

Monday, January 22, 2024 2:00 p.m. 445 State Capitol

Members Present:

Rep. Steve Eliason, Chair

Rep. Bridger Bolinder, Vice Chair

Rep. Stewart E. Barlow

Rep. Joel K. Briscoe

Rep. Kay J. Christofferson

Rep. Jason B. Kyle

Rep. Phil Lyman

Rep. Doug Owens

Rep. Casey Snider

Rep. Robert M. Spendlove Rep. Keven J. Stratton

Rep. Mark A. Strong

Members Absent:

Rep. Jefferson Moss

Staff Present:

Chris Stitt, Policy Analyst

Reese Boardman, Committee Secretary

Note: A copy of related materials and an audio recording of the meeting can be found at www.le.utah.gov.

Vice Chair Bolinder called the meeting to order at 2:02 p.m. of January 22, 2024.

Rep. Kyle moved to approve the January 19, 2023 minutes. The motion passed with a vote of 10 -0 - 3.

Yeas - 10

MOTION:

Rep. S. Barlow

Rep. B. Bolinder

Rep. J. Briscoe

Rep. K. Christofferson

Rep. S. Eliason

Rep. J. Kyle

Rep. P. Lyman

Rep. R. Spendlove

Rep. K. Stratton

Rep. M. Strong

Navs - 0 Absent - 3

Rep. J. Moss

Rep. D. Owens

Rep. C. Snider

1. S.B. 12 Property Tax Deferral Amendments (Fillmore, L.)

Rep. Fillmore presented the bill.

MOTION: Chair Eliason moved to pass S.B. 12 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 10 - 0 - 3.

<u>Yeas - 10</u> Rep. S. Barlow Rep. B. Bolinder

Navs - 0

Absent - 3

Rep. J. Moss

Rep. D. Owens

Rep. C. Snider

Rep. K. Christofferson

Rep. S. Eliason

Rep. J. Briscoe

Rep. J. Kyle

Rep. P. Lyman

Rep. R. Spendlove

Rep. K. Stratton

Rep. M. Strong

2. S.B. 21 State Tax Commission Public Meeting Requirements (McCay, D.)

Sen. McCay presented the bill.

MOTION:

Rep. Lyman moved to pass S.B. 21 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 11 - 0 - 2.

Yeas - 11

Nays - 0

Absent - 2

Rep. S. Barlow Rep. B. Bolinder

Rep. J. Moss Rep. C. Snider

Rep. J. Briscoe

Rep. K. Christofferson

Rep. S. Eliason

Rep. J. Kyle

Rep. P. Lyman

Rep. D. Owens

Rep. R. Spendlove

Rep. K. Stratton

Rep. M. Strong

3. S.B. 38 Property Tax Appeals Modifications (McCay, D.)

Sen. McCay presented the bill.

MOTION:

Chair Eliason moved to amend S.B. 38 with Amendment #1. The motion passed with a vote of 12 -

0 - 1.

Amendment 1

S.B. 38

Page 3, Lines 61 through 64:

61 (4) If the final and unappealable judgment or order described in Subsection (1) results

62 from an objection to the commission's assessment of property to which the county is a party

under Section 59-2-1007, any expenses incurred by the county in connection with the objection

shall be apportioned { equally } proportionally among each taxing entity located within the county.

Yeas - 12

Nays - 0

Absent - 1 Rep. J. Moss

Rep. S. Barlow Rep. B. Bolinder

Rep. J. Briscoe

Rep. K. Christofferson

Rep. S. Eliason

Rep. J. Kyle

Rep. P. Lyman

Rep. D. Ówens

Rep. C. Snider

Rep. R. Spendlove

Rep. K. Stratton

Rep. M. Strong

MOTION: Chair Eliason moved to pass S.B. 38 out favorably. After further committee discussion Chair Eliason

said motion to reconsider and then withdrew his motion to reconsider.

Rep. Stratton moved to amend Amendment #1 that previously passed by inserting proportionately MOTION:

for equally, and those changes are represented in Amendment #2. The motion passed with a vote

of 12 - 0 - 1.

Amendment 2 S.B. 38

Page 3, Line 64:

shall be apportioned { equally } proportionately among each taxing entity located within the county.

Yeas - 12

Nays - 0

Absent - 1 Rep. J. Moss

Rep. S. Barlow

Rep. B. Bolinder

Rep. J. Briscoe

Rep. K. Christofferson

Rep. S. Eliason

Rep. J. Kyle

Rep. P. Lyman

Rep. D. Owens

Rep. C. Snider

Rep. R. Spendlove

Rep. K. Stratton

Rep. M. Strong

MOTION:

Chair Eliason moved to pass S.B. 38 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 12 - 0 - 1.

Yeas - 12

Rep. S. Barlow

Rep. B. Bolinder

Rep. J. Briscoe

Rep. K. Christofferson

Rep. S. Eliason

Rep. J. Kyle

Rep. P. Lyman

Rep. D. Owens

Rep. C. Snider

Rep. R. Spendlove

Rep. K. Stratton

Rep. M. Strong

<u>Nays - 0</u>

Absent - 1 Rep. J. Moss

4. S.B. 29 Truth in Taxation Modifications (Wilson, C.)

Sen. Wilson presented the bill.

John Valentine, Commissioner, State Tax Commission, spoke to the bill.

Rusty Cannon, Utah Taxpayers Association, spoke in favor of the bill.

MOTION:

Rep. Stratton moved to replace S.B. 29 with 1st Substitute S.B. 29. The motion passed with a vote of 12 - 0 - 1.

Yeas - 12

Nays - 0

Absent - 1 Rep. J. Moss

Rep. S. Barlow

Rep. B. Bolinder

Rep. J. Briscoe

Rep. K. Christofferson

Rep. S. Eliason

Rep. J. Kyle

Rep. P. Lyman

Rep. D. Owens

Rep. C. Snider

Rep. R. Spendlove

Rep. K. Stratton

Rep. M. Strong

MOTION: Rep. Stratton moved to pass 1st Substitute S.B. 29 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of

12 - 0 - 1.

Absent - 1

Rep. J. Moss



Yeas - 12 Nays - 0 Rep. S. Barlow

Rep. B. Bolinder

Rep. J. Briscoe

Rep. K. Christofferson

Rep. S. Eliason

Rep. J. Kyle

Rep. P. Lyman

Rep. D. Ówens

Rep. C. Snider

Rep. R. Spendlove

Rep. K. Stratton

Rep. M. Strong

MOTION:

Rep. Snider moved to adjourn. The motion passed with a vote of 12 - 0 - 1.

Yeas - 12 Absent - 1 Nays - 0 Rep. S. Barlow Rep. J. Moss

Rep. B. Bolinder

Rep. J. Briscoe

Rep. K. Christofferson

Rep. S. Eliason

Rep. J. Kyle

Rep. P. Lyman Rep. D. Owens Rep. C. Snider

Rep. R. Spendlove

Rep. K. Stratton

Rep. M. Strong

Vice Chair Bolinder adjourned the meeting at 2:34 p.m.