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Comparing Utah’s Policies to Other States 
Utah’s retirement systems have fewer restrictions for returning to work than many other 
retirement systems but require a longer separation period than systems with similar restrictions. 

The following summary of other states’ post-retirement reemployment policies is based on a 
compilation of retirement systems produced by the National Association of State Retirement 
Administrators (NASRA).1 This summary compares Utah’s policies to other retirement systems 
on two points:  

1. Reemployment Restrictions - whether the system allows a retiree to return to 
full-time employment while collecting a retirement allowance. 

2. Separation Periods - the length of the required time between retirement and 
reemployment. 

Utah allows full reemployment after a one-year separation but imposes certain employment 
restrictions after a 60-day separation. 

Reemployment Restrictions 

53 percent of retirement systems prohibit retirees from returning full-time after a separation 
period while collecting a retirement allowance. These systems place limits on annual hours 
worked, annual earnings, or, less commonly, the length of the reemployment period. Such 
limits are similar to the reemployment restriction exception under Utah Code 49-11-1205 for 
retirees who return after a 60-day separation period. This exception allows the retiree to 
continue to collect a retirement allowance if the retiree earns no more than the lesser of 50% of 
the retiree’s final average salary or $19,5042. 

Separation Periods 

Utah’s one-year separation period is longer than 82 percent of retirement systems that allow 
retirees to return full-time while collecting an allowance. As shown in the table below, 
separation periods vary but most systems require between 2 and 6 months. 

Separation Period Number of Retirement 
Systems 

States Represented 

Less than 1 Month 5 CO, LA, ND*, PA, TX* 
1 month 8 GA, IN, ME, MN, MO, TX*, VA, WY 

2 to 5 months 10 KY, NM, NE, OH, SD, TX* 
6 months 7 AR, FL, HI, KA, NJ, OR 

1 year 7 AZ, MD, ND*, OK, TX*, UT 
*States with multiple retirement systems that have different separation periods  

 
1 NASRA’s compilation includes 81 public retirement systems representing all 50 states and Puerto Rico. 
In some cases, post-retirement reemployment restrictions vary among different systems within a state.  
2 Each year, the Utah State Retirement Board adjusts this number by the annual change in the Consumer 
Price Index.  

https://www.nasra.org/returntowork
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title49/Chapter11/49-11-S1205.html?v=C49-11-S1205_2021050520210701
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Recent Legislative Changes 
While some states have recently enacted legislation loosening post-retirement reemployment 
restrictions, the changes do not apply to all retirees. The examples below are similar to 
legislation proposed in Utah during the 2021, 2022, and 2023 general sessions that would 
impact retirees from certain types of jobs or those who retire before a specific date. 

Tennessee HB 706, effective July 1, 2023, reduces the separation period from nine months to 
two months for law enforcement officers who return to work with a participating employer while 
collecting a retirement allowance. (sunsets July 1, 2026) 

Washington HB 1056, effective January 1, 2024, allows public employee and teacher retirees 
from specified retirement systems to return to work with a participating employer. These 
retirees may work up to 867 hours per year while collecting a retirement allowance.  

Alabama HB 41, effective September 1, 2023, allows retired law enforcement officers to return 
to work as school resource officers or correctional officers. The bill also allows retired 
correctional officers to return to work as correctional officers. These reemployed retirees may 
earn up to $52,000 per year while collecting a retirement allowance. (sunsets December 31, 
2026) 

Idaho HB 555, effective April 1, 2022, allows retirees who retired before January 1, 2022 to 
return to work while receiving a retirement allowance with no hourly or monthly restriction. 
(sunsets June 30, 2026) 

https://le.utah.gov/interim/2023/pdf/00003038.pdf
https://nam12.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.capitol.tn.gov%2FBills%2F113%2FFiscal%2FSB0606.pdf&data=05%7C01%7Csflanigan%40le.utah.gov%7Cf88440b006e642d6771908dba973a47b%7Caa13953832ab4071953f2070ac88bcfe%7C0%7C0%7C638290087436746215%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C3000%7C%7C%7C&sdata=lypOyiyS8FDpy2gb5id%2Fo34ZJfWfp5bp4sdmgYNAVYk%3D&reserved=0
https://nam12.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fapp.leg.wa.gov%2Fbillsummary%3FYear%3D2023%26BillNumber%3D1056&data=05%7C01%7Csflanigan%40le.utah.gov%7Cf88440b006e642d6771908dba973a47b%7Caa13953832ab4071953f2070ac88bcfe%7C0%7C0%7C638290087436746215%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C3000%7C%7C%7C&sdata=rMBkbs%2FOYDNGbvbQNQnYldkhS0uzT9Of0%2BAwfOlc21E%3D&reserved=0
https://legiscan.com/AL/text/HB41/2023
https://legislature.idaho.gov/wp-content/uploads/sessioninfo/2022/legislation/H0555.pdf
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