

Members Present: Rep. Steve Eliason, Chair Rep. Bridger Bolinder, Vice Chair Rep. Stewart E. Barlow Rep. Joel K. Briscoe Rep. Kay J. Christofferson Rep. Jason B. Kyle Rep. Doug Owens Rep. Casey Snider Rep. Robert M. Spendlove Rep. Keven J. Stratton Rep. Mark A. Strong

#### Members Absent:

Rep. Phil Lyman Rep. Jefferson Moss

Staff Present:

Chris Stitt, Policy Analyst Reese Boardman, Committee Secretary

Note: A copy of related materials and an audio recording of the meeting can be found at www.le.utah.gov.

Chair Bolinder called the meeting to order at 3:52 p.m. of January 30, 2024.

**MOTION:** Rep. Kyle moved to approve the January 25, 2024 minutes. The motion passed with a vote of 6 - 0 - 7.

Yeas - 6 Rep. B. Bolinder Rep. J. Briscoe Rep. K. Christofferson Rep. J. Kyle Rep. D. Owens Rep. M. Strong <u>Nays - 0</u>

Absent - 7 Rep. S. Barlow Rep. S. Eliason Rep. P. Lyman Rep. J. Moss Rep. C. Snider Rep. R. Spendlove Rep. K. Stratton

#### 1. H.B. 277 Aviation Fuel Incentive Amendments (Musselman, C.R.)

Rep. Musselman presented the bill.

Benn Buys, Deputy Executive Director, Utah Inland Port Authority, spoke in favor of the bill.

**MOTION:** Rep. Kyle moved to amend H.B. 277 with Amendment #2. The motion passed with a vote of 7 - 0 -6. Amendment 2 H.B. 277 Page 2, Line 40: 1. (h) "Incentive year" means any of the first [10]  $\{15\}$  11 consecutive fiscal years immediately 40 2. Page 3, Line 85: (7) (a) A carrier may receive an aviation fuel incentive for no more than  $\{15\}$  11 consecutive 85 3. Page 4, Line 110: 110 (10) (a) Within 90 days after the end of the  $\{\frac{15th}{11th}\}$  fiscal year after the base production Page 5, Line 125: 4. (d) "Incremental revenue year" means any of the first  $\begin{bmatrix} 10 \\ -15 \end{bmatrix}$  11 consecutive fiscal years 125 Page 5, Line 131: 5. (2) Subject to Subsections (3) and (4), for each of the [10]  $\{15\}$  11 consecutive fiscal years 131

## HOUSE REVENUE AND TAXATION STANDING COMMITTEE

6. Page 5, Line 135:

- (i) begins on or after July 1, { 2023 } 2022 ; and
- <u>Yeas 7</u> Rep. S. Barlow Rep. B. Bolinder Rep. J. Briscoe Rep. K. Christofferson Rep. J. Kyle Rep. D. Owens Rep. M. Strong

<u>Nays - 0</u>

Absent - 6 Rep. S. Eliason Rep. P. Lyman Rep. J. Moss Rep. C. Snider Rep. R. Spendlove Rep. K. Stratton

MOTION: Rep. Owens moved to pass H.B. 277 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 7 - 0 - 6.

<u>Yeas - 7</u> Rep. S. Barlow Rep. B. Bolinder Rep. J. Briscoe Rep. K. Christofferson Rep. J. Kyle Rep. D. Owens Rep. M. Strong

#### <u>Nays - 0</u>

Absent - 6 Rep. S. Eliason Rep. P. Lyman Rep. J. Moss Rep. C. Snider Rep. R. Spendlove Rep. K. Stratton

## 2. H.B. 124 High Cost Infrastructure Development Tax Credit Amendments (Albrecht, C.)

Rep. Albrecht presented the bill with assistance from Brian Somers, Utah Mining Assocation.

Rikki Hrenko-Browning, President, Utah Petroleum Assocation, spoke in favor of the bill.

Abbie Hunsaker, Advisor, Unified Economic Opportunity Commission, spoke in favor of the bill.

Jeff Hartley, Uinta Advantage, spoke in favor of the bill.

