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2018 Senate Joint Resolution 006

“This concurrent resolution of the Legislature and the governor encourages the Utah

Department of Health to convene a multi-stakeholder Pediatric and Trauma Quality

Assurance Network to advise the department on triage, transport, transfer, and

treatment of ill and injured pediatric patients in Utah”.



Public – Private Partnership

Finalized February 2019



The vision of the Utah Pediatric Trauma Network is to establish a Statewide

network, inclusive of all regions and hospitals in Utah. The Network will

collectively implement injury prevention initiatives, evidence-based best

practices, and transfer guidelines to improve outcomes for the pediatric

victims of trauma, and to decrease the financial and personal cost to the
citizens and families of the State of Utah.



UPTN Creation and Development



UPTN Hospital REDCap® Participation

100% Participation



# Cases by Quarter in UPTN REDCap ® Database 



Admissions for low severity TBI at non-Pediatric Hospitals



2019 2020 2021 2022

N 40 (9%) 139 (32%) 115 (26%) 137 (32%) 

Median age (years) 15.7 (9.7, 16.9) 9.6 (3.2, 15.8) 8.6 (3.4, 15.2) 9.4 (3.5, 14.6)

Children < 14 years 15 (38%) 92 (66%) 79 (69%) 75 (55%)

UPTN TBI Admission Study

Kids with mild TBI admitted to local non-pediatric hospitals



UPTN works!

More kids with mild TBI can safely 

stay closer to home without transfer



Hemodynamically 
stable ?

PCH/St. Vincent - Pediatric Telehealth Trauma Request - Clinical Guidelines 2020 Pediatric Abdominal Injury Clinical Guideline
Isolated Blunt Abdominal Injury

PED Age > 5 years
Torso ecchymosis, bruising; seat belt sign
Abdominal pain; tenderness
Abdominal distention; rigidity
Emesis
*Concerning mechanism

CT of abdomen w/ IV 
contrast

Transfer to 
PED1 

ANY of the following
• Free air
• Pancreas injury
• Hollow organ injury
• Solid organ injury Grade > 3

YES

Admit

Consider 
discharge 

This algorithm does not replace clinical judgment and 

is not intended to be prescriptive for all patients.

Start

ANY of the following
• CT negative with symptoms
• Solid organ injury Grade 1 or 2

ALL of the following
• Asymptomatic for > 2 hours
• Passed oral challenge without 

antiemetics
• Age-appropriate ambulation
• CT negative

YES

YES

YES

NO

Age < 5 years
Torso ecchymosis, bruising; seat belt sign
Abdominal pain; tenderness
Abdominal distention; rigidity
Emesis
*Concerning mechanism

Transfer to 
PED1 

If hemodynamically unstable
NS 20 mL/kg

If hemodynamics not improved
10-20 mL/kg PRBC

Repeat transfusion as needed and continue during transport
Expeditious transfer

*Concerning mechanism
Fall > 10 feet
High speed motor vehicle crash
Auto versus pedestrian
Ejection from vehicle
Physical Abuse

If symptoms persist
> 24 hrs post admission

PCH/St. Vincent - Pediatric Telehealth Trauma Request - Clinical Guidelines 
2021 Pediatric Burn Treatment Clinical Guideline

YES

Start
Isolated thermal injury without 
trauma or impending airway 
obstruction to be transported 
directly to Burn Center

YES NO

Patient palmer surface = 1% (Includes Fingers)

Does patient meet American Burn Association 
Referral Criteria? 

