

Members Present: Rep. Kay J. Christofferson, Chair Rep. Douglas R. Welton, Vice Chair Rep. Nelson T. Abbott Rep. Ariel Defay Rep. Brett Garner Rep. Ken Ivory Rep. Dan N. Johnson Rep. Karen M. Peterson Rep. Susan Pulsipher Rep. Jeffrey D. Stenquist Rep. Raymond P. Ward

Members Absent: Rep. Ashlee Matthews

**Staff Present:** Rachel Brooks, Policy Analyst Reese Boardman, Committee Secretary

Note: A copy of related materials and an audio recording of the meeting can be found at www.le.utah.gov.

Chair Christofferson called the meeting to order at 8:37 a.m. of February 21, 2024.

MOTION:

Rep. Johnson moved to approve the minutes. The motion passed with a vote of 8 - 0 - 4.

Yeas - 8 Rep. N. Abbott Rep. K. Christofferson Rep. A. Defay Rep. B. Garner Rep. D. Johnson Rep. K. Peterson Rep. S. Pulsipher Rep. R. Ward <u>Nays - 0</u>

Absent - 4 Rep. K. Ivory Rep. A. Matthews Rep. J. Stenquist Rep. D. Welton

## 1. 1st Sub. S.B. 28 Scenic Byway Program Amendments (Harper, W.)

Sen. Harper presented the bill.

Moroni Benally, Navajo Nation, spoke in favor of the bill.

Ryan Starks, Utah Governor's Office of Economic Opportunity, spoke in favor of the bill.

Leif Elder, Utah Department of Transportation, spoke in favor of the bill.

Donna Foster, citizen, spoke in favor of the bill.

Nathan Young, YESCO, spoke in favor of the bill.

Kate Kopishke, Executive Director, Scenic Utah, spoke in opposition to the bill.

Ralph Becker, Chair, Scenic Utah, spoke in opposition to the bill.

Dewey Reagan, Reagan Outdoor Advertising, spoke in favor of the bill.

**MOTION:** Chair Christofferson moved to pass 1st Substitute S.B. 28 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 10 - 0 - 2.

Yeas - 10 Rep. N. Abbott Rep. K. Christofferson Rep. A. Defay Rep. B. Garner Rep. D. Johnson Rep. K. Peterson Rep. S. Pulsipher Rep. J. Stenquist Rep. R. Ward Rep. D. Welton

## **MOTION:**

Rep. Welton moved to adjourn. The motion passed with a vote of 10 - 0 - 2.

Yeas - 10 Rep. N. Abbott Rep. K. Christofferson Rep. A. Defay Rep. B. Garner Rep. D. Johnson Rep. K. Peterson Rep. S. Pulsipher Rep. J. Stenquist Rep. R. Ward Rep. D. Welton

Nays - 0

Nays - 0

<u>Absent - 2</u> Rep. K. Ivory Rep. A. Matthews

Absent - 2

Rep. K. Ivory

Rep. A. Matthews

Chair Christofferson adjourned the meeting.