

Monday, February 26, 2024 8:45 a.m. 445 State Capitol

Members Present:

Rep. Kay J. Christofferson, Chair Rep. Douglas R. Welton, Vice Chair

Rep. Nelson T. Abbott Rep. Ariel Defay Rep. Brett Garner Rep. Ken Ivory Rep. Dan N. Johnson

Rep. Karen M. Peterson

Rep. Raymond P. Ward

Members Absent:

Rep. Ashlee Matthews Rep. Susan Pulsipher Rep. Jeffrey D. Stenguist

Staff Present:

Rachel Brooks, Policy Analyst Reese Boardman, Committee Secretary

Note: A copy of related materials and an audio recording of the meeting can be found at www.le.utah.gov.

Chair Christofferson called the meeting to order at 8:57 a.m.

MOTION: Rep. Ward moved to approve the minutes of the February 22, 2024 meeting. The motion passed

with a vote of 7 - 0 - 5.

Yeas - 7 Navs - 0 Absent - 5

Rep. N. Abbott Rep. A. Matthews Rep. K. Christofferson Rep. K. Peterson Rep. S. Pulsipher Rep. A. Defay Rep. B. Garner Rep. J. Stenguist

Rep. K. Ivory Rep. D. Welton Rep. D. Johnson

1. S.B. 237 Towing Modifications (McKell, M.)

Sen. McKell presented the bill with assistance from David Spatafore.

David Spatafore, representing Utah Chiefs of Police Association and Salt Lake Valley Emergency Communications Center, spoke in favor of the bill.

Mike Sonntag, Bear River Insurance, spoke in the favor of the bill.

Elizabeth Converse, Utah Tech Lead, spoke in opposition to the bill.

Neil Schultz, citizen, spoke to the bill.

Rep. R. Ward

Barbara Christensen, President, Utah Professional Towing Alliance, spoke in opposition to the bill.

MOTION: Rep. Abbott moved to replace S.B. 237 with 1st Substitute S.B. 237. The motion passed with a vote

of 9 - 0 - 3.



<u>Yeas - 9</u> <u>Nays - 0</u> <u>Absent - 3</u>

Rep. N. Abbott Rep. A. Matthews Rep. K. Christofferson Rep. S. Pulsipher

Rep. A. Defay

Rep. B. Garner

Rep. K. Ivory Rep. D. Johnson

Rep. K. Peterson

Rep. R. Ward

Rep. D. Welton

MOTION:

Rep. Abbott moved to pass 1st Substitute S.B. 237 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of

Rep. J. Stenguist

Rep. J. Stenguist

6-3-3.

<u>Yeas - 6</u> <u>Nays - 3</u> <u>Absent - 3</u>

Rep. N. Abbott
Rep. K. Ivory
Rep. K. Christofferson
Rep. K. Peterson
Rep. A. Matthews
Rep. S. Pulsipher
Rep. A. Defay
Rep. Rep. Rep. Rep. S. Pulsipher
Rep. J. Stenguist

Rep. B. Garner Rep. D. Johnson Rep. D. Welton

MOTION: Rep. Welton moved to adjourn. The motion passed with a vote of 9 - 0 - 3.

Yeas - 9 Nays - 0 Absent - 3

Rep. N. Abbott Rep. A. Matthews Rep. K. Christofferson Rep. S. Pulsipher

Rep. A. Defay

Rep. B. Garner Rep. K. Ivory

Rep. D. Johnson

Rep. K. Peterson

Rep. R. Ward

Rep. D. Welton

Chair Christofferson adjourned the meeting at 9:36 a.m.