

# HOUSE REVENUE AND TAXATION STANDING COMMITTEE

Thursday, January 25, 2024 2:00 p.m. 445 State Capitol

#### **Members Present:**

Rep. Steve Eliason, Chair

Rep. Bridger Bolinder, Vice Chair

Rep. Stewart E. Barlow

Rep. Joel K. Briscoe

Rep. Kay J. Christofferson

Rep. Jason B. Kyle

Rep. Phil Lyman

Rep. Doug Owens

Rep. Casey Snider

Rep. Keven J. Stratton Rep. Mark A. Strong

### **Members Absent:**

Rep. Jefferson Moss

Rep. Robert M. Spendlove

#### **Staff Present:**

Chris Stitt, Policy Analyst

Reese Boardman, Committee Secretary

Note: A copy of related materials and an audio recording of the meeting can be found at www.le.utah.gov.

Chair Eliason called the meeting to order at 2:16 p.m. of January 25, 2024.

MOTION: Rep. Barlow moved to approve the January 22, 2024 minutes. The motion passed with a vote of 8 -

0 - 5.

<u> Yeas - 8</u>

Rep. S. Barlow

Rep. B. Bolinder

Rep. K. Christofferson

Rep. S. Eliason

Rep. J. Kyle

Rep. P. Lyman

Rep. D. Owens

Rep. K. Stratton

Nays - 0 Absent - 5

Rep. J. Briscoe

Rep. J. Moss

Rep. C. Snider

Rep. R. Spendlove

Rep. M. Strong

#### 1. H.B. 288 Rollback Tax Amendments (Kyle, J)

Rep. Kyle presented the bill.

John Ulibarri, Assessor, Weber County, spoke in favor of the bill.

Chris Stravos, Assessor, Salt Lake County, spoke in favor of the bill.

Terry Camp, Vice President Public Policy, Utah Farm Bureau Federation, spoke to the bill.

Craig Buttars, Commissioner, Utah Department of Agriculture and Food, spoke to the bill.

Sierra Nelson, Utah Wool Growers Association, spoke in opposition to the bill.

Lincoln Schurtz, Lobbyist, spoke in favor of the bill.

Craig Buttars, Commissioner, Utah Department of Agriculture and Food, spoke to the bill.

MOTION: Rep. Stratton moved to replace H.B. 288 with 1st Substitute H.B. 288. The motion passed with a

vote of 11 - 0 - 2.

Nays - 0

Navs - 0



Yeas - 11

Rep. S. Barlow

Rep. B. Bolinder

Rep. J. Briscoe

Rep. K. Christofferson

Rep. S. Eliason

Rep. J. Kyle

Rep. P. Lyman

Rep. D. Owens

Rep. C. Snider

Rep. K. Stratton

Rep. M. Strong

MOTION:

Rep. Snider moved to hold 1st Substitute H.B. 288. The motion passed with a vote of 11 - 0 - 2.

Absent - 2

Absent - 2 Rep. J. Moss

Absent - 2 Rep. J. Moss

Rep. R. Spendlove

Rep. R. Spendlove

Rep. J. Moss Rep. R. Spendlove

Yeas - 11

Rep. S. Barlow

Rep. B. Bolinder

Rep. J. Briscoe

Rep. K. Christofferson

Rep. S. Eliason

Rep. J. Kyle

Rep. P. Lyman

Rep. D. Owens

Rep. C. Snider

Rep. K. Stratton

Rep. M. Strong

SUBSTITUTE

Rep. Lyman moved to pass 1st Substitute H.B. 288 out favorably. The substitute motion failed with

a vote of 4 - 7 - 2. MOTION:

Yeas - 4

Nays - 7 Rep. J. Briscoe Rep. S. Barlow Rep. J. Kyle Rep. B. Bolinder

Rep. P. Lyman Rep. K. Christofferson

Rep. K. Stratton Rep. S. Eliason

Rep. D. Owens Rep. C. Snider Rep. M. Strong

## 2. H.B. 270 Multicounty Appraisal Trust Modifications (Dailey-Provost, J.)

Rep. Dailey-Provost with assistance from Amelia Powers Gardner, Commissioner, Utah County

Ashleigh Jensen, Policy Analyst, Unified Economic Opportunity Commission, spoke in favor of the bill.

John Ulibarri, Assessor, Weber County spoke in favor of the bill.

Rusty Cannon, Utah Tax Payer Commission, spoke to the bill.

David Whitehead, Treasurer, Washington County, spoke in opposition to the bill.

Brandy Grace, Utah Association of Counties, spoke in favor of the bill.

John Ulibarri, Assessor, Weber County spoke in favor of the bill.

MOTION:

Vice Chair Bolinder moved to replace H.B. 270 with 1st Substitute H.B. 270. The motion passed with a vote of 11 - 0 - 2.

Yeas - 11

Navs - 0

Absent - 2 Rep. J. Moss Rep. R. Spendlove

Rep. S. Barlow Rep. B. Bolinder Rep. J. Briscoe

Rep. K. Christofferson

Rep. S. Eliason

Rep. J. Kyle

Rep. P. Lyman

Rep. D. Ówens

Rep. C. Snider

Rep. K. Stratton Rep. M. Strong

MOTION:

Rep. Christofferson moved to amend 1st Substitute H.B. 270 with Amendment #1. The motion

passed with a vote of 8 - 3 - 2.

Amendment 1 1st Sub. H.B. 270

Page 3, Lines 73 through 74:

73 (3) (a) Except as provided in Subsection (3)(b), each county (shall) may adopt the statewide

74 property tax system on or before January 1, 2026.

Yeas - 8 Rep. S. Barlow Nays - 3 Rep. J. Briscoe

Absent - 2 Rep. J. Moss Rep. R. Spendlove

Rep. B. Bolinder

Rep. S. Eliason Rep. D. Owens

Rep. K. Christofferson

Rep. J. Kyle

Rep. P. Lyman Rep. C. Snider

Rep. K. Stratton

Rep. M. Strong

MOTION:

Rep. Briscoe moved to pass 1st Substitute H.B. 270 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 11 - 0 - 2.

Yeas - 11 Rep. S. Barlow Nays - 0

Absent - 2 Rep. J. Moss

Rep. R. Spendlove

Rep. B. Bolinder

Rep. J. Briscoe

Rep. K. Christofferson

Rep. S. Eliason

Rep. J. Kyle

Rep. P. Lyman

Rep. D. Owens Rep. C. Snider

Rep. K. Stratton

Rep. M. Strong

MOTION:

Rep. Briscoe moved to adjourn. The motion passed with a vote of 11 - 0 - 2.





<u>Yeas - 11</u>

<u>Nays - 0</u>

Absent - 2 Rep. J. Moss Rep. R. Spendlove

Rep. S. Barlow

Rep. B. Bolinder Rep. J. Briscoe

Rep. K. Christofferson

Rep. S. Eliason

Rep. J. Kyle

Rep. P. Lyman Rep. D. Owens Rep. C. Snider

Rep. K. Stratton

Rep. M. Strong

Chair Eliason adjourned the meeting at 3:34 p.m. of January 25, 2024.