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T ———— Trafficking Prevention

Vote YES to fund Utah's Child
Abuse Prevention Law!

55,245

Cachs
i i Davis & Weber County children are
Rep. Hall NOT receiving child abuse &
Davis & Weber County trafficking prevention education
BAAT . **Prevent Child Abuse Utah's average rate
of delivery is 179% of Davis County and 35% of
T Weber County elementary school students
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& ~ .. | Funding will provide:
s Approved Curriculum

Prevent Child Abuse Utah's classroom-
based curriculum is the only one
Sanpate approved by USBE for Utah's K-6 students

Utah-Based

i AR Prevent Child Abuse Utah's curriculum was
- N a3 written with Utah values for Utah's
parents, children, & educators. We
understand that parents are responsible
for the teaching and care of their children.

ron Garfield

Family Strengthening
Research-based and evidence-informed
b _| program based on the Protective Factors

10 rural counties are not receiving prevention education Framework for strengthening families

Washington pr—

Senator Cullimore is sponsoring a $4 million RFA: Child Abuse & Trafficking Prevention
and is scheduled to be heard at the Public Education Appropriations Subcommittee on:

Friday, February 3,2023, 8:00am

For more information:

Laurieann Thorpe Executive Director, Ithorpe@pcautah.org, (801) 834-3807
Deondra Brown, Advocate, dbrown@pcautah.org, (801) 573-2426

Sarah Haley Nitta, Education Director, snitta@pcautah.org, (801) 369-2399



[
‘-‘
-

73 Prevent Child Abuse Chlld Abuse &

LU tah

[ ] [ ] [ ]
i B Trafficking Prevention
1in 7 Utah children will be 90% of the time, children are sexually abused by
sexually abused by age 18 someone they know and trust
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In 2014, Utah's Child Sexual Abuse Prevention law was passed (53G-9-207).
In 2019, the law was updated to include trafficking prevention.
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It is estimated the impacts of child
sexual abuse cost the state of Utah

$1 billion annually
Utah Department of Health, 2022

*Child abuse cases are under-reported

"For every $1 invested in prevention, Utah saves $5.70."
Governor Spencer Cox

Through private funding, Prevent Child Abuse Utah delivers
* child abuse prevention to Utah's school communities.

89% of Utah's elementary students
are NOT receiving prevention education.

Elementary schools in 10 of Utah's rural counties have
never received child abuse prevention training.

0 @ O Hear how Prevent Child Abuse Utah helped %ﬁ

www.pcautah.org protect one Utah family from further abuse |5




