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A ground ambulance or paramedic provider is only allowed to charge a fee for transporting a patient when
the patient is actually transported. However, this does not apply to licensed ambulance providers, licensed
paramedic providers, or designated quick response providers responding to a medical assessment in a
geographic service area which contains a town as defined in Utah Code Annotated Title 10-2-301(2)(f).

Pursuant to Utah Code Annotated Title 26B-4-152 and Administrative Rule R426-8-200 the allowable
ambulance rates beginning July 1, 2023 are as follows:

Base Rates
EMT Ground ambulance: $1,090.00 per transport.
Advanced EMT ground ambulance: $1,439.00 per transport.

Advanced ground ambulance (licensed as an EMT-IA ambulance provider prior to June 30, 2016): $1,771.00
per transport.

Paramedic ground ambulance: $2,104.00 per transport.
Paramedic on-board (paramedic not employed by the licensed ambulance provider): $2,104.00.

Mileage Rates

The standard mileage rate is $42.24 per mile or a fraction thereof. In all cases, mileage shall be computed
from the point of pick-up to the point of patient delivery,

Fuel fluctuation rate changes may be granted when diesel fuel exceeds $5.10 per gallon or when gasoline
exceeds $4.25 per gallon as invoiced; a surcharge of $0.25 per mile traveled may be assessed.

An off-road rate may be charged when an ambulance is required to travel for two miles or more on unpaved
roads. A surcharge of $1.50 per mile may be assessed.

Supplies and Medications

A licensed ambulance provider may charge for supplies and for providing supplies, medications, and
administering medications used on any response if (1) supplies and medications are priced fairly and
competitively, (2) the individual does not refuse service, and (3) the licensed personnel for the licensed
ambulance provider assess or treats the individual,
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R426. Health and Human Services, Family Health and Preparedness, Emergency Medical Services.

R426-8. Emergency Medical Services Ground Ambulance Rates and Charges,

R426-8-100. Authority and Purpose.
(1) This rule is established pursuant to Title 26B, Chapter 4, Part 1, Utah Emergency Medical Services System Act.
(2) This rule establishes maximum ambulance rates and charges for Utah licensed ground ambulance providers.

R426-8-200, Ground Ambulance Transportation Revenues, Rates, and Charges.
(1) A licensed ground ambulance provider shall not charge more than the rate described pursuant to Subsections R426-
8-200(6) through (10)
(2) Net income and subsidies for a licensed ground ambulance provider shall not exceed 10% of gross revenue.
(3) A licensed ground ambulance provider may lower a rate at their discretion,
(4) A licensed ground ambulance provider shall not charge a base rate for transportation to a patient who is not
transported.
(5) The Depariment may adjust each rate annually based on financial data received from licensed ground ambulance
providers.
(6) Ground ambulance base rates for patient transport to a hospital or patient receiving facility are as follows:
(a) EMT ground ambulance license level - $1,090 per transport;
v (b} Advanced EMT ground ambulance license level - $1,439 per transport;
B zs€ (¢} Advanced EMT ground ambulance license level, who before June 30, 2016 was licensed as an EMT-IA ground
licensed ambulance provider - $1,771 per transport;
= \_ es (d) Paramedic ground ambulan_ce license level - $2,104 per transport; and
o (e) Any EMT or AEMT level licensed ground ambulance provider with a paramedic on-board - $2,104 per transport if:
(i) adesignated Emergency Medical Service dispatch center dispatches a licensed paramedic provider to treat lhe
individual;
(i1} the licensed paramedic provider has initiated advanced life support;
(iii) online medical control directs that a paramedic remain with the patient during transport; and
(iv) the licensed ground ambulance provider has a reimbursement for paramedic services agreement with a paramedic
licensed provider for the service provided.
) (7) A mileage rate may be charged up to a maximum of $42.24 per mile computed from the location of the patient
\ upon ambulance artival to the destination hospital or patient receiving facility. A fuel fluctuation surcharge of $0.25 per mile
may be added when the diesel fuel price exceeds $5.10 per gallon, or the gasoline price exceeds $4.25 per gallon as invoiced.
(8) A surcharge of $1.50 per mile may be assessed if an ambulance is required to travel two or more miles on unpaved
roads.
(9) If more than one patient is transported from the location of the patients to the same destination hospital or patient
receiving facility, a charge shall be assessed to each patient as follows:
(a) The transportation base rate; and
(b) the mileage rate divided equally between the total number of patients.
(10) A licensed ground ambulance provider may charge separately for a round trip if the following conditions apply:
() no charge is billed to the patient for at least 30 minutes at the hospital or a patient receiving facility at the halfway
point of the trip; and
(b) no more than $22.05 per quarter hour is charged for time over 30 minutes.
{(I1) A Licensed ground ambulance provider may charge for supplies, providing supplies, medications, and
. \i¢5 )administering medications on a response if:
_(7 "'?? (a) supplies are priced fairly and competitively with a similar product in the local area;
(b) the individual does not refuse the service; and
(c) the licensed ground ambulance personnel assess or treats the individual,
(12) A licensed ground ambulance provider may petition the Department for a temporary service-specific surcharge
when there is a temporary escalation of costs. The petition shall specify the surcharge amount and financial justification. The
Department will make a final decision on the proposed surcharge within 30 days of receipt of the petition.
(13) A licensed ground ambulance provider shall submit a fiscal report in accordance with the instructions, guidelines,
and review criteria as specified by the Department.
(a) A fiscal report shall be submitted within six months of the end of their fiscal year.
(b) The Department shall provide guidance and a template for a fiscal report. Guidance will be posted on the
Department's website.
(¢) The Department shall provide a summary of fiscal reports to the EMS Committee before adjusting a maximum
‘ base rate for a licensed ground ambulance provider.
i (14) The Department may review a licensed ground ambulance provider's fiscal report for compliance. The
Department may perform financial audits to ensure compliance to reporting requirements.
(15) Each licensed ground ambulance provider shall submit a written total number of billed patient transports for each
calendar year to the Department for calculating Medicaid assessments.
(2} A written patient transport number shall be submitted within 90 days after the end of the calendar year,
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Effective 5/3/2023

