

# **DRAFT MINUTES** HOUSE PUBLIC UTILITIES, ENERGY, AND TECHNOLOGY STANDING COMMITTEE

Tuesday, February 27, 2024 4:35 p.m. 110 Senate Building

Members Present: Rep. Carl R. Albrecht, Chair Rep. Colin W. Jack, Vice Chair Rep. James Cobb Rep. Joseph Elison Rep. Jason B. Kyle Rep. Phil Lyman Rep. Matt MacPherson Rep. Carol S. Moss Rep. Michael J. Petersen Rep. Judy Weeks Rohner Rep. Angela Romero

#### Staff Present:

Samantha D. Brucker, Managing Policy Analyst Linda Service, Committee Secretary

Note: A copy of related materials and an audio recording of the meeting can be found at www.le.utah.gov.

Chair Albrecht called the meeting to order at 4:35 p.m.

# 1. 1st Sub. S.B. 224 Energy Independence Amendments (Sandall, S.)

**MOTION:** Rep. Lyman moved to replace 1st Substitute S.B. 224 with 2nd Substitute S.B. 224. The motion passed with a vote of 8 - 0 - 3.

Rep. C. Albrecht

Rep. J. Cobb

Rep. J. Elison

Rep. C. Jack Rep. J. Kyle Rep. P. Lyman Rep. M. MacPherson Rep. M. Petersen

Yeas - 8

<u>Nays - 0</u>

<u>Absent - 3</u> Rep. C. Moss Rep. J. Rohner Rep. A. Romero

**MOTION:** Rep. Jack moved to approve the minutes of the February 26, 2024 meeting. The motion passed with a vote of 8 - 0 - 3.

<u>Yeas - 8</u> Rep. C. Albrecht Rep. J. Cobb Rep. J. Elison	<u>Nays - 0</u>	<u>Absent - 3</u> Rep. C. Moss Rep. J. Rohner Rep. A. Romero
Rep. C. Jack Rep. J. Kyle		
Rep. P. Lýman		
Rep. M. MacPherson		
Rep. M. Petersen		

Sen. Sandall introduced the bill.

Michele Beck, Director, Office of Consumer Services, spoke in opposition to the bill.

Logan Mitchell, Chief Scientist and Energy Analyst, Utah Clean Energy, spoke in opposition to the bill.

Ava Curtis, Taylorsville, spoke in opposition to the bill.

Christopher Nicholson, Logan, spoke in opposition to the bill.

Dalley Cutler, Salt Lake City, spoke in opposition to the bill.

Josh Brown, Sr. Director, Utah Manufactures Association, spoke to the bill.

Frances Benfell, Salt Lake City, Sierra Club, spoke in opposition to the bill.

Lynn Carroll, citizen, spoke in opposition to the bill.

Dick Garlish, Vice President and General Counsel, Rocky Mt. Power, spoke in support of the bill.

Rep. Lyman moved to pass 2nd Substitute S.B. 224 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of MOTION: 6 - 3 - 2.

Yeas - 6 Rep. C. Albrecht Rep. C. Jack Rep. J. Kyle Rep. P. Lyman Rep. M. MacPherson Rep. M. Petersen

Nays - 3 Rep. J. Cobb Rep. C. Moss Rep. A. Romero Absent - 2 Rep. J. Elison Rep. J. Rohner

# 2. S.C.R. 6 Concurrent Resolution Creating the Golden Spike State Monument (Sandall, S.)

Sen. Sandall introduced the resolution.

Doug Foxley, Golden Spike Foundation, spoke in support of the bill.

Joel Ferry, Box Elder County, spoke in support of the resolution.

MOTION: Rep. Romero moved to pass S.C.R. 6 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 7 - 0 - 4.

Yeas - 7	Nays - 0	Absent - 4
Rep. C. Albrecht		Rep. J. Cobb
Rep. C. Jack		Rep. J. Elison
Rep. J. Kyle		Rep. M. MacPherson
Rep. P. Lyman		Rep. J. Rohner
Rep. C. Moss		
Rep. M. Petersen		
Rep. A. Romero		

MOTION: Rep. Kyle moved to saunter. The motion passed with a vote of 7 - 0 - 4.

Nays - 0

Yeas - 7 Rep. C. Albrecht Rep. C. Jack Rep. J. Kyle Rep. P. Lyman Rep. C. Moss Rep. M. Petersen Rep. A. Romero

Absent - 4 Rep. J. Cobb Rep. J. Elison Rep. M. MacPherson Rep. J. Rohner

MOTION: Rep. Jack moved to saunter. The motion passed with a vote of 7 - 0 - 4.

