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What does “incompetent” mean in a criminal case? 
For adults: A defendant lacks: (a) a rational and factual understanding of the criminal proceedings and 
the punishment; or (b) the ability to consult with legal counsel with a reasonable degree of rational 
understanding to assist the defense. (§77-15-2) 

For juveniles: Due to a mental illness, intellectual disability or related condition, or developmental 
immaturity, lacks the ability to: (a) understand the nature of the proceedings or the potential 
disposition for the offense; or (b) consult with counsel and participate with a reasonable degree of 
rational understanding. 

How does a court decide a defendant is incompetent? (§77-15-5) 
1. Anyone can ask the district court to investigate a defendant’s competency. 
2. All criminal proceedings are stayed (paused) after competency is raised. 
3. If the court finds there’s a bona fide doubt about the defendant’s competency, the judge must order an 

evaluation by 1 or 2 forensic evaluators (the defendant stays in the same custody status unless otherwise 
ordered). 

4. The court schedules a hearing after receiving the report(s).  
5. The legal presumption is a defendant is competent unless the court finds the defendant incompetent by 

the preponderance of the evidence. 

How often are evaluators finding defendants incompetent in Utah? (Spoiler: too often) 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Insanity or Guilty & 
Mentally Ill (GAMI) 

Competency 

U.S. Annual Competency Evaluations 
(50-60k)

Competent Incompetent Variable

75%-80% 
Competent 

Utah Competency Evaluations 
2020 - June 2022 (1,463)

Competent Incompetent

45.7% 
Comp. 



Court orders 
Restoration

• Court can't order 
placement (only 
"secure" or "non-
secure")

60 days

• Time's up for B 
misdemeanors 
and below

105 days

• First status 
hearing must 
be held

195 days

• Time's up 
except for a 
first degree 
felony  or 
manslaughter 

13 months

• Time's up 
except murder 
or aggravated 
murder

37 months

• Time's up.

What happens after a defendant is found incompetent? 
If the defendant is deemed “restorable,” a timer starts. 

 
  
 
 
 
 

What happens if the defendant is non-restorable, or the restoration time runs out? 
The defendant is either released or “civilly committed”  
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