• >10% TBSA
• Burns over any joint, face, perineum, 

hands, or feet
• 3rd degree injury of any size
• Pre-existing medical conditions
• Electrical / Chemical injuries
• Inhalation injury
• Burn injury along with trauma 
• Circumferential injury

While awaiting transfer assess and 
initiate fluid resuscitation 

(see below**)

Primary Survey 
Additional Burn Considerations 

Does patient have Airway involvement?
• Burns to face and neck
• Circumferential torso burn
• Burned while in a closed space
• Hoarse voice, Hypoxia, stridor
• Burns > 20% TBSA can cause edema 

formation, regardless of area

• Consider intubation* and 
NG insertion

• Do not give steroids

Initiate 100% FiO2

Initiate Fluids/Trauma Labs/Foley Catheter
• Start Initial Fluid Rate if burns are > 10% TBSA**
• Remove all clothing and jewelry
• Maintain normothermia (mylar blanket, warm blanket, warm fluids)
• Elevate burned extremities and ensure adequate pulses with doppler if needed
• Pain control - providers should stay within their pediatric dose protocols. 
• Check tetanus status
• Non-trauma burn patients will not receive a fluid bolus
• After secondary survey and %TBSA is determined, set to resuscitation fluid rate

**Initial Fluid Rate - LR 
< 5 years : 125ml/hr.
6-13 years : 250ml/hr.
> 14 years: 500 ml/hr.

Resuscitation Fluid Rate – LR
- 3 ml LR x weight in Kg x % TBSA burn 
- Give ½  the fluid in the first 8 hours 
- Calculate the hourly rate by dividing by 8 
For patients < 30 kg add maintenance fluid rate
-D5LR using 4/2/1 rule.
*Burn Center will assist with fluid resuscitation 
calculations 

*Upper airway edema 
may make intubation 
difficult as symptoms 

progress
*Secure the ETT with ties
passed around the head; 
do not use tape as it will 
not stick to burned tissue

• Clean burn with soap and water
• Apply appropriate topical, non-stick layer and 

gauze dressing
(See attached material for dressing information)

Does patient meet discharge criteria? 
• Normal mental status
• Resolving or minor symptoms
• Tolerating oral intake
• Dependable social support
• No suspicion of abuse of neglect
• Available caregiver to perform wound 

care 

Consider Discharge
• Use the “UofU MedPic” app to share 

HIPAA compliant photos and contact 
information

• Teach caregiver how to do wound care 
• Provide enough supplies until clinic appt 
• Provide prescription for pain medication

Burn OP Clinic  (801) 581-3050 
Hours- M-F 8am-5pm 

This algorithm does not replace 

clinical judgment and is not intended 

to be prescriptive for all patients.

NO

YES

NO

- All scene flights  
- Referral for trauma patient 

who has not undergone a 
complete trauma 
evaluation

YES

Transfer to PED1 

YES

Transfer to UUH 
Burn Center

Call: (801) 587-8980
Use the “UofU MedPic” app to 
share HIPAA compliant photos 

and contact information

PED

UPTN Clinical Guidelines

PCH/St. Vincent - Pediatric Telehealth Trauma Request - Clinical Guidelines 

History*
• Child or parent report persistent neck pain, abnormal head 

posture, or difficulty with neck movement
• Hospital of focal sensory abnormality or motor deficit
Physical Exam
• Torticollis/ abnormal head position
• Posterior midline neck tenderness
• Limited cervical range of motion
• Not able to maintain focus due to other injuries
• Visible known substantial injury to chest, abdomen or pelvis**

2020 Pediatric Cervical Spine Clinical Guideline
Blunt Mechanism

NO

Plain radiograph#

(lateral view 
minimum)

Transfer to 
PED1 

YES

This algorithm does not replace clinical judgment and 

is not intended to be prescriptive for all patients.

Start

“YES” to ANY? “NO” to all?
Clear c-spine

GCS < 13 GCS 14-15

Normal Abnormal Transfer to 
PED1 

Physical exam 
findings resolved?

YES
Clear c-spine

NO *Stronger consideration for imaging should be given toward patients with the 
following mechanisms of injury: diving, axial load, clothes-lining and high risk MVC 
(head-on collision, rollover, ejected from the vehicle, death in the same crash, or 
speed > 55 mph)

** Substantial injury is defined as an observable injury that is life-threatening, 
warrants surgical intervention or warrants inpatient observation

# All imaging should be read by an attending physician 

Transfer to 
PED1 

PCH/St. Vincent - Pediatric Telehealth Trauma Request - Clinical Guidelines 2020 Pediatric Trauma 
Criteria for Expedited Transport 

• GCS < 10;  or GCS motor score of < 4; or AVPU score of “P”
• Environmental hypothermia and core temp < 30  with or without a pulse
• Hypotension1 for age with blunt trauma
• Pulseless extremity or hemorrhage of an extremity requiring tourniquet placement

Age < 14 years?
Expedite 

transport to 
ADOL1 or PED1 

YES to ANY?