## HOUSE PUBLIC UTILITIES, ENERGY, AND TECHNOLOGY STANDING COMMITTEE DRAFT MINUTES

Yeas - 7 Rep. C. Albrecht Rep. J. Elison Rep. C. Jack Rep. P. Lyman Rep. C. Moss Rep. M. Petersen Rep. A. Romero <u>Nays - 0</u>

<u>Absent - 4</u> Rep. J. Cobb Rep. J. Kyle Rep. M. MacPherson Rep. J. Rohner

# 3. S.B. 262 Organ Transplant Amendments (McKell, M.)

Sen. McKay introduced the bill.

**MOTION:** Rep. Elison moved to pass S.B. 262 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 8 - 0 - 3.

<u>Yeas - 8</u>	<u>Nays - 0</u>	<u>Absent - 3</u>
Rep. C. Albrecht		Rep. J. Cobb
Rep. J. Elison		Rep. J. Kyle
Rep. C. Jack		Rep. M. MacPherson
Rep. P. Lyman		
Rep. C. Moss		
Rep. M. Petersen		
Rep. J. Rohner		
Rep. A. Romero		

## 4. 1st Sub. S.B. 248 Permitted Occupations for Minors Amendments (Kwan, K.)

Sen. Kwan introduced the bill and distributed a handout "SB248S1, Permitted Occupations for Minors Amendments."

Permitted occupations for minors amendments

Jaceson Maughan, Commissioner, Utah Labor Commission, spoke to the bill.

Amber Brown, Director, Legislative and Government Affairs, Utah Department of Agriculture and Food, spoke in support of the bill.

**MOTION:** Rep. Romero moved to pass 1st Substitute S.B. 248 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 8 - 2 - 1.

Yeas - 8 Rep. C. Albrecht Rep. J. Elison Rep. C. Jack Rep. P. Lyman Rep. C. Moss Rep. M. Petersen Rep. J. Rohner Rep. A. Romero <u>Nays - 2</u> Rep. J. Kyle Rep. M. MacPherson <u>Absent - 1</u> Rep. J. Cobb

# 5. 1st Sub. S.B. 231 Public Surveillance Prohibition Amendments (McCay, D.)

Sen. McCay introduced the bill assisted by Jason Chipman, Director, Government Affairs, Libertas Institute.

Nate Mutter, Vice Chair, Law Enforcement Legislative Committee, spoke in support of the bill.

## HOUSE PUBLIC UTILITIES, ENERGY, AND TECHNOLOGY STANDING **COMMITTEE DRAFT MINUTES**

Nays - 1

Rep. P. Lyman

MOTION:

Rep. Elison moved to pass 1st Substitute S.B. 231 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 9 - 1 - 1.

Absent - 1

Rep. J. Cobb

<u>Yeas - 9</u> Rep. C. Albrecht Rep. J. Elison Rep. C. Jack Rep. J. Kyle Rep. M. MacPherson Rep. C. Moss Rep. M. Petersen Rep. J. Rohner Rep. A. Romero

## 6. S.B. 254 Boards and Commissions Amendments (McCay, D.)

Sen. McCay introduced the bill.

**MOTION:** Rep. MacPherson moved to pass S.B. 254 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 11 - 0 -0.

<u>Yeas - 11</u> Rep. C. Albrecht	<u>Nays - 0</u>	<u>Absent - 0</u>	
Rep. J. Cobb			
Rep. J. Elison Rep. C. Jack			
Rep. J. Kyle			
Rep. P. Lyman			
Rep. M. MacPher Rep. C. Moss	son		
Rep. M. Petersen			
Rep. J. Rohner			
Rep. A. Romero			
ΜΟΤΙΟΝ·	Rep. Elison moved to adjourn	n The motion passed with a vote of $11 - 0$ -	0

Rep. Elison moved to adjourn. The motion passed with a vote of 11 - 0 - 0. INICTION:

<u>Yeas - 11</u>	<u>Nays - 0</u>	<u>Absent - 0</u>
Rep. C. Albrecht		
Rep. J. Cobb		
Rep. J. Elison		
Rep. C. Jack		
Rep. J. Kyle		
Rep. P. Lyman		
Rep. M. MacPherson		
Rep. C. Moss		
Rep. M. Petersen		
Rep. J. Rohner		
Rep. A. Romero		

Chair Albrecht adjourned the meeting at 5:54 p.m.