

Monday, January 23, 202312:00 p.m. 1120 Senate Building

**Members Present:** 

Rep. James A. Dunnigan, Chair

Rep. Michael L. Kohler, Vice Chair

Rep. Gay Lynn Bennion

Rep. Paul Cutler

Rep. Jason Kyle Rep. Trevor Lee

Rep. Rosemary T. Lesser

Rep. Anthony Loubet

Staff Present:

Nathan W. Brady, Policy Analyst Linda Service, Committee Secretary

Rep. Jordan D. Teuscher

Rep. Matthew H. Gwynn

Rep. R. N. Walter

**Members Absent:** 

Note: A copy of related materials and an audio recording of the meeting can be found at www.le.utah.gov.

Chair Kohler called the meeting to order at 2:00 p.m.

## 1. H.B. 157 County Office Consolidation Amendments (Petersen, M.)

Rep. Peterson presented the bill assisted by Brian McKenzie, Davis County Clerk.

Yasmin Alvarado, Lieutenant Governor's Office, spoke in support of the bill.

MOTION: Rep. Cutler moved to replace H.B. 157 with 1st Substitute H.B. 157.

Rep. Cutler withdrew the motion.

MOTION: Rep. Cutler moved to replace H.B. 157 with 1st Substitute H.B. 157. The motion passed with a vote

of 10 - 0 - 1.

Yeas - 10 Nays - 0 Absent - 1 Rep. G. Bennion Rep. M. Gwynn

Rep. P. Cutler

Rep. J. Dunnigan

Rep. M. Kohler

Rep. J. Kyle

Rep. T. Lee

Rep. R. Lesser

Rep. A. Loubet

Rep. J. Teuscher

Rep. R. Walter

MOTION: Rep. Teuscher moved to amend 1st Substitute H.B. 157 with Amendment #1. The motion passed

with a vote of 10 - 0 - 1.

Amendment 1 1st Sub. H.B. 157

Page 2, Lines 38 through 40:

(3) Each county legislative body shall ensure that any ordinance consolidating or 38

39 separating county offices:

(a) is enacted before the [February] { December } November 1 of the year before the year in which 40

Yeas - 10

<u>Nays - 0</u>

Absent - 1 Rep. M. Gwynn

Rep. G. Bennion

Rep. P. Cutler

Rep. J. Dunnigan

Rep. M. Kohler

Rep. J. Kyle

Rep. T. Lee

Rep. R. Lesser

Rep. A. Loubet

Rep. J. Teuscher

Rep. R. Walter

MOTION:

Rep. Lesser moved to pass 1st Substitute H.B. 157 out favorably as amended. The motion passed with a vote of 10 - 0 - 1.

Yeas - 10

Nays - 0

Nays - 0

Navs - 0

Absent - 1 Rep. M. Gwynn

Absent - 1

Absent - 1

Rep. M. Gwynn

Rep. M. Gwynn

Rep. G. Bennion

Rep. P. Cutler

Rep. J. Dunnigan

Rep. M. Kohler

Rep. J. Kyle

Rep. T. Lee

Rep. R. Lesser

Rep. A. Loubet

Rep. J. Teuscher

Rep. R. Walter

**MOTION:** 

Rep. Loubet moved to approve the minutes of of January 18, 2023. The motion passed with a vote of 10 - 0 - 1.

Yeas - 10

Rep. G. Bennion Rep. P. Cutler

Rep. J. Dunnigan

Rep. M. Kohler

Rep. J. Kyle

Rep. T. Lee

Rep. R. Lesser

Rep. A. Loubet

Rep. J. Teuscher

Rep. R. Walter

MOTION:

Rep. Lesser moved to adjourn the meeting at 2:16 p.m. The motion passed with a vote of 10 - 0 - 1.

Yeas - 10

Rep. G. Bennion

Rep. P. Cutler

Rep. J. Dunnigan

Rep. M. Kohler

Rep. J. Kyle

Rep. T. Lee

Rep. R. Lesser

Rep. A. Loubet

Rep. J. Teuscher

Rep. R. Walter

Chair Kohler adjourned the meeting at 2:17 p.m.