YES NO

This algorithm does not replace clinical judgment and is not intended to be 

prescriptive for all patients.

Start

Expedite 
transport to 

PED1 

1 
Hypotension by Age

AGE Systolic Blood Pressure

< 1 month < 60

1 month - < 2 years < 70

2 years - 10 years <70 + 2X age in years

> 10 years <90

PCH/St. Vincent - Pediatric Telehealth Trauma Request - Clinical Guidelines 
2020  Identification of Child Physical Abuse

Clinical Guideline

Transfer to 
PED1 

Soft Tissue Injury

This algorithm does not replace clinical judgment and 

is not intended to be prescriptive for all patients.

Injury to

Frenulum, Angle of jaw, 

Cheek, Eyelid, Sclera

Fractures

“Red Flag” Indicators
➢ The child is non-ambulatory with 

fractures or bruises
➢ Injury inconsistent with child’s 

developmental level
➢ Injury is inconsistent with the 

history given
➢ Changing history over time
➢ Lack of history
➢ Unwitnessed injury
➢ Injury is attributed to the child’s 

siblings or pets
➢ Delay seeking medical care

High specificity for abuse
• Classic metaphyseal lesions
• Rib fractures, especially 

posterior
• Scapular fractures
• Spinous processes fractures
• Sternal fractures

Moderate specificity for abuse
• Multiple, bilateral, symmetric
• Fractures of different ages
• Complex skull fractures
• Digital fractures
• Associated non-skeletal injury
• Fracture in a non-mobile child

OR

Head Trauma

➢ Irritability in an infant
➢ Vomiting
➢ Altered breathing pattern; 

labored, irregular, apneic
➢ Seizures
➢ Altered level of consciousness
➢ Changes in tone in an infant
➢ Cardio-respiratory compromise
➢ Abnormal neurological exam

Red Flag Indicators

< 4 months of age 
AND 

any bruise

< 4 years of age 

AND
bruises of:

Torso, Ears, Neck 

Suspicion of inflicted injury? 

Report to Child Protective Services

Patterned injury

PCH/St. Vincent - Pediatric Telehealth Trauma Request - Clinical Guidelines 
2020 Pediatric Blunt Chest Injury Guideline

PED

This algorithm does not replace clinical judgment and 

is not intended to be prescriptive for all patients.

Abn respiratory rate
SpO2 < 90
Chest wall tenderness
Chest wall crepitus
Abn breath sounds 
Dyspnea 
Chest pain 
Seat belt sign
Ecchymosis 
Bruising of thorax
Trauma team activation

YES to 
any?

AP Chest 
Xray

Widened mediastinum
Bilateral rib fractures
Hemothorax
Ruptured diaphragm
Tracheal injury
Unresolved 
pneumothorax              
(despite chest tube)

Chest CT 
with IV 
contrast

YES to 
any?

Transfer to 
PED1 

Manage potential or 
recognized airway 
obstruction

Support ventilation 
and  oxygenation as 
required

Treat significant 
pneumothorax 
and/or hemothorax

YES

NO

Normal ?
Symptoms 
Resolved ?

NO

Consider 
discharge 

YES

Transfer to 
PED1 or PED+

Do NOT delay 
transport to obtain CT

PCH/St. Vincent - Pediatric Telehealth Trauma Request - Clinical Guidelines 2022 Identification and Treatment of Pediatric Pelvic Fracture
Clinical Guideline

This algorithm does not 

replace clinical judgment 

and is not intended to be 

prescriptive for all patients.

