Friday, February 23, 202418:00 a.m. 130 House Building

Members Present:

Rep. Calvin R. Musselman, Chair

Rep. Michael J. Petersen, Vice Chair

Rep. Brady Brammer

Rep. Jennifer Dailey-Provost

Rep. Stephanie Gricius

Rep. Sahara Haves

Rep. A. Cory Maloy

Rep. Val L. Peterson

Rep. Candice B. Pierucci

Rep. Andrew Stoddard Rep. Norman K Thurston

Members Absent:

Speaker Mike Schultz Rep. Douglas R. Welton

Staff Present:

Adam J. Sweet, Policy Analyst

Karen C. Allred, Committee Secretary

Note: A copy of related materials and an audio recording of the meeting can be found at www.le.utah.gov.

Chair Musselman called the meeting to order at 8:08 a.m.

1. 2nd Sub. S.B. 168 Affordable Building Amendments (Fillmore, L.)

Rep. Stephen Whyte presented the bill with the assistance of Analise Wilson, Private Property Rights Coalition and Cameron Diel, Executive Director, Utah League of Cities and Towns.

Mike Ostermiller, Utah Association of Realtors, spoke in favor of the bill.

Kam Valgardson, General Manager, Irontown Modular, spoke in favor of the bill.

Abby Hunsaker, Policy Advisor, Unified Economic Opportunity Commission, spoke in favor of the bill.

Andra Ghent, Professor of Finance, University of Utah, spoke in favor of the bill.

Jeramy Bristol, Advanced Modular Manufacturing, Salt Lake City, spoke in favor of the bill.

Rep. Brammer moved to replace 2nd Substitute S.B. 168 with 3rd Substitute S.B. 168. The motion MOTION:

passed with a vote of 9 - 0 - 4.

Rep. V. Peterson Rep. A. Stoddard Rep. N. Thurston

Yeas - 9 Nays - 0 Absent - 4

Rep. B. Brammer Rep. M. Petersen

Rep. J. Dailey-Provost Rep. C. Pierucci Rep. S. Gricius Rep. M. Schultz

Rep. S. Hayes Rep. D. Welton

Rep. A. Maloy Rep. C. Musselman

Rep. Brammer moved to pass 3rd Substitute S.B. 168 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote MOTION:

of 9 - 0 - 4.



Yeas - 9 Nays - 0

Rep. B. Brammer

Rep. J. Dailey-Provost

Rep. S. Gricius

Rep. S. Hayes Rep. A. Maloy

Rep. C. Musselman

Rep. V. Peterson

Rep. A. Stoddard

Rep. N. Thurston

Absent - 4

Rep. M. Petersen Rep. C. Pierucci

Rep. M. Schultz Rep. D. Welton

2. H.B. 562 Utah Fairpark Area Investment and Restoration District (Wilcox, R.)

Rep. Ryan Wilcox and Rep. and Sandra Hollins presented the bill with the assistance of Steve Starks, Larry H. Miller Company; Erin Mendenhall, Mayor, Salt Lake City, and Dale Murphy, retired professional baseball player.

Bruce Adams, County Commissioner, San Juan County, spoke in favor of the bill.

Cameron Diehl, Executive Director, Utah League of Cities and Towns, spoke to the bill.

Ginger Chinn, Vice President of Policy, Salt Lake Chamber, spoke in favor of the bill.

Jordan Garn, Utah Hotel and Lodging Association, spoke in opposition to the bill.

Larry Mullenax, Executive Director, Utah State Fair Park Authority, spoke in favor of the bill.

David Lewis, Chair, Utah State Fair Park Authority Board, spoke in favor of the bill.

Leland Pollock, County Commissioner, Garfield County, spoke in favor of the bill.

Daniel Strong, President Westside Coalition, spoke in favor of the bill.

Victoria Petro, Council Chair, Salt Lake County District 1, spoke in favor of the bill.

Nigel Swaby, immediate Past Chair, Fair Park Community Council, and Member, Westside Coalition, spoke in favor of the bill.

