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Motor and Special Fuel3 Taxes 
Utah, like nearly every other state, levies a tax on 

motor and special fuels. Utah does not, however, 

levy both an excise and a sales tax on motor and 

special fuels like is done in twelve other states. 

 

First implemented in Utah in 1923 as an excise tax 

on motor fuel only, then expanded in 1941 to include 

an excise tax on special fuel, the state has built its 

roads and highways primarily from the revenues 

from these two taxes. 

 

Figure 1 compares Utah's motor and special fuel tax 

rates to the taxes levied in other western states. 
 

 

 

State Motor Fuel Special Fuel 

California 42.4¢ 39.4¢ 

Washington 37.5¢ 37.5¢ 

Nevada 33.9¢ 28.6¢ 

Idaho 32.0¢ 32.0¢ 

Oregon 31.1¢ 30.3¢ 

Montana 27.8¢ 28.5¢ 

Utah 24.5¢ 24.5¢ 

Wyoming 24.0¢ 24.0¢ 

Colorado 22.0¢ 20.5¢ 

Arizona 19.0¢ 27.0¢ 

New Mexico 18.9¢ 22.9¢ 

 
 

Motor and Special Fuel Tax: A 
Historical Perspective 
In 1941, Utah implemented an excise tax on special 

fuel of 4 cents per gallon, the same rate it had levied 

on motor fuels. The revenue generated by these taxes 

was deposited into the General Fund. Although 

many of these taxes were used to fund transportation 

needs, some of the revenue was allocated for other 

purposes. 

 

HIGHLIGHTS 
 Utah first implemented an excise tax on motor 

fuel1 (gasoline) in 1923, at a rate of 2.5 cents 

per gallon. Eighteen years later, in 1941, Utah 

implemented an excise tax on special fuels2 

(diesel). Revenues generated from these taxes 

funded a variety of projects, including the 

state's transportation infrastructure. 

 The state is facing an estimated $11.3 billion 

shortfall in projected transportation needs over 

the next 25 years because, in real dollars, 

revenue from these taxes is going down as 

transportation needs are going up. 

 In 2015, to begin addressing this shortfall the 

Legislature passed HB 362, Transportation 

Infrastructure Funding, changing the motor and 

special fuel taxes from an excise tax to a 

modified sales tax. 

 The rate of the new modified sales tax is 12% 

of the statewide average wholesale pretax price 

of a gallon of regular unleaded motor fuel 

during the previous three fiscal years. 

 Beginning in 2016, the new modified sales tax 

on a gallon of unleaded gasoline and diesel fuel 

will be no less than 29.4 cents. This amounts to 

a 4.9 cent increase over the current per gallon 

excise tax. 

 These new taxes allow the per gallon tax to rise 

and fall with the price of fuel, whereas an 

excise tax is a flat rate per gallon, regardless of 

the price. In this manner, the new taxes provide 

an annual adjustment as the statewide average 

wholesale price of fuel fluctuates within the 

floor ($2.45) and ceiling ($3.33) prices, which 

could not be easily accomplished with an 

excise tax. 

 Revenue generated from this new modified 

sales tax through 2040 is estimated to be $4.3 

billion. Although this new tax represents a 

significant step toward funding transportation, 

according to the state's estimates, the tax still 

falls $7 billion short in meeting the state's 

projected transportation needs. 
 

 

Figure 1 - Motor and Special Fuel Rates in 
Western States 

Source: American Petroleum Institute 
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In 1961, in an effort to assure better transportation 

funding, the state approved a constitutional 

amendment, providing that "[p]roceeds from fees, 

taxes, and other charges related to the operation of 

motor vehicles on public highways and proceeds 

from an excise tax on liquid motor fuel . . . shall be 

used for: . . . (b) the construction, maintenance, and 

repair of State and local roads . . ." 

