

Members Present: Rep. Kay J. Christofferson, Chair Rep. Nelson T. Abbott Rep. Ariel Defay Rep. Brett Garner Rep. Ken Ivory Rep. Dan N. Johnson Rep. Ashlee Matthews Rep. Karen M. Peterson Rep. Susan Pulsipher Rep. Jeffrey D. Stenquist Rep. Raymond P. Ward

Members Absent: Rep. Douglas R. Welton, Vice Chair

Staff Present: Rachel Brooks, Policy Analyst Reese Boardman, Committee Secretary

Note: A copy of related materials and an audio recording of the meeting can be found at www.le.utah.gov.

Chair Christofferson called the meeting to order at 8:06 a.m. of February 9, 2024.

MOTION:

Rep. Ward moved to approve the minutes. The motion passed with a vote of 8 - 0 - 4.

Yeas - 8 Rep. K. Christofferson Rep. A. Defay Rep. B. Garner Rep. K. Ivory Rep. D. Johnson Rep. K. Peterson Rep. J. Stenquist Rep. R. Ward <u>Nays - 0</u>

Absent - 4 Rep. N. Abbott Rep. A. Matthews Rep. S. Pulsipher Rep. D. Welton

1. 1st Sub. S.B. 67 Public Thoroughfare Amendments (Sandall, S.)

Sen. Sandall presented the bill.

Brett Stewart, Utah OHV Advocates, spoke in favor of the bill.

Steven Hawkins, Utah OHV Association, Utah ATV Association, spoke in favor of the bill.

Brad Horrocks, Commissioner, Uintah County, spoke in favor of the bill.

David Dodds, Public Works Director, Garfield County, spoke in favor of the bill.

MOTION: Rep. Garner moved to replace 1st Substitute S.B. 67 with 2nd Substitute S.B. 67. The motion passed with a vote of 10 - 0 - 2.

Nays - 0

Nays - 0

Yeas - 10 Rep. N. Abbott Rep. K. Christofferson Rep. A. Defay Rep. B. Garner Rep. K. Ivory Rep. D. Johnson Rep. K. Peterson Rep. S. Pulsipher Rep. J. Stenquist Rep. R. Ward

d

MOTION:

Rep. Ward moved to pass 2nd Substitute S.B. 67 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 10 - 0 - 2.

Yeas - 10 Rep. N. Abbott Rep. K. Christofferson Rep. A. Defay Rep. B. Garner Rep. K. Ivory Rep. D. Johnson Rep. K. Peterson Rep. S. Pulsipher Rep. J. Stenquist Rep. R. Ward

2. H.B. 283 Vehicle Registration Amendments (Hall, K.)

Rep. Hall presented the bill.

Jason Gardner, Utah State Tax Commission, spoke to the bill.

Malah Armstrong, Utah Taxpayers Association, spoke in favor of the bill.

Mark Zesiger, Utah Highway Patrol, spoke in opposition to the bill.

Leif Elder, Utah Department of Transportation, spoke to the bill.

MOTION: Rep. Defay moved to replace H.B. 283 with 2nd Substitute H.B. 283. The motion passed with a vote of 10 - 0 - 2.

<u>Yeas - 10</u>	<u>Nays - 0</u>	<u>Absent - 2</u>
Rep. N. Abbott	-	Rep. K. Ivory
Rep. K. Christofferson		Rep. D. Welton
Rep. A. Defay		
Rep. B. Garner		
Rep. D. Johnson		
Rep. A. Matthews		
Rep. K. Peterson		
Rep. S. Pulsipher		
Rep. J. Stenquist		
Rep. R. Ward		

MOTION: Rep. Ward moved to pass 2nd Substitute H.B. 283 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 7 - 3 - 2.

<u>Absent - 2</u> Rep. A. Matthews Rep. D. Welton

Absent - 2

Rep. A. Matthews

Rep. D. Welton

house transportation standing committee

Yeas - 7 Rep. N. Abbott Rep. A. Defay Rep. B. Garner Rep. K. Peterson Rep. S. Pulsipher Rep. J. Stenquist Rep. R. Ward <u>Nays - 3</u> Rep. K. Christofferson Rep. D. Johnson Rep. A. Matthews <u>Absent - 2</u> Rep. K. Ivory Rep. D. Welton

3. H.B. 122 Motorcycle Equipment Amendments (Defay, A.)

Rep. Defay presented the bill.

Jeff Nigbur, Utah Highway Patrol, spoke in favor of the bill.

MOTION: Rep. Matthews moved to replace H.B. 122 with 1st Substitute H.B. 122. The motion passed with a vote of 9 - 0 - 3.

<u>Yeas - 9</u>	<u>Nays - 0</u>	<u>Absent - 3</u>
Rep. N. Abbott		Rep. K. Ivory
Rep. K. Christofferson		Rep. J. Stenguist
Rep. A. Defay		Rep. D. Welton
Rep. B. Garner		•
Rep. D. Johnson		
Rep. A. Matthews		
Rep. K. Peterson		
Rep. S. Pulsipher		
Rep. R. Ward		
-1		

MOTION: Rep. Matthews moved to pass 1st Substitute H.B. 122 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 9 - 0 - 3.

<u>Yeas - 9</u>	<u>Nays - 0</u>	<u>Absent - 3</u>
Rep. N. Abbott		Rep. K. Ivory
Rep. K. Christofferson		Rep. J. Stenquist
Rep. A. Defay		Rep. D. Welton
Rep. B. Garner		
Rep. D. Johnson		
Rep. A. Matthews		
Rep. K. Peterson		
Rep. S. Pulsipher		
Rep. R. Ward		

MOTION: Rep. Johnson moved to adjourn. The motion passed with a vote of 9 - 0 - 3.

<u>Yeas - 9</u>	<u>Nays - 0</u>	<u>Absent - 3</u>
Rep. N. Abbott	-	Rep. K. Ivory
Rep. K. Christofferson		Rep. J. Stenquist
Rep. A. Defay		Rep. D. Welton
Rep. B. Garner		
Rep. D. Johnson		
Rep. A. Matthews		
Rep. K. Peterson		
Rep. S. Pulsipher		

Chair Christofferson adjourned the meeting.

Rep. R. Ward

house transportation standing committee

NOTE: H.B. 0430 was not discussed in the meeting.