

Thursday, February 27, 202514:00 p.m.1445 State Capitol

#### **Members Present:**

Rep. Kay J. Christofferson, Chair

Rep. Ariel Defay, Vice Chair

Rep. Kristen Chevrier

Rep. Rosalba Dominguez

Rep. Ken Ivory

Rep. Ashlee Matthews

Rep. Clinton D. Okerlund

Rep. Michael J. Petersen Rep. Calvin Roberts

Rep. Angela Romero

Rep. Jake Sawyer

Rep. Norman K Thurston

### Staff Present:

Rachel Brooks, Policy Analyst

Karen C. Allred, Committee Secretary

Rep. A. Romero

Note: A copy of related materials and an audio recording of the meeting can be found at www.le.utah.gov.

Vice Chair Defay called the meeting to order 4:04 p.m.

MOTION: Rep. Chevrier moved to approve the minutes of the February 26, 2025 meeting. The motion passed

with a vote of 8 - 0 - 4.

Yeas - 8 Nays - 0 Absent - 4 Rep. K. Chevrier Rep. K. Ivory

Rep. K. Christofferson Rep. A. Matthews Rep. A. Defay Rep. C. Roberts

Rep. R. Dominguez

Rep. C. Okerlund

Rep. M. Petersen

Rep. J. Sawyer

Rep. N. Thurston

# 1. S.B. 251 Commercial Vehicle Registration Amendments (Ipson, D.)

Sen. Don Ipson presented the bill.

MOTION: Rep. Thurston moved to amend S.B. 251 with Amendment #1. The motion passed with a vote of 9 -

0 - 3.

### Amendment 1

Line 52 through 55: 1.

52 transferred without first obtaining a Utah title.

53 {(4)A vehicle with a conditional registration under this section does not qualify for the }

{alternative special registration card and registration decal described in Section 41-1a-232.} 54

(4)If a Utah title is not issued for a vehicle within 10 months of the beginning of the month in which a conditional registration is issued for the vehicle, the division shall:

(a)revoke the conditional registration for the vehicle; and

(b)not allow the vehicle to be registered in the state until a Utah title is obtained for the vehicle.

55 (5)A commercial vehicle that is issued a conditional registration as provided in this section

Line 59: 2.

59 division. Nays - 0

Navs - 0



(7)A conditional registration under this section may not be issued to a vehicle subject to apportioned registration under Section 41-1a-301.

<u>Yeas - 9</u> Rep. K. Chevrier

Rep. K. Christofferson

Rep. A. Defay

Rep. R. Dominguez

Rep. K. Ivory

Rep. C. Okerlund

Rep. M. Petersen

Rep. J. Sawyer

Rep. N. Thurston

**MOTION:** Rep. Thurston moved to pass S.B. 251 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 9 - 0 - 3.

Yeas - 9

Rep. K. Chevrier

Rep. K. Christofferson

Rep. A. Defay

Rep. R. Dominguez

Rep. K. Ivory

Rep. C. Okerlund

Rep. M. Petersen

Rep. J. Sawyer

Rep. N. Thurston

. . . .

Absent - 2

Rep. C. Roberts

Rep. N. Thurston

Absent - 3

Rep. A. Matthews

Rep. C. Roberts

Rep. A. Romero

Absent - 3 Rep. A. Matthews

Rep. C. Roberts Rep. A. Romero

# 2. 2nd Sub. S.B. 106 Utah-Ireland Trade Commission (Harper, W.)

Sen. Wayne Harper presented the bill.

**MOTION:** Rep. Ivory moved to pass 2nd Substitute S.B. 106 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of

10 - 0 - 2.

<u>Yeas - 10</u> Rep. K. Chevrier

Rep. K. Christofferson

Rep. A. Defay

Rep. R. Dominguez

Rep. K. Ivorv

Rep. A. Matthews

Rep. C. Okerlund

Rep. M. Petersen

Rep. A. Romero

Rep. J. Sawyer

3. 3rd Sub. S.B. 195 Transportation Amendments (Harper, W.)

Sen. Wayne Harper presented the bill.

Janet Heming, Past Chair, Yalecrest Neighborhood Council, spoke in favor of the bill.

Navs - 0

Kim Patorzo, Trustee, Sugarhouse Community Council, spoke in opposition to the bill.

Katherine Salamone, resident, Salt Lake City, spoke in opposition to the bill.



