

Members Present: Rep. Steve Eliason, Chair Rep. Brady Brammer, Vice Chair Rep. Stewart E. Barlow Rep. Joel K. Briscoe Rep. Kay J. Christofferson Rep. Marsha Judkins Rep. Phil Lyman Rep. Doug Owens Rep. Casey Snider Rep. Robert M. Spendlove Rep. Keven J. Stratton Rep. Mark A. Strong

Members Absent: Rep. Jefferson Moss

Staff Present: Chris Stitt, Policy Analyst Makelle Wininger, Committee Secretary

Note: A copy of related materials and an audio recording of the meeting can be found at www.le.utah.gov.

Chair Eliason called the meeting to order at 3:47 p.m.

MOTION: Rep. Spendlove moved to approve the minutes of the February 28th, 2022 meeting. The motion passed with a vote of 8 - 0 - 5.

Yeas - 8 Rep. S. Barlow Rep. J. Briscoe Rep. S. Eliason Rep. M. Judkins Rep. P. Lyman Rep. D. Owens Rep. C. Snider Rep. R. Spendlove <u>Nays - 0</u>

<u>Absent - 5</u> Rep. B. Brammer Rep. K. Christofferson Rep. J. Moss Rep. K. Stratton Rep. M. Strong

1. H.B. 56 Tax Assessment Amendments (Eliason, S.)

Rep. Snider assumed the chair at 3:48 p.m.

Chair Eliason presented the bill with the assistance of John Valentine, Chairman, Utah State Tax Commission (USTC).

Rep. Brammer assumed the chair at 3:55 p.m.

MOTION: Rep. Snider moved to replace H.B. 56 with 1st Substitute H.B. 56. The motion passed with a vote of 12 - 0 - 1.

HOUSE REVENUE AND TAXATION STANDING COMMITTEE DRAFT MINUTES

Nays - 0

January 31, 2023

Yeas - 12 Rep. S. Barlow Rep. B. Brammer Rep. J. Briscoe Rep. K. Christofferson Rep. S. Eliason Rep. M. Judkins Rep. P. Lyman Rep. D. Owens Rep. C. Snider Rep. R. Spendlove Rep. K. Stratton Rep. M. Strong

MOTION: Rep. Snider moved to pass 1st Substitute H.B. 56 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 12 - 0 - 1.

Absent - 1

Rep. J. Moss

<u>Yeas - 12</u>	<u>Nays - 0</u>	<u>Absent - 1</u>
Rep. S. Barlow		Rep. J. Moss
Rep. B. Brammer		
Rep. J. Briscoe		
Rep. K. Christofferson		
Rep. S. Eliason		
Rep. M. Judkins		
Rep. P. Lyman		
Rep. D. Ówens		
Rep. C. Snider		
Rep. R. Spendlove		
Rep. K. Stratton		
Rep. M. Strong		

2. H.B. 292 Poverty Mitigation Program Amendments (Thurston, N.)

Rep. Norman Thurston presented the bill with the assistance of Ben Gibbs, Professor, Brigham Young University; Melissa Freigang, Executive Director, Weber County Prosperity Center of Excellence; and Kevin Bird, Deputy Director, Department of Workforce Services (DWS).

Kevin Burt, Deputy Director, Department of Workforce Services, commented on the bill.

MOTION: Rep. Christofferson moved to replace H.B. 292 with 1st Substitute H.B. 292. The motion passed with a vote of 10 - 0 - 3.

<u>Yeas - 10</u>	<u>Nays - 0</u>	<u>Absent - 3</u>
Rep. S. Barlow	-	Rep. M. Judkins
Rep. B. Brammer		Rep. J. Moss
Rep. J. Briscoe		Rep. C. Snider
Rep. K. Christofferson		
Rep. S. Eliason		
Rep. P. Lyman		
Rep. D. Ówens		
Rep. R. Spendlove		
Rep. K. Stratton		
Rep. M. Strong		

MOTION: Rep. Christofferson moved to pass 1st Substitute H.B. 292 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 6 - 4 - 3.

HOUSE REVENUE AND TAXATION STANDING COMMITTEE DRAFT MINUTES

<u>Yeas - 6</u> Rep. S. Barlow Rep. J. Briscoe Rep. K. Christofferson Rep. S. Eliason Rep. K. Stratton Rep. M. Strong

<u>Nays - 4</u> Rep. B. Brammer Rep. P. Lyman Rep. D. Owens Rep. R. Spendlove Absent - 3 Rep. M. Judkins Rep. J. Moss Rep. C. Snider

3. S.B. 14 Leased Tangible Personal Property Tax Amendments (Wilson, C.)

Rep. Eliason resumed the chair at 4:58 p.m.

Sen. Chris Wilson presented the bill.

Rebecca Rockwell, Commissioner, USTC, spoke in favor of the bill.

MOTION: Rep. Spendlove moved to pass S.B. 14 out favorably.

Rebecca Rockwell responded to questions from the committee.

Rep. Spendlove's motion to pass S.B. 14 out favorably passed with a vote of 9 - 0 - 4.

<u>Yeas - 9</u>	<u>Nays - 0</u>	<u>Absent - 4</u>
Rep. S. Barlow		Rep. B. Brammer
Rep. J. Briscoe		Rep. M. Judkins
Rep. K. Christofferson		Rep. J. Moss
Rep. S. Eliason		Rep. C. Snider
Rep. P. Lyman		
Rep. D. Owens		
Rep. R. Spendlove		
Rep. K. Stratton		
Rep. M. Strong		

MOTION: Rep. Stratton moved to adjourn. The motion passed with a vote of 9 - 0 - 4.

Yeas - 9 Rep. S. Barlow Rep. J. Briscoe Rep. K. Christofferson Rep. S. Eliason Rep. P. Lyman Rep. D. Owens Rep. R. Spendlove Rep. K. Stratton Rep. M. Strong

<u>Nays - 0</u>

Chair Eliason adjourned the meeting 5:04 p.m.

Absent - 4 Rep. B. Brammer Rep. M. Judkins Rep. J. Moss Rep. C. Snider