

Wednesday, February 21, 2024 4:00 p.m. 445 State Capitol

Members Present:

Rep. Steve Eliason, Chair

Rep. Bridger Bolinder, Vice Chair

Rep. Joel K. Briscoe

Rep. Kay J. Christofferson

Rep. Jason B. Kyle

Rep. Phil Lyman

Rep. Doug Owens

Rep. Keven J. Stratton

Rep. Mark A. Strong

Members Absent:

Rep. Stewart E. Barlow

Rep. Jefferson Moss

Rep. Casey Snider

Rep. Robert M. Spendlove

Staff Present:

Chris Stitt, Policy Analyst

Reese Boardman, Committee Secretary

Note: A copy of related materials and an audio recording of the meeting can be found at www.le.utah.gov.

Chair Eliason called the meeting to order at 4:09 p.m. of February 21, 2024.

MOTION: Rep. Strong moved to approve the February 20, 2024 minutes. The motion passed with a vote of 7

- 0 - 6.

Yeas - 7 Nays - 0 Absent - 6

Rep. B. Bolinder Rep. S. Barlow Rep. J. Briscoe Rep. K. Christofferson

Rep. J. Kyle Rep. S. Eliason Rep. P. Lyman Rep. J. Moss

Rep. D. Owens Rep. C. Snider Rep. K. Stratton Rep. R. Spendlove

Rep. M. Strong

1. 1st Sub. S.B. 86 Local Government Bonds Amendments (Fillmore, L.)

Sen. Fillmore presented the bill.

Rusty Cannon, Utah Taxpayers Association, spoke in favor of the bill.

Tracy Taylor, Wasatch Taxpayer Association, spoke in opposition to the 2nd substitute of the bill.

John Gadd, citizen, spoke in opposition to the bill.

Rep. Stratton moved to pass 1st Substitute S.B. 86 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of MOTION:

8 - 1 - 4.

<u>Yeas - 8</u> Nays - 1 Absent - 4 Rep. S. Barlow Rep. B. Bolinder Rep. S. Eliason

Rep. J. Briscoe Rep. J. Moss

Rep. K. Christofferson Rep. C. Snider Rep. J. Kyle Rep. R. Spendlove

Rep. P. Lyman

Rep. K. Stratton Rep. M. Strong

Rep. D. Owens

Nays - 0



MOTION:

Rep. Stratton moved to adjourn. The motion passed with a vote of 9 - 0 - 4.

<u>Yeas - 9</u> Rep. B. Bolinder Rep. J. Briscoe

Rep. K. Christofferson

Rep. S. Eliason

Rep. J. Kyle

Rep. P. Lyman Rep. D. Owens

Rep. K. Stratton

Rep. M. Strong

Chair Eliason adjourned the meeting.

Absent - 4 Rep. S. Barlow Rep. J. Moss Rep. C. Snider

Rep. R. Spendlove