Lisa Hazel, citizen, spoke in opposition to the bill.

Carter Bollock, student, spoke in opposition to the bill.

Darin Bushman, Director, Bureau of Emergency Medical Services, Department of Public Safety, spoke in favor of the

Larin Barlow, resident, Salt Lake City, spoke in opposition to the bill.

Coby Riddle, resident, Salt Lake City, spoke in opposition to the bill.

Julian Jurkoic, Advocate, Sweet Street Salt Lake City, spoke in opposition to the bill.

Lia Jay, Strong Towns Lehi, spoke in opposition to the bill.

Rachel Otto, Salt Lake City, spoke in favor of the bill.

Rep. Ivory raised a point of order.

Soren Simonsen, Jordan River Commission, spoke to the bill.

Dave Iltis, citizen, spoke in opposition to the bill.

MOTION:

Rep. Thurston moved to replace 3rd Substitute S.B. 195 with 5th Substitute S.B. 195. The motion passed with a vote of 12 - 0 - 0.

Yeas - 12 Nays - 0 Absent - 0

Rep. K. Chevrier

Rep. K. Christofferson

Rep. A. Defay

Rep. R. Dominguez

Rep. K. Ivory

Rep. A. Matthews

Rep. C. Okerlund

Rep. M. Petersen

Rep. C. Roberts

Rep. A. Romero

Rep. J. Sawyer

Rep. N. Thurston

MOTION:

Rep. Ivory moved to pass 5th Substitute S.B. 195 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 10 - 2 - 0.

Yeas - 10 Absent - 0 Nays - 2 Rep. R. Dominguez

Rep. A. Romero

Rep. K. Chevrier

Rep. K. Christofferson

Rep. A. Defay

Rep. K. Ivory

Rep. A. Matthews

Rep. C. Okerlund

Rep. M. Petersen

Rep. C. Roberts

Rep. J. Sawyer

Rep. N. Thurston

## 4. S.B. 253 Railroad and Transportation Amendments (Harper, W.)



Sen. Wayne Harper presented the bill.

Leann Hunting, Director, Utah Department of Agriculture and Food, spoke to the bill.

Nathan Anderson, Union Pacific Railroad, spoke in favor of the bill.

Lisa Wilson, Deputy Director, Utah Department Of Transportation, spoke to the bill.

Daniel Brewer, State Legislative, Safety, and Government Affairs Director, SMART Transportation Union, spoke in opposition to the bill.

Jeff Hartley, representing Vineyard City, spoke in favor of the bill.

Jay Seegmiller, retired railroad conductor, spoke in opposition to the bill.

Wade Garrett, Vice President of Public Policy, Utah Farm Bureau, spoke in favor of the bill.

MOTION:

Rep. Matthews moved to replace S.B. 253 with 3rd Substitute S.B. 253. The motion failed with a vote of 3 - 9 - 0.

<u>Yeas - 3</u> <u>Nays - 9</u> <u>Absent - 0</u>

Rep. R. Dominguez
Rep. A. Matthews
Rep. K. Chevrier
Rep. K. Christofferson

Rep. A. Romero

Rep. A. Defay
Rep. K. Ivory
Rep. C. Okerlund
Rep. M. Petersen
Rep. C. Roberts
Rep. J. Sawyer
Rep. N. Thurston

**MOTION:** Rep. Matthews moved to pass S.B. 253 out favorably. The motion passed with a vote of 12 - 0 - 0.

Yeas - 12 Nays - 0 Absent - 0

Rep. K. Chevrier

Rep. K. Christofferson

Rep. A. Defay

Rep. R. Dominguez

Rep. K. Ivory

Rep. A. Matthews

Rep. C. Okerlund

Rep. M. Petersen

Rep. C. Roberts

Rep. A. Romero

Rep. J. Sawyer

Rep. N. Thurston

**MOTION:** Rep. Sawyer moved to adjourn. The motion passed with a vote of 12 - 0 - 0.



Yeas - 12 <u>Nays - 0</u> Absent - 0

Rep. K. Chevrier

Rep. K. Christofferson Rep. A. Defay

Rep. R. Dominguez

Rep. K. Ivory

Rep. A. Matthews

Rep. C. Okerlund

Rep. M. Petersen

Rep. C. Roberts

Rep. A. Romero

Rep. J. Sawyer

Rep. N. Thurston

Vice Chair Defay adjourned the meeting at 5:21 p.m.