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Utah’s Boats and OHVs:

- 65,000+ registered boats in Utah
- ~$5m revenue into restricted acct

- 230,000+ registered OHVs
- ~$12m revenue into restricted acct



Utah’s Boating Program:

- Boat launches
- Docks
- Buoys
- Search & rescue
- Public safety & law enforcement



Utah’s OHV Program:

- Trail improvements
- Establishing trailheads, restrooms, etc
- Snowmobile grooming
- Search & Rescue
- Public safety & law enforcement











Thanks to their own resourcefulness:

● Average Utah boat owner using an out of state 
LLC is able to save:
○ $26 in state fees
○ $300-$400 in property tax
○ Up to $20,000 in sales tax



Thanks to their own resourcefulness:

● Average Utah boat owner using an out of state 
LLC is able to cheat the state of Utah out of:
○ $26 in state fees
○ $300-$400 in property tax
○ Up to $20,000 in sales tax



Since 2018, online companies operating in MT are 
saving Utah boat owners:

● $500,000 per year in fees etc to boating 
restricted account

● $1.6m per year in property taxes
● Tens of millions (Up to $68m) in sales tax



Utah’s Boats and OHVs:

- 65,000+ registered boats in Utah
- ~$5m revenue into restricted acct

- 230,000+ registered OHVs
- ~$12m revenue into restricted acct



Enforcement

- AG recommends 8 steps to determine a 
possible violation

- Often takes at least two separate interactions 
with the same boat 60 days apart



Questions:

Jason Curry, Director
Utah Division of Outdoor Recreation
801-703-0225

Ty Hunter
Utah Boating Program Manager
801-440-5106


