover

Rep. M. Gwynn

Rep. M. Judkins

Sen. D. Ipson

Rep. V. Peterson Sen. K. Riebe Rep. A. Romero

Rep. T. Seegmiller

Rep. A. Stoddard Sen. D. Thatcher Rep. S. Whyte

8. Other Items/Adjourn

Rep. Romero moved to adjourn. The motion passed with a vote of 15 - 0 - 2. MOTION:

Yeas - 15 Nays - 0 Absent - 2 Rep. M. Ballard

Sen. K. Cullimore Rep. J. Burton Rep. S. Hollins

Sen. K. Grover Rep. M. Gwynn Sen. D. Ipson

Rep. M. Judkins Rep. K. Miles Rep. V. Peterson Sen. K. Riebe Rep. A. Romero

Rep. T. Seegmiller

Rep. A. Stoddard

Sen. D. Thatcher

Rep. S. Whyte Rep. R. Wilcox

Chair Grover adjourned the meeting at 11:30 a.m.