Soren Simonsen, Executive Director, Jordan River Commission, spoke in favor of the bill.

Josh Sutton, Director of Sales and Marketing, Wittwer Hospitatlity, St. George, Utah, spoke in opposition to the bill.

Lance Syrett, Ruby's Inn, Bryce Canyon, Utah, spoke in opposition to the bill.

Chris Bengtzen, Regional Director of Sales, Safari Hospitality, spoke in opposition to the bill.

Brady Willardson, Western States Lodging Management, spoke to the bill.

Goud Maragani, Utah Gay-Straight Coalition, spoke in opposition to the bill.

Bob Stevenson, Commissioner, Davis County, spoke in favor of the bill.

Jack Lytle, Commissioner, Daggett County, spoke in favor of the bill.

Malah Armstrong, Vice President, Utah Taxpayer's Association, spoke in favor of the bill.

MOTION:

Rep. Pierucci moved to replace H.B. 562 with 1st Substitute H.B. 562. The motion passed with a vote of 9 - 0 - 4.

Yeas - 9

Nays - 0

Absent - 4

Rep. B. Brammer Rep. J. Dailey-Provost Rep. A. Maloy Rep. V. Peterson

Rep. M. Schultz

Rep. S. Gricius

Rep. D. Welton

Rep. S. Hayes

Rep. C. Musselman

Rep. M. Petersen

Rep. C. Pierucci

Rep. A. Stoddard Rep. N. Thurston

Rep. Pierucci moved to pass 1st Substitute H.B. 562 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote

Yeas - 8

MOTION:

Nays - 2

Absent - 3

Rep. B. Brammer Rep. J. Dailey-Provost

of 8 - 2 - 3.

Rep. M. Petersen Rep. N. Thurston

Rep. A. Maloy Rep. M. Schultz Rep. D. Welton

Rep. S. Gricius

Rep. S. Hayes

Rep. C. Musselman

Rep. V. Peterson

Rep. C. Pierucci

Rep. A. Stoddard

Rep. Michael Petersen moved to approve the minutes of the February 21, 2024 meeting. The

motion passed with a vote of 9 - 0 - 4.

Yeas - 9

MOTION:

Nays - 0 Absent - 4

Rep. B. Brammer Rep. J. Dailey-Provost Rep. A. Maloy Rep. V. Peterson Rep. M. Schultz

Rep. D. Welton

Rep. S. Gricius

Rep. S. Hayes Rep. C. Musselman

Rep. M. Petersen

Rep. C. Pierucci

Rep. A. Stoddard

Rep. N. Thurston

3. 2nd Sub. S.B. 154 Independent Entities Amendments (McKell, M.)

Rep. Brady Brammer presented the bill.

MOTION: Rep. Pierucci moved to replace 2nd Substitute S.B. 154 with 1st Substitute S.B. 154.

Rep. Pierucci withdrew the motion.

MOTION: Rep. Pierucci moved to pass 2nd Substitute S.B. 154 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote

of 8 - 0 - 5.



<u>Yeas - 8</u> Nays - 0 Absent - 5 Rep. S. Gricius Rep. B. Brammer Rep. J. Dailey-Provost Rep. A. Maloy Rep. S. Hayes Rep. V. Peterson Rep. C. Musselman Rep. M. Schultz Rep. M. Petersen Rep. D. Welton Rep. C. Pierucci

MOTION:

Rep. A. Stoddard Rep. N. Thurston

Rep. Pierucci moved to adjourn. The motion passed with a vote of 9 - 0 - 4.

<u>Yeas - 9</u> Rep. B. Brammer Nays - 0 Absent - 4 Rep. A. Maloy Rep. J. Dailey-Provost Rep. V. Peterson Rep. S. Gricius Rep. M. Schultz Rep. S. Hayes Rep. D. Welton

Rep. C. Musselman Rep. M. Petersen Rep. C. Pierucci Rep. A. Stoddard Rep. N. Thurston

Chair Musselman adjourned the meeting. at 9:46 a.m.