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Purpose

This document provides a legislation summary of H.B. 96, Fraud Amendments, and gives a
comparison of U.S. state criminal penalties for defrauding creditors.

Utah’s Law on Defrauding Creditors

Currently, in Section 76-6-511 an actor commits the offense of defrauding of creditors if the
actor:

1) destroys, conceals, removes, transfers, or encumbers property that is subject to interest
with a purpose to hinder enforcement of that interest; or

2) knowing proceedings will be or already have been instituted for the appointment of a
person entitled to administer property for creditor’s benefit:

a. destroys, removes, encumbers, conceals, or transfers property with a purpose to
defeat or obstruct the claim of any creditor, or otherwise obstructs the operation
of any law related to the administration of property for creditors’ benefit; or

b. presents a false statement, orally or in writing, to a creditor about the actor’s
estate knowing that a material part of the statement is false.

H.B. 96, Fraud Amendments expands the first manner by which an actor can defraud creditors.
Specifically, adding “depriving the secured party of lawful possession of the property” to the
purposes that an actor can have to be guilty of the offense.

Penalty for Defrauding a Creditor

The current penalty for defrauding a creditor is a class A misdemeanor. H.B. 96, Fraud
Amendments amends Section 76-6-511 to create a tiered penalty based on property value. This
tiered system is consistent with other Utah Fraud and theft statutes such as Section 76-6-404
Theft, Section 76-6-513, Unlawful dealing of property by a fiduciary, Section 76-6-518 Criminal
simulation, or Section 76-5-521 Insurance fraud.

Table 1- H.B. 96-Tiered Penalty System for Defrauding Creditors

Property Value Penalty

Less than $500.00 Class B misdemeanor
$500.00 or more, but less than $1,500.00 Class A misdemeanor
$1,500.00 or more, but less than $5,000.00 Third degree felony
$5,000.00 or more Second degree felony

U.S. State Comparison of Penalties for Defrauding Creditors

A comparison of U.S. state laws on defrauding creditors found:
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e At least 15 states, including Utah, charge defrauding a creditor as a misdemeanor.
e At least 14 states charge defrauding a creditor as a felony.
e Of the 14 states that charge defrauding a creditor as a felony, 10 have a tiered penalty
system.
o Tiered penalties vary by state and are based on pecuniary loss, collateral value,
property value, interest value, or actions taken to defraud. (See Map 1)

Map 1- Defrauding Creditors, Penalties by U.S. State

W Tiered penalty
system

| Felony
Misdemeanor
~ Other

Crealed with mapcharl.net

States w/ Felony Penalties for Defrauding Creditors Tiered System
Alaska 11-46-730 v (pecuniary loss)
Arizona 13-2204

Arkansas 5-37-203 v’ (actions to defraud)
Colorado 18-5-206 v (value of collateral)
California Penal Code 154 and Penal Code 155 v (property value)
Illinois 17-27 v’ (benefit derived from violation or action to defraud)
Kentucky 517.060 v’ (property value)
New Jersey 2C:21-12

Ohio 2913.45 v (property value)
Rhode Island 11-18-25

South Dakota 54-8-20 and 54-8-22 v (actions to defraud)
Tennessee 39-14-116

Texas 32.33 v (property value)
Wyoming 6-3-607 v (value of interest)
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