 Since then, in addition to other transportation uses 

authorized by the constitutional amendment, taxes on 

motor and special fuels have been deposited into the 

Transportation Fund and have been exclusively used 

to construct, maintain, and repair Utah's 

transportation infrastructure. Fees, taxes, and other 

charges earmarked by this amendment are also 

deposited into the Transportation Fund. 

 

Figure 2 shows the increases and total tax per gallon 

for motor and special fuel taxes since each tax was 

implemented. 

Figure 3 shows the amount of annual revenue 

collected from motor and special fuel taxes since 

1976. 

 

Allocation of Motor and Special 
Fuel Taxes 
The Utah Transportation Commission is responsible 

to annually prioritize transportation projects and to 

determine the funding levels for those prioritized 

projects. These projects are paid for with money 

from the Transportation Fund, the Transportation 

Investment Fund, and the Critical Highway Needs 

Fund.4 

 

Revenue from the motor and special fuel taxes are 

deposited into the Transportation Fund. In fact, 82% 

of the Transportation Fund is made up of revenues 

from motor and special fuel taxes. The balance of the 

Transportation Fund is made up from vehicle 

registration and highway user fees. The 

Transportation Fund is primarily used to pay for the 

maintenance of state highways (see Figure 4). 

 

To guide the Transportation Commission in 

allocating these funds, state law directs that 70% of 

Transportation Fund money goes to the Utah 

Department of Transportation and 30% goes to the B 

Sources: U.S. Census Bureau, U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, and 
Utah State Tax Commission 
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Figure 2 - Utah Fuel Tax Rates: 1923-
2015

Motor Fuel Special Fuel

Source: Utah State Tax Commission 
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Figure 3 - Fuel Tax Revenues: 1976-
2014

Motor Fuel Tax Special Fuel Tax

Source: Utah State Tax Commission 

Motor Fuel Tax, 
$256,760,145, 59%

Special Fuel Tax, 
$101,705,632, 23%

Vehicle Registration 
Fees, $39,580,066, 9%

Highway User Fees, 
$34,063,193, 8%

Other, $5,578,455, 
1%

Figure 4 - Transportation Fund 
Revenue: FY 2014 

Source: Utah State Tax Commission 
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and C Roads Account for distribution to cities and 

counties based on a funding formula that includes 

factors like road length and pavement type. 

 
Current Motor and Special Fuel 
Taxes are Inadequate 
The current fuel tax is inadequate because it is levied 

at a constant rate, which loses value each year due to 

inflation (see Figure 5), increased construction costs, 

and more fuel efficient vehicles (see Figure 6). 

Additionally, a rapidly growing population not only 

requires more new roads, but also demands more 

efficient and safer roads and highways (see Figure 

7). 

 

With no change in Utah's transportation funding it is 

estimated that Utah will experience an $11.3 billion 

shortfall in meeting its projected transportation needs 

over the next 25 years.5 

A New Funding Structure 
Excise Tax - Repealed 
Because the current excise tax of 24.5 cents per 

gallon is no longer adequate in providing the 

necessary transportation revenues, the 2015 

Legislature created a new funding structure by 

passing HB 362, Transportation Infrastructure 

Funding. 

 

Within this new structure, the current tax, last 

increased in 1997, will continue through December 

31, 2015. Beginning on January 1, 2016, the current 

excise tax will be replaced with a modified sales tax, 

allowing the tax rate to annually increase or decrease 

according to a preestablished process.  

 
New Tax Rate 
Unlike a traditional sales tax, which is assessed at 

the retail level as a percentage of the purchase price, 

this new modified sales tax is based on the statewide 

average wholesale pretax price of a gallon of regular 

unleaded motor fuel during the previous three fiscal 

years. 
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Figure 5 - Real per Capita Combined 
Motor and Special Fuel Tax Revenues: 

1976-2014

Year of Rate Increase Other Years

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Utah 
State Tax Commission 
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Figure 6 - Vehicle Miles Traveled 
(columns) and Taxable Gallons of Fuel 

(line): 1976-2014

VMT Taxable Gallons of Fuel

Source: Utah Department of Transportation Utah State Tax 
Commission 
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Figure 7 - Utah Population: 1950-2040 

Source: U.S. Census Bureau and Governor’s Office of Management 
and Budget 



 
4 

Through 2018, at the end of each fiscal year, the new 

tax will be calculated as 12% of the statewide 

average wholesale price of the previous fiscal year.  

