

DRAFT MINUTES

HOUSE REVENUE AND TAXATION STANDING COMMITTEE

Friday, February 24, 2023 | 8:00 a.m. | 445 State Capitol

Members Present:

Rep. Steve Eliason, Chair

Rep. Stewart E. Barlow

Rep. Joel K. Briscoe

Rep. Kay J. Christofferson

Rep. Phil Lyman

Rep. Doug Owens

Rep. Keven J. Stratton

Rep. Mark A. Strong

Members Absent:

Rep. Brady Brammer, Vice Chair

Rep. Marsha Judkins

Rep. Jefferson Moss

Rep. Casey Snider

Rep. Robert M. Spendlove

Staff Present:

Chris Stitt, Policy Analyst

Makelle Wininger, Committee Secretary

Note: A copy of related materials and an audio recording of the meeting can be found at www.le.utah.gov.

Chair Eliason called the meeting to order at 8:09 a.m.

MOTION: Rep. Strong moved to approve the minutes for the February 15th, 21st, and 22nd, 2023, meetings.

The motion passed with a vote of 6 - 0 - 7.

Yeas - 6 Nays - 0

Rep. J. Briscoe Rep. K. Christofferson

Rep. K. Christonerson

Rep. S. Eliason

Rep. P. Lyman

Rep. K. Stratton

Rep. M. Strong

<u> Absent - 7</u>

Rep. S. Barlow

Rep. B. Brammer Rep. M. Judkins

Rep. J. Moss

Rep. D. Owens

Rep. C. Snider

Rep. R. Spendlove

1. H.B. 500 County Sales Tax Amendments (Christofferson, K.)

Rep. Christofferson presented the bill.

HB500 Bill Summary

LaNiece Davenport, Planning and Policy Director, Mountainland Association of Governments; spoke in favor of the bill.

Jeff Silvestrini, Mayor, Millcreek City, and President, Utah League of Cities and Towns; spoke in favor of the bill.

Andrew Gruber, Executive Director, Wasatch Front Regional Council; spoke in favor of the bill.

Jeff Acerson, Trustee, Utah Transit Authority; spoke in favor of the bill.

Lincoln Shurtz, Utah Association of Counties; spoke in favor of the bill.

MOTION: Rep. Briscoe moved to replace H.B. 500 with 1st Substitute H.B. 500. The motion passed with a

vote of 7 - 0 - 6.



HOUSE REVENUE AND TAXATION STANDING COMMITTEE DRAFT MINUTES

February 24, 2023

<u>Yeas - 7</u>	Nays - 0	Absent - 6
Rep. S. Barlow	•	Rep. B. Brammer
Rep. J. Briscoe		Rep. M. Judkins
Rep. K. Christofferson		Rep. P. Lyman
Rep. S. Eliason		Rep. J. Moss
Rep. D. Owens		Rep. C. Snider
Rep. K. Stratton		Rep. R. Spendlove
Rep. M. Strong		

MOTION: Rep. Briscoe moved to pass 1st Substitute H.B. 500 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 7 - 0 - 6.

<u>Yeas - 7</u>	<u>Nays - 0</u>	<u> Absent - 6</u>
Rep. S. Barlow	•	Rep. B. Brammer
Rep. J. Briscoe		Rep. M. Judkins
Rep. K. Christofferson		Rep. P. Lyman
Rep. S. Eliason		Rep. J. Moss
Rep. D. Owens		Rep. C. Snider
Rep. K. Stratton		Rep. R. Spendlove
Rep. M. Strong		

2. H.B. 528 Utah Energy Act Amendments (Wilcox, R.)

Rep. Ryan Wilcox presented the bill with the assistance of Harry Hansen, Communications Director, Utah Office of Energy Development.

MOTION: Rep. Strong moved to amend H.B. 528 with Amendment #1. The motion passed with a vote of 6 - 0

- 7.

Amendment 1 H.B. 528

1 h a a m ± - 7

1. Page, Line 400 through Page 14, Line 402:

400 (6) A claimant, estate, or trust {-may not claim-} may not claim or carry forward a tax

401 credit described in Subsection (2) in a taxable year during which the taxpayer claims or carries

402 <u>forward a tax credit under Section 59-10-1106.</u>

2. Page 19, Lines 574 through 576:

574 (11) A claimant, estate, or trust may not claim or carry forward a tax credit described in

575 this section in a taxable year during which the claimant, estate, or trust claims or carries

576 <u>forward a tax credit under Section { 59-7-1029 } 59-10-1029 .</u>

<u> reas - 6</u>	<u>inays - U</u>	<u>Absent - 7</u>
Rep. S. Barlow	•	Rep. B. Brammer
Rep. J. Briscoe		Rep. K. Christofferson
Rep. S. Eliason		Rep. M. Judkins
Rep. D. Owens		Rep. P. Lyman
Rep. K. Stratton		Rep. J. Moss
Rep. M. Strong		Rep. C. Snider
		Rep. R. Spendlove

MOTION: Rep. Strong moved to pass H.B. 528 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 6 - 0 - 7.



HOUSE REVENUE AND TAXATION STANDING COMMITTEE DRAFT MINUTES

February 24, 2023

<u>Yeas - 6</u>	Nays - 0	<u>Absent - 7</u>
Rep. S. Barlow	•	Rep. B. Brammer
Rep. J. Briscoe		Rep. K. Christofferson
Rep. S. Eliason		Rep. M. Judkins
Rep. D. Owens		Rep. P. Lyman
Rep. K. Stratton		Rep. J. Moss
Rep. M. Strong		Rep. C. Snider
		Rep. R. Spendlove

MOTION: Rep. Strong moved to adjourn. The motion passed with a vote of 6 - 0 - 7.

<u>Yeas - 6</u>	Nays - 0	<u> Absent - 7</u>
Rep. S. Barlow	·	Rep. B. Brammer
Rep. J. Briscoe		Rep. K. Christofferson
Rep. S. Eliason		Rep. M. Judkins
Rep. D. Owens		Rep. P. Lyman
Rep. K. Stratton		Rep. J. Moss
Rep. M. Strong		Rep. C. Snider
·		Rep. R. Spendlove

Chair Eliason adjourned the meeting at 8:29 a.m.