Thursday, February 22, 2024 | 8:00 a.m. | 120 Senate Building

Members Present:

Rep. Candice B. Pierucci, Chair Rep. Steven J. Lund, Vice Chair

Rep. Kera Birkeland Rep. Tyler Clancy Rep. Joseph Elison Rep. Katy Hall Rep. Dan N. Johnson Rep. Carol S. Moss Rep. Karen M. Peterson

Rep. Susan Pulsipher

Rep. Angela Romero Rep. R. Neil Walter

Members Absent:

Rep. Karianne Lisonbee Rep. Jefferson Moss Rep. Val L. Peterson

Staff Present:

Micah Ann Wixom, Policy Analyst Reese Boardman, Committee Secretary

Note: A copy of related materials and an audio recording of the meeting can be found at www.le.utah.gov.

Chair Lund called the meeting to order at 8:04 a.m. of February 22, 2024.

MOTION: Rep. Peterson moved to approve the minutes. The motion passed with a vote of 6 - 0 - 9.

Yeas - 6 Nays - 0 Absent - 9 Rep. D. Johnson Rep. K. Birkeland Rep. S. Lund Rep. T. Clancy Rep. C. Moss Rep. J. Elison Rep. K. Peterson Rep. K. Hall Rep. S. Pulsipher Rep. K. Lisonbee Rep. R. Walter Rep. J. Moss Rep. V. Peterson Rep. C. Pierucci Rep. A. Romero

1. H.B. 493 Concurrent Enrollment Participation Amendments (Wilcox, R.)

Rep. Wilcox presented the bill with assistance from Justin Wardell, citizen.

MOTION: Rep. Johnson moved to pass H.B. 493 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 6 - 3 - 6.

Nays - 3 Yeas - 6 Absent - 6 Rep. K. Birkeland Rep. K. Peterson Rep. T. Clancy Rep. J. Elison Rep. S. Pulsipher Rep. K. Lisonbee Rep. J. Moss Rep. K. Hall Rep. R. Walter Rep. D. Johnson Rep. V. Peterson Rep. S. Lund Rep. C. Pierucci Rep. A. Romero Rep. C. Moss

2. H.B. 506 Higher Education Residency Amendments (Judkins, M.)

Rep. Judkins presented the bill.

Jehicob Torres, citizen, spoke to the bill.

Bethany Crisp, citizen, spoke in favor of the bill.



Jehymee Torres, citizen, spoke in favor of the bill.

MOTION: Rep. Romero moved to pass H.B. 506 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 9 - 0 - 6.

Yeas - 9 Nays - 0 Absent - 6 Rep. J. Elison Rep. K. Birkeland Rep. K. Hall Rep. T. Clancy Rep. D. Johnson Rep. K. Lisonbee Rep. S. Lund Rep. J. Moss Rep. C. Moss Rep. V. Peterson Rep. K. Peterson Rep. C. Pierucci Rep. S. Pulsipher

Rep. A. Romero Rep. R. Walter

3. H.B. 521 Class Size Reduction Amendments (Moss, C.)

Rep. Carol Moss presented the bill.

Rep. Johnson assumed the chair.

Rep. Pierucci assumed the chair.

Jennifer Patridge, citizen, spoke in opposition to the bill.

Lexie Cunningham, Utah School Boards Association, spoke in opposition to the bill.

Kevin Korous, citizen, spoke in favor of the bill.

MOTION: Rep. Romero moved to pass H.B. 521 out favorably. The motion failed with a vote of 3 - 8 - 4.

Yeas - 3 Nays - 8 Absent - 4 Rep. K. Hall Rep. K. Birkeland Rep. T. Clancy Rep. C. Moss Rep. J. Elison Rep. K. Lisonbee Rep. A. Romero Rep. D. Johnson Rep. J. Moss Rep. S. Lund Rep. V. Peterson Rep. K. Peterson Rep. C. Pierucci

Rep. S. Pulsipher Rep. R. Walter

4. H.B. 473 School Transit Amendments (*Briscoe*, *J.*)

Rep. Briscoe presented the bill.

Carlton Christensen, Chair, Utah Transit Authority, spoke to the bill.

Alan Kearsley, Business Administrator, Salt Lake School District, spoke to the bill.

Kenzie Kunkel, Manager Fare Strategy, UTA, spoke to the bill.

Carlton Christensen, Chair, Utah Transit Authority, spoke in favor of the bill.

Rep. Lund assumed the chair.



Jennifer Covington, Superintendent, Murray School District, spoke in favor of the bill.

Melanie Hall, Policy Director, Heal Utah, spoke in favor of the bill.

Kenny Conners, citizen, spoke in favor of the bill.

MOTION: Rep. Romero moved to pass H.B. 473 out favorably. The motion failed with a vote of 4 - 5 - 6.

<u>Yeas - 4</u>	<u>Nays - 5</u>	<u> Absent - 6</u>
Rep. K. Hall	Rep. K. Birkeland	Rep. T. Clancy
Rep. D. Johnson	Rep. J. Elison	Rep. K. Lisonbee
Rep. C. Moss	Rep. S. Lund	Rep. J. Moss
Rep. A. Romero	Rep. S. Pulsipher	Rep. K. Peterson
·	Rep. R. Walter	Rep. V. Peterson
	·	Rep. C. Pierucci

MOTION: Rep. Romero moved to adjourn. The motion passed with a vote of 9 - 0 - 6.

<u>Yeas - 9</u>	<u>Nays - 0</u>	<u> Absent - 6</u>
Rep. K. Birkeland	•	Rep. T. Clancy
Rep. J. Elison		Rep. K. Lisonbee
Rep. K. Hall		Rep. J. Moss
Rep. D. Johnson		Rep. K. Peterson
Rep. S. Lund		Rep. V. Peterson
Rep. C. Moss		Rep. C. Pierucci
Rep. S. Pulsipher		·

Chair Lund adjourned the meeting.

Rep. A. Romero Rep. R. Walter