< 15 yrs. 
➢ Severe mechanism of 

injury
➢ inability to bear 

weight
➢ Pelvis asymmetry
➢ Limb length 

shortening
➢ Limb rotation
➢ Open wound in pelvic 

area
➢ *Bruising/laceration 

of buttocks, perineal, 
scrotal regions

➢ *Blood from meatus, 
vagina or rectum

Transfer to 
PED1 

Hemodynamically
Stable

Don’t delay transport to 
obtain CT

CT scan abd/pelvis 
with IV contrast, no 
delays

Patient meets all 
criteria following 

observation?
• Normal mental 

status
• Resolving or minor 

symptoms
• Tolerating oral 

intake
• Dependable social 

support
• No abuse or 

neglect

*Discharge
with follow-
up with peds 

ortho in 2 
weeks. 

Start

NO

YES

Apply pelvic binder or sheet 
over the greater trochanters 

of the femur 

While awaiting transfer, 
important to assess and 

initiate resuscitation

➢ Fluid resuscitation
➢ Packed RBCs if 

indicated
➢ Assess for other causes 

of bleeding

PED

Concerning 
mechanism
• Fall > 10 feet
• High speed 

motor 
vehicle crash

• Auto versus 
pedestrian

• Ejection from 
vehicle

• Physical 
Abuse

FX of pelvis (displaced or 
nondisplaced)

• Avulsion fracture
• Single break in pelvic 

ring, non-articular and 
non-displaced

AP pelvis 
confirms 
pelvic 
fracture

YES

Transfer to PED+ 
or PED1

NO

FX of pelvic ring (displaced 
or nondisplaced)

• Multiple breaks in 
pelvic ring or any 
displaced break in 
pelvic ring

Transfer to PED1

YES

NO
Admit*Consider transfer for Peds 

Urology or Peds Surgery 
consult/treatment

*For centers without peds 
ortho consider PED1 follow-

up. Call 801-662-5600 for 
appointment

Mobilize and Observe
• Able to mobilize
• Able to tolerate pain

If symptoms persist
> 24 hrs. post 
admission consider 
transfer to PED+ or 
PED1



Telehealth consults NOT transferred to PED1



UPTN Mobile App





Increasing UPTN Annual Support

Data Analyst

(1 FTE)

Data 

Registrars

(3 FTE)

Administrative 
Assistant

Operational 
costs

Annual 
Conference

Total Annual 

Funding 
Increase

$  125,000.00 $  180,000.00 $  20,000.00 $  30,000.00 $  10,000.00 $ 365,000

UPTN Program Support

General Fund = $278,000

State Medicaid Plan = $  87,000





“Right Sizing” Pediatric Trauma Care

➢Right care

➢Right place

➢Right time



Thank You!

stephen.fenton@hsc.utah.edu

(210) 315-0233

matthew.eyre@imail.org

(801) 787-4184

katie.Russell@hsc.utah.edu

(801) 557-6295

mailto:tephen.fenton@hsc.utah.edu
mailto:matthew.eyre@imail.org


Cost savings to the State

Assuming 350 patients/year with low acuity traumatic brain injury can avoid
transfer to PCH

Average hospital charge < 24 hours $2,650
Average ED charge for < 4 hours $900
Average hospital charge 24 – 48 hours $3,860
Average air transport (+50 miles) $30,950
Average ground transport (+ 50 miles) $3,245

30% are Medicaid or no pay
2/3 are commercial insurance

If 25% (88 kids) transferred by air (median 50 miles) $2,723,600
If 75% (262 kids) transferred by ground (median 50 miles) $850,190

If 30% (105 kids) are discharged from the ED $94,500
If 70% (245 kids) are admitted from the ED $220,500

If 85% (208 kids) are admitted < 24 hours $551,200
If 15% (37 kids) are admitted 24 – 48 hours $142,820

Total charges $4,582,810
Total savings for Utah Medicaid (30%) $1,374,843

Traumatic Brain Injury

Cervical spine injury

Thoracolumbar spine injury

Blunt chest injury

Abdominal Solid Organ Injury

Pelvic injury

Orthopedic injuries

Maxiollofacial injuries

In-patient pediatric trauma care
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