Beginning in 2019, the tax will be annually 

calculated as 12% of the statewide average 

wholesale price of the previous three fiscal years. 

The tax rate will remain in effect for one calendar 

year regardless of price fluctuations during that 

calendar year. 

 

Minimum/Maximum Tax Rate per Gallon 
To protect consumers and the state against volatile 

fuel prices, the new tax establishes both a minimum 

and maximum tax per gallon. As a modified sales tax 

of 12%, if the statewide average wholesale pretax 

price of a gallon of regular, unleaded motor fuel was 

$2.45 or less in fiscal year 2015, the minimum tax 

will be 29.4 cents during the 2016 calendar year. 

This results in no less than a 4.9 cent per gallon 

increase when the new tax takes effect on January 1, 

2016. 

 

For each 10 cent increase in the statewide average 

wholesale price above $2.45, the tax will increase by 

1.2 cents per gallon until the average price is at or 

above $3.33 per gallon (see Figure 8). 

 

When the statewide average wholesale price per 

gallon is equal to or greater than $3.33, the 

maximum tax will be 40 cents per gallon. This 

modified sales tax allows an annual rate of 

adjustment, either up or down within the floor ($2.45 

or 29.4¢) and ceiling ($3.33 or 40¢) prices, 

depending on the statewide average wholesale price 

of a gallon of regular, unleaded motor fuel.  

 
The Minimum Tax Rate is Adjusted for 
Inflation 
To protect the Transportation Fund from the 

diminishing effects of inflation, the minimum tax 

rate is to be annually adjusted for inflation beginning 

the first year after the statewide average wholesale 

price of fuel reaches $2.45. This inflationary 

adjustment to the floor (minimum tax rate) is equal 

to the annual percentage change in the consumer 

price index.6 

 

The first year after the statewide average wholesale 

price of fuel reaches $2.45, the Utah State Tax 

Commission will annually adjust the minimum tax 

rate by the percent change in the consumer price 

index or zero, whichever is greater. Note: since 

1940, the annual consumer price index has only been  

a negative number in 1949, 1955, and 2009. 

 

The trigger for implementing the annual inflation 

adjustment to the minimum tax rate is the first year 

after the statewide average wholesale price reaches 

$2.45. That year is represented as year 1 in the first 

column of Figure 9. 

 

The purpose of Figure 9 is to demonstrate how the 

floor is annually adjusted to inflation. This 

calculation requires several assumptions. First, one 

has to assume some hypothetical statewide average 

fuel prices. The per gallon fuel prices used are 

random prices, generated for demonstration purposes 

only. These fuel prices are not projections or 

predictions of actual fuel prices. Second, the 2.3% 

used to represent the consumer price index is 

actually the 10-year average of the index. Actual fuel 

prices and actual consumer price indexes will differ. 

Given these assumptions, Figure 9 demonstrates how 

the floor (minimum tax rate) will rise at the same 

rate as inflation once the price of fuel reaches $2.45. 

 

Utah State Tax Commission to Calculate 
Statewide Average Wholesale Price of 
Gasoline and Adjust Minimum Tax Rate for 
Inflation 
The Utah State Tax Commission will annually adjust 

the floor (minimum tax rate) for inflation once the 

Figure 8 - Average Price per Gallon/New 

Source: Office of Legislative Research and General Counsel 
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price of fuel reaches $2.45 and calculate the 

statewide average price of a gallon of regular 

unleaded motor fuel using pretax wholesale prices 

supplied by an oil pricing service. The Tax 

Commission will annually adjust and publicly 

announce the new tax rate in cents per gallon, 

rounded to the nearest one-tenth of a percent, no less 

than 60 days before January 1 of each year, when the 

new tax rate will take effect. 

