Thursday, February 22, 2024 4:00 p.m. 445 State Capitol

Members Present:

Rep. Kay J. Christofferson, Chair Rep. Douglas R. Welton, Vice Chair

Rep. Nelson T. Abbott

Rep. Ariel Defay

Rep. Brett Garner

Rep. Dan N. Johnson

Rep. Ashlee Matthews

Rep. Karen M. Peterson

Rep. Raymond P. Ward

Rep. Susan Pulsipher Rep. Jeffrey D. Stenguist

Members Absent:

Rep. Ken Ivory

Staff Present:

Rachel Brooks, Policy Analyst

Reese Boardman, Committee Secretary

Rep. K. Ivory

Note: A copy of related materials and an audio recording of the meeting can be found at www.le.utah.gov.

Chair Welton called the meeting to order at 4:22 p.m. of February 22, 2024.

MOTION: Rep. Pulsipher moved to approve the minutes of the February 21, 2024 meeting. The motion

passed with a vote of 11 - 0 - 1.

Yeas - 11 Navs - 0 Absent - 1

Rep. K. Christofferson

Rep. N. Abbott Rep. A. Defay

Rep. B. Garner

Rep. D. Johnson

Rep. A. Matthews

Rep. K. Peterson

Rep. S. Pulsipher

Rep. J. Stenquist

Rep. R. Ward

Rep. D. Welton

1. 1st Sub. S.B. 155 Road Usage Charge Program Amendments (Harper, W.)

Sen. Harper presented the bill.

Leif Elder, Utah Department of Transportation, spoke to the bill.

CeCe Thayn, citizen, spoke to the bill.

MOTION: Rep. Christofferson moved to pass 1st Substitute S.B. 155 out favorably. The motion passed with a

vote of 10 - 0 - 2.



Yeas - 10

Nays - 0

Absent - 2 Rep. K. Ivory Rep. K. Peterson

Rep. N. Abbott

Rep. K. Christofferson

Rep. A. Defay

Rep. B. Garner

Rep. D. Johnson

Rep. A. Matthews

Rep. S. Pulsipher

Rep. J. Stenguist

Rep. R. Ward

Rep. D. Welton

2. 1st Sub. S.B. 179 Transportation Amendments (Harper, W.)

Sen. Harper presented the bill.

MOTION:

Rep. Matthews moved to replace 1st Substitute S.B. 179 with 4th Substitute S.B. 179. The motion

passed with a vote of 9 - 0 - 3.

Yeas - 9

Nays - 0

Absent - 3

Rep. N. Abbott

Rep. K. Ivory

Rep. K. Christofferson

Rep. A. Defay

Rep. B. Garner

Rep. D. Johnson

Rep. A. Matthews

Rep. S. Pulsipher

Rep. J. Stenguist

Rep. D. Welton

Rep. K. Peterson Rep. R. Ward

MOTION:

Rep. Matthews moved to pass 4th Substitute S.B. 179 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote

of 10 - 0 - 2.

Yeas - 10

Nays - 0

Absent - 2

Rep. N. Abbott

Rep. K. Ivory

Rep. K. Christofferson

Rep. K. Peterson

Rep. A. Defay

Rep. B. Garner

Rep. D. Johnson

Rep. A. Matthews

Rep. S. Pulsipher

Rep. J. Stenquist Rep. R. Ward

Rep. D. Welton

3. 2nd Sub. S.B. 208 Housing and Transit Reinvestment Zone Amendments (Harper, W.)

Sen. Harper presented the bill.

Beth Holbrook, Trustee, Utah Transit Authority, spoke in favor of the bill.

Andrew Gruber, Executive Director, Wasatch Front Regional Council, spoke in favor of the bill.

Karson Eilers, Policy Director, Utah League of Cities and Towns, spoke in favor of the bill.

Alan Kearsley, Business Administrator, Salt Lake City School District, spoke to the bill.



Jackie Larson, citizen, spoke in opposition to the bill.

Alissa Dailey, Utah Association of Realtors, spoke in favor of the bill.

Karson Eilers, Policy Director, Utah League of Cities and Towns, spoke to the bill.

MOTION:

Rep. Ward moved to amend 2nd Substitute S.B. 208 with Amendment #1. The motion passed with

a vote of 9 - 0 - 3.

