ROAD RAGE CAN HB 30 Road Rage: Keeping Utah
Families Safe on the Road

Rep Paul Cutler / Senator Todd Weiler
Interim Transportation Committee Bill
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Utah Department Of Public Safety while total related fatalities are down.

What Does HB 30 Do About Road Rage?

#1 Defines Road Rage & Improves Data Collection
A legal definition will allow DPS and the courts to start measuring actual arrests, charges & convictions, and crash
contributors, instead of searching for key words in dispatch transcripts and police reports.

(c) "Road rage event” means the commission of a criminal offense:

365 (i) by an operator or passenger of a vehicle;
366 (ii) in response to an incident that occurs or escalates upon a roadway; and
367 (iii) with the intent to endanger or intimidate an individual in another vehicle.

#2 Increases Penalties & Fines for the most Serioius Road Rage Criminal Behavior

Help deter road rage behaviors by increasing the penalty for offenses
¢ Creates a criminal enhancement for road rage offenses (does not criminalize any new behaviors)
o Defines mandatory minimum fines for serious road rage events
= Allows the Driver License Division to revoke a driver license for an individual convicted of two or more road rage
offenses in one year
» Includes motor vehicle in the aggravated assault statute

#3 Funds Road Rage Education Campaign

DPS has launched a Road Rage Awareness Campaign to help people think through what they will do BEFORE it
happens to them

The increase in fines collected from road rage enhancements (estimated $50K/yr) is directed to DPS Road Rage
Education Fund to continue targeted awareness efforts
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Where else has the Legislature used “Enhancements® in Utah code?
Examples of other areas where the legislature has enacted an enhancement:

« DUI enhancements ((41-6a-505) based on blood alcohol level and repeat offenses

* Victim targeting (76-3-203.14) - bumps one class of offense
Gang offenses (76-3-203.1) - bumps one class of offense
Subsequent domestic violence offenses (77-36-1.1) - bumps one or two classes of offense

Use of dangerous weapon on school premises (76-3-203.2) - bumps one class of offense

Dangerous weapon enhancement (76-3-203.8) - increases minimum term of the sentence by
one year or 5 years if 2nd or 3rd degree felony
Unlawful sexual contact with a student (76-3-203.13) - bumps one class of offense

Substitutes and Floor Amendment

e Second Substitute: Creates the Road Rage Education Fund and directs revenue from enhanced

fines to that fund

¢ The House Floor Amendment to the Third Substitute removes traffic violations and class C

misdemeanors from a road rage enhancement. The effect will be that the road rage
enhancement will focus only on the most serious road rage offenses.

What are some examples of offenses likely to be enhanced?

Enhanced Road Rage

Offense

Current Penalty

of
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-Reckless Driving (3 or more traffic
fenses OR 105+ mph or “willful or
wanton disregard for others safety™)

-Assault - ie. punching someone

~-Criminal Misch

ef - ie. throwing items

at other vehicles

Class B Misdemeanor
(Justice Court)
$690 fine

Class A Misdemeanor
(District Court)

Standard penalty + $750 fine
Some jail and/or probation

likely

Potential Impound or DL

consequenses

ro
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-Assault causing Substantial Injury -

-Brandishing a Weapon
Criminal Mischief/Intentional
erty Damage - Ramming a car,

aking window w/damage

Class A Misdemeanor
(District Court)
Some jail/probation
Up to $2,500

3rd Degree Felony
(District Court)

Standard penalty + $1000 fine
Moderate jail and/or probation
Potential Impound or DL

consequenses

3rd Degree Felony
(District Court)
il/probation
Up to $10,000

3rd Degree Felony

(District Court)

Penalty + min $1000 fine
1-5 yr jail and/or probation
Impound or DL consequenses

What can people do to avoid Road Rage?
DPS road rage prevention tips if sorneone is acting aggressively toward you on the road:
Do not engage or escalate the situation.
Avoid eye contact: Eye contact can be seen as confrontational. Look straight ahead and do
noct react to provocative gestures or words.
Maintain a safe following distance to allow you to react to sudden maneuvers by the
aggressive driver.
Exit the road if necessary. If an aggressive driver continues to pursue you, drive to a public
place or a police station to seek help.