Superseded 7/1/2024

26B-4-150 State regulation of emergency medical services market -- License term.

(1) To ensure emergency medical service quality and minimize unnecessary duplication, the
department shall regulate the emergency medical services market by creating and operating a
statewide system that:

(a) consists of exclusive geographic service areas as provided in Section 26B-4-151; and
(b) establishes maximum rates as provided in Section 26B-4-152.

(2) A license issued or renewed under Sections 26B-4-150 through 26B-4-170 is valid for four

years.

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 307, 2023 General Session

Page 1
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Effective 5/3/2023

Superseded 7/1/2024

26B-4-151 Exclusive geographic service areas.

(1) Each ground ambulance provider license issued under Sections 26B-4-150 through 26B-4-170
shall be for an exclusive geographic service area as described in the license. Only the licensed
ground ambulance provider may respond to an ambulance request that originates within the
provider's exclusive geographic service area, except as provided in Subsection (5) and Section
26B-4-170.

(2) Each paramedic provider license issued under Sections 26B-4-150 through 26B-4-170 shall
be for an exclusive geographic service area as described in the license. Only the licensed
paramedic provider may respond to a paramedic request that originates within the exclusive
geographic service area, except as provided in Subsection (6) and Section 26B-4-170.

(3) Nothing in this section may be construed as either requiring or prohibiting that the formation of
boundaries in a given location be the same for a licensed paramedic provider and a licensed
ambulance provider.

(4)

(a) A licensed ground ambulance or paramedic provider may, as necessary, enter into a mutual
aid agreement to allow another licensed provider to give assistance in times of unusual
demand, as that term is defined by the committee in rule.

(b) A mutual aid agreement shall include a formal written plan detailing the type of assistance
and the circumstances under which it would be given.

(c) The parties to a mutual aid agreement shall submit a copy of the agreement to the
department.

(d) Notwithstanding this Subsection (4), a licensed provider may not subcontract with another
entity to provide services in the licensed provider's exclusive geographic service area.

(5) Notwithstanding Subsection (1), a licensed ground ambulance provider may respond to an
ambulance request that originates from the exclusive geographic area of another provider:

(a) pursuant to a mutual aid agreement;

(b) to render assistance on a case-by-case basis to that provider; and

(c) as necessary to meet needs in time of disaster or other major emergency.

(6) Notwithstanding Subsection (2), a licensed paramedic provider may respond to a paramedic
request that originates from the exclusive geographic area of another provider:

(a) pursuant to a mutual aid agreement;

(b) to render assistance on a case-by-case basis to that provider; and

(c) as necessary to meet needs in time of disaster or other major emergency.

(7) The department may, upon the renewal of a license, align the boundaries of an exclusive
geographic area with the boundaries of a political subdivision:

(a) if the alignment is practical and in the public interest;

(b) if each licensed provider that would be affected by the alignment agrees to the alignment; and

(c) taking into consideration the requirements of:

(i) Section 11-48-103; and
(ii) Section 26B-4-162.

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 307, 2023 General Session
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Effeive 5/3/2023

SupPseded 7/1/2024

2634152 Establishment of maximum rates.

(1) “Tedepartment shall, after receiving recommendations under Subsection (2), establish
rrxirmum rates for ground ambulance providers and paramedic providers that are just and
résonable.

(2) Tk committee may make recommendations to the department on the maximum rates that
shuld be set under Subsection (1).

(3)

(a) he department shall prohibit ground ambulance providers and paramedic providers from
harging fees for transporting a patient when the provider does not transport the patient.

(b) he provisions of Subsection (3)(a) do not apply to ambulance providers or paramedic
fowviders in a geographic service area which contains a town as defined in Subsection
0-2-301(2)(f).

Renumbered and Amended by Chapter 307, 2023 General Session
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