**MOTION:** Rep. Owens moved to replace H.B. 124 with 1st Substitute H.B. 124. The motion passed with a vote of 6 - 0 - 7.

<u>Yeas - 6</u>	<u>Nays - 0</u>	<u>Absent - 7</u>
Rep. S. Barlow		Rep. S. Eliason
Rep. B. Bolinder		Rep. J. Kyle
Rep. J. Briscoe		Rep. P. Lyman
Rep. K. Christofferson		Rep. J. Moss
Rep. D. Owens		Rep. C. Snider
Rep. M. Strong		Rep. R. Spendlove
		Rep. K. Stratton

**MOTION:** Rep. Owens moved to pass 1st Substitute H.B. 124 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 7 - 0 - 6.

<u>Nays - 0</u>

Yeas - 7 Rep. S. Barlow Rep. B. Bolinder Rep. J. Briscoe Rep. K. Christofferson Rep. D. Owens Rep. C. Snider Rep. M. Strong Absent - 6 Rep. S. Eliason Rep. J. Kyle Rep. P. Lyman Rep. J. Moss Rep. R. Spendlove Rep. K. Stratton

Rep. Christofferson assumed the chair.

## 3. H.B. 149 Earned Income Tax Credit Amendments (Judkins, M.)

Rep. Judkins presented the bill with assistance from Abdikadir Eftin, Economic Policy Analyst, Voices for Utah's Children.

Malah Armstrong, Vice President, Utah Taxpayers Association, spoke in opposition to the bill.

Jay Blain, Director, Utah Education Association, spoke in favor of the bill.

**MOTION:** Rep. Briscoe moved to pass H.B. 149 out favorably. The motion failed with a vote of 2 - 6 - 5.

<u>Yeas - 2</u> Rep. J. Briscoe Rep. S. Eliason

<u>Nays - 6</u> Rep. S. Barlow Rep. K. Christofferson Rep. C. Snider Rep. R. Spendlove Rep. K. Stratton Rep. M. Strong Absent - 5 Rep. B. Bolinder Rep. J. Kyle Rep. P. Lyman Rep. J. Moss Rep. D. Owens

#### 4. S.B. 33 Individual Income Tax Act Amendments (Bramble, C.)

Sen. Bramble presented the bill.

Rebecca Rockwell, Utah State Tax Commission, spoke in favor of the bill.

MOTION: Chair Eliason moved to pass S.B. 33 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 8 - 0 - 5.

<u>Yeas - 8</u>	<u>Nays - 0</u>	<u>Absent - 5</u>
Rep. S. Barlow	-	Rep. B. Bolinder
Rep. J. Briscoe		Rep. J. Kyle
Rep. K. Christofferson		Rep. P. Lyman
Rep. S. Eliason		Rep. J. Moss
Rep. C. Snider		Rep. D. Owens
Rep. R. Spendlove		
Rep. K. Stratton		
Rep. M. Strong		

**MOTION:** 

Chair Eliason moved to place S.B. 33 on the Consent Calendar. The motion passed with a vote of 8 - 0 - 5.

# A HOUSE REVENUE AND TAXATION STANDING COMMITTEE

Yeas - 8 Rep. S. Barlow Rep. J. Briscoe Rep. K. Christofferson Rep. S. Eliason Rep. C. Snider Rep. R. Spendlove Rep. K. Stratton Rep. M. Strong <u>Nays - 0</u>

Absent - 5 Rep. B. Bolinder Rep. J. Kyle Rep. P. Lyman Rep. J. Moss Rep. D. Owens

**MOTION:** Chair Eliason moved to adjourn. The motion passed with a vote of 8 - 0 - 5.

Nays - 0

Yeas - 8 Rep. S. Barlow Rep. J. Briscoe Rep. K. Christofferson Rep. S. Eliason Rep. C. Snider Rep. R. Spendlove Rep. K. Stratton Rep. M. Strong

Absent - 5 Rep. B. Bolinder Rep. J. Kyle Rep. P. Lyman Rep. J. Moss Rep. D. Owens

Acting Chair Christofferson adjourned the meeting.