Amendment 1 2nd Sub. S.B. 208

Page 8, Lines 215 through 218:

215 (B) at least 3% of the proposed dwelling units occupied or reserved for occupancy by

216 households with a gross household income equal to or less than 60% of the median gross

217 income of the applicable municipal or county statistical area for households of the same size {...};

218 (b) at least 51% of the developable area within the housing and transit reinvestment

Page 11, Lines 316 through 320:

316 (f) If a parcel within the housing transit and reinvestment zone is included as an area

that is part of a project area, as that term is defined in Section 17C-1-102, and created under 317

318 Title 17C, Chapter 1, Agency Operations, that parcel may not be triggered for collection unless

319 the {project area is dissolved pursuant to Section 17C-1-702...} project area funds collection period, as that term is defined in Section 17C-1-102, has expired.

320 (e) A county of the first class may not propose a housing and transit reinvestment zone

<u>Yeas - 9</u>

<u>Nays - 0</u>

Absent - 3

Rep. K. Christofferson Rep. A. Defay

Rep. N. Abbott

Rep. K. Ivory Rep. K. Peterson

Rep. B. Garner

Rep. D. Johnson

Rep. A. Matthews

Rep. S. Pulsipher

Rep. J. Stenguist

Rep. R. Ward

Rep. D. Welton

MOTION:

Rep. Ward moved to pass 2nd Substitute S.B. 208 as amended out favorably. The motion passed

with a vote of 9 - 0 - 3.

Yeas - 9

Nays - 0

Absent - 3

Rep. K. Christofferson

Rep. N. Abbott

Rep. A. Defay Rep. B. Garner Rep. K. Ivory

Rep. D. Johnson

Rep. K. Peterson

Rep. A. Matthews

Rep. S. Pulsipher

Rep. J. Stenguist

Rep. R. Ward

Rep. D. Welton

4. H.B. 537 Counterfeit Airbag Amendments (Peterson, T.)

Rep. Thomas Peterson presented the bill.

Renae Cowley, representing Automotive Innovators, spoke in favor of the bill.



Renae Cowley, Automotive Innovators, spoke in favor of the bill.

Craig Orlan, State Relations Specialist, American Honda Motor Company, spoke in favor of the bill.

MOTION:

Rep. Matthews moved to replace H.B. 537 with 1st Substitute H.B. 537. The motion passed with a vote of 11 - 0 - 1.

<u>Yeas - 11</u>

Nays - 0

Absent - 1 Rep. K. Ivory

Rep. N. Abbott

Rep. K. Christofferson

Rep. A. Defay

Rep. B. Garner

Rep. D. Johnson

Rep. A. Matthews

Rep. K. Peterson

Rep. S. Pulsipher

Rep. J. Stenguist

Rep. R. Ward

Rep. D. Welton

MOTION:

Rep. Matthews moved to pass 1st Substitute H.B. 537 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 11 - 0 - 1.

<u>Yeas - 11</u>

Nays - 0

Absent - 1 Rep. K. Ivory

Rep. N. Abbott

Rep. K. Christofferson

Rep. A. Defay

Rep. B. Garner

Rep. D. Johnson

Rep. A. Matthews

Rep. K. Peterson

Rep. S. Pulsipher

Rep. J. Stenguist

Rep. R. Ward

Rep. D. Welton

5. 1st Sub. S.B. 215 Motor Vehicle Consumer Data Protection (Wilson, C.)

Sen. Wilson presented the bill with assistance from Craig Bickmore.

Craig Bickmore, Executive Director, New Car Dealers of Utah, spoke to the bill.

MOTION:

Rep. Peterson moved to pass 1st Substitute S.B. 215 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 11 - 0 - 1.



Yeas - 11 Absent - 1 Nays - 0 Rep. N. Abbott Rep. K. Ivory

Rep. K. Christofferson

Rep. A. Defay

Rep. B. Garner

Rep. D. Johnson

Rep. A. Matthews

Rep. K. Peterson

Rep. S. Pulsipher Rep. J. Stenquist

Rep. R. Ward

Rep. D. Welton

MOTION:

Rep. Peterson moved to adjourn. The motion passed with a vote of 11 - 0 - 1.

Yeas - 11 Nays - 0 Absent - 1 Rep. N. Abbott Rep. K. Ivory

Rep. K. Christofferson

Rep. A. Defay

Rep. B. Garner

Rep. D. Johnson

Rep. A. Matthews

Rep. K. Peterson

Rep. S. Pulsipher

Rep. J. Stenquist

Rep. R. Ward

Rep. D. Welton

Chair Welton adjourned the meeting.