L WOMEN &
. .. = LEADERSHIP
Child Sexual Abuse Statistics D Project

Child sexual abuse is a significant problem in the state of Utah. The Utah Women &
Leadership Project provides these statistics to inform Utah decision makers and residents

about this troubling trend so that changes can be made to better protect and support
Utah'’s children.

UTAH STATS UNDER-REPORTED

* Nearly 13% of Utahns report being molested before the age One source reported that in

of 18.] of child
* More than three-fourths of all sexual assault victims in Utah s use is reported to the

(78.7%) reported being sexually assaulted before their 18th many child

birthday, with more than one-third of these survivors (34.9%) ' ims never

stating they were assaulted before their 10th birthday.’
Children are more likely to be victimized by a family member.:
* A 2019 survey of high schoolers® reported the following:

o 1in 13 Utah high schoolers (7.6%) were physically forced
to have sexual intercourse when they did not want to—1 in
? girls (11.3%) and 1 in 24 boys (4.1%).

o 1in5girls(21.2%)and 1in 13 boys (7.6%) experienced
sexual violence? in the last 12 months (14.3% total). Utah is
significantly above the national statistics for this category according
(10.8% total, 16.6% for girls, 5.2% for boys). The only two Commission on C "”"”'”':”: and
states with higher rates are Idaho (14.9% total) and Juvenile Justice, only 11. -
California (19.0% total). g

o Among students who dated in the previous 12 months, :
9.5% experienced sexual dating violence® one or more
times (15.3% for girls, 4% for boys). Utah is higher than the
national statistics for this category (8.2% total, 12.6% for
girls, 3.8% for boys).

ECONOMIC IMPACT

Nation afl,,. the e;tmmte:ﬁ economic cost r)fchllr sexual a e totals ove 3 billion annually.?’ In Utah, the

estimated e . ar, almost $1,700 per Utah
resident.” In 2011, thu lJt

eople known to have
perpetrated sexual violence while spo:mjmg cmly $16.5 m||||on on those who experienced sexual violence.
Only $569,000 was spent on efforts to prevent sexual violence.?
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NATIONAL STATS

e 1in 5 children is sexually abused before they turn 18.

e 70% of sex offenses reported to law enforcement involve a minor.®

e Children know the perpetrator in around 80% of the reported cases of
sexual abuse.”

RISK FACTORS

e Over half of child sexual abuse survivors were abused by juveniles under
the age of 18—-most of the perpetrators were peers they knew.'”

e Youth are responsible for about half of all sexual offenses against other
children.”

e Girls are the victims of incest and/or intrafamily sexual abuse much more
frequently than boys: Between 33-50% of perpetrators who sexually
abuse girls are family members; 10-20% of those who sexually abuse
boys are intrafamily perpetrators.’? Girls are at an increased risk of sexual
abuse and/or sexual assault over a lifetime when compared to boys.™
However, according to one source, due to a decrease in reporting by
male survivors, rates of child sexual abuse among boys may be
significantly higher than reported as well.™

e Abuse survivors often don't disclose their abuse until adulthood.™

e Protective factors may lessen the likelihood of children being abused or
neglected.'®

' LONG-TERM NEGATIVE EFFECTS

e High school dropout rates may increase as much as 40% for survivors of childhood sexual abuse.?’

e Child sexual abuse and adolescent sexual assault are associated with increased rates of alcohol and
substance abuse. In one large study, 1 in 5 of survivors developed alcohol dependence by age 30.
Similarly, in the same study, 1 in 5 of survivors developed illicit substance dependence by age 30.%°

e Sexually abused youth are 5 times more likely than the general population to be hospitalized for a
mental or physical health problem.??

e Sexually abused youth are 1.6 times more likely than the general population to use outpatient
treatment for a mental or physical health problem.*

e Children who experience sexual abuse are at least three times more likely to attempt suicide later in
life, and as they get older, the risk of suicide attempts increases.”’

e Child sexual abuse survivors are 4 times more likely to develop symptoms of drug abuse, 4 times
more likely to experience PTSD as adults, and 3 times more likely to experience a major depressive
episode as adults.*?

e In one study, 42% of abused females were classified as obese by young adulthood, compared to 28%

Il of the control group.* l

Acknowledgements: Thank you to Defend Innocence and The Younique Foundation for much of the national statistics
and research. Also, thanks to Staci Liljegren for gathering these statistics.

JON M

o J 1ITS |
H.l\‘[?‘fv‘ti\.h UtahStateUniversity, EXTENSION® www.utwomen.org



H.B. 334

Health Education Amendments

Representative Carol Spackman Moss

Purpose of H.B. 334

The bill requires the State Board of Education to
establish requirements for curriculum content
developed by LEAs that instruct students in refusal
skills, sexual assault resource strategies, the
illegality of sending sexually explicit photos over
the internet (sexting), and sexual violence behavior
prevention,

These curriculum content requirements are
designed to help students respect other’s
boundaries, and to set their own boundaries, This
bill focuses on the importance of teaching students
that they have the right to object to sexual
advances, and can also learn when they are in
danger of experiencing sexual violence.

Additionally, for students that may have or will
experience sexual violence, it is important they
understand the resources available to them to help
with the physical and psychological effects of
sexual assault. These resources would be shared as
part of the required curriculum content.

The bill still requires the Utah State Board of
Education to maintain standards for curricutum
development that include instruction in coercion,
emotional manipulation, and grooming strategies.

Extent of Education

This curriculum would be implemented by local and
charter school boards. In addition to the
implementation of this curriculum, school districts
would be tasked with reviewing the data regarding
sexual assault in each county where the local and
charter school districts are located.

This education will continue to be opt-in education,
as per the Utah standard for sex education in
schools. Parents are able to view the materials
before making the choice to opt-in.

Facts

11in 3 women in Utah will experience sexual violence
in their life time.

1in 6 women in Utah will experience rape or
attempted rape in their lifetime.

Utah Spends more than $92 million on people known
to have perpetrated sexual violence.

In the last year, 14.3% of students in Utah high
schools reported experiencing sexual violence. 7.3%
of students in Utah high schools reported
experiencing forced Sexual intercourse.

4 out of 10 rape victims report that they were raped
before their 18t birthday.

In 2019, the reported rape rate in Utah was
significantly higher than the U.S. rate at 56.8 per
100,000 adults, compared to 42.6 per 100,000
adults.

Organizations in Support

League of Women Voters, Utah PTA, Prevent Child
Abuse Utah, UEA, Utah State Superintendents
Association, and Utah State School Boards
Association






Utah Code

Effective 5/14/2019
53G-10-403 Required parental consent for sex education instruction.
(1) As used in this section:

(a)

(i) "Sex education instruction" means any course material, unit, class, lesson, activity, or
presentation that, as the focus of the discussion, provides instruction or information to a
student about:

(A) sexual abstinence;

(B) human sexuality;

(C) human reproduction;

(D) reproductive anatomy;

(E) physiology;

(F) pregnancy;

(G) marriage;

(H) childbirth;

() parenthood;

(J) contraception;

(K) HIVIAIDS;

(L) sexually transmitted diseases: or
(M) refusal skills, as defined in Section 53G-10-402.

(i) "Sex education instruction" does not include child sexual abuse prevention instruction

described in Section 53G-9-207.
(b) "School" means the same as that term is defined in Section 53G-10-205.
(2) A school shall obtain prior written consent from a student's parent before the school may
provide sex education instruction to the student.

(3) If a student's parent chooses not to have the student participate in sex education instruction, a

school shall:
(a) waive the requirement for the student to participate in the sex education instruction; or

(b) provide the student with a reasonable alternative to the sex education instruction requirement.

(4) In cooperation with the student's teacher or school, a parent shall take responsibility for the
parent's student's sex education instruction if a school:
(a) waives the student's sex education instruction requirement in Subsection (3)(a); or
(b) provides the student with a reasonable alternative to the sex education instruction
requirement described in Subsection (3)(b).
(5) A student's academic or citizenship performance may not be penalized if the student's parent
chooses not to have the student participate in sex education instruction as described in
Subsection (3).

Amended by Chapter 293, 2019 General Session
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