 

Projected Transportation Needs Outpace 
Projected New Tax Revenues 
Over the next 25 years, assuming the statewide 

average pretax price of fuel does not reach $2.45 

until 2023, the projected revenues from this new 

modified sales tax on motor and special fuels are 

estimated to be $4.3 billion, $7 billion short of 

meeting the estimated transportation needs during 

that same period (see Figure 10). 

 
New Local Option Sales and Use Tax 
Authorized 
Local governments receive 30% of the 

Transportation Fund to construct, maintain, and 

repair local roads. Additionally, local governments 

have also been authorized to levy local option sales 

and use taxes up to .80% for transportation needs. 

Under this new taxing structure local governments 

are authorized to levy an additional .25% sales and 

use tax for roads and public transit districts only. If 

local governments believe revenues are insufficient 

for their needs, they may implement this new tax 

with voter approval. Revenue raised by this new 

sales and use tax will reduce the projected revenue 

shortfall. 

 
Other Special Fuels 
Some fuels, such as natural gas, liquified natural gas, 

and hydrogen are not conveniently measured by the 

gallon. Such fuels have been taxed at lower rates as 

both a reward and an incentive for consumers to use 

these cleaner burning fuels. 
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Figure 10 - Revenue Projections for 
New Gas Tax: 2015-2040

Source: Office of Legislative Fiscal Analyst 

Figure 9 – Hypothetical Annual Inflation 
Adjustment to the Minimum Tax Rate 

¹ Year 1 represents the first year after the statewide average 
pretax price of a gallon of regular unleaded fuel reaches $2.45. 
² Beginning in 2019, the statewide average price of fuel is based 
on the previous three fiscal years. Prior to that date, the statewide 
average price is based on the previous fiscal year. The fuel prices 
used in this Figure 9 are assumed to be the statewide average 
prices. These fuel prices are not projections or predictions of future 
fuel prices. 
³ The consumer price index is produced by the U.S. Bureau of 
Labor Statistics. The percentage change of 2.3% used in Figure 9 
is the average percentage change in the consumer price index 
since 2005. 
 
Source: Office of Legislative Research and General Counsel 
 

Y
e
a
r1 Fuel 

Price2

Annual Inflation 

Adjustment3 Floor

Min 

Tax 

Rate

$3.05 Ceiling reached $3.33 40.0¢

$3.45 Ceiling reached $3.33 40.0¢

$3.40 Ceiling reached $3.33 40.0¢

13 $3.39 3.22 + (3.22 * 2.3%) $3.29 39.8¢

12 $3.29 3.15 + (3.15 * 2.3%) $3.22 38.8¢

11 $3.29 3.08 + (3.08 * 2.3%) $3.15 37.8¢

10 $3.10 3.01 + (3.01 * 2.3%) $3.08 37.0¢

9 $2.80 2.94 + (2.94 * 2.3%) $3.01 37.2¢

8 $3.30 2.87 + (2.87 * 2.3%) $2.94 37.2¢

7 $3.20 2.81 + (2.81 * 2.3%) $2.87 34.4¢

6 $2.80 2.75 + (2.75 * 2.3%) $2.81 33.7¢

5 $2.20 2.69 + (2.69 * 2.3%) $2.75 33.0¢

4 $2.50 2.63 + (2.63 * 2.3%) $2.69 32.3¢

3 $2.80 2.57 + (2.57 * 2.3%) $2.63 31.6¢

2 $2.65 2.51 + (2.51 * 2.3%) $2.57 30.8¢

1 $2.35 2.45 + (2.45 * 2.3%) $2.51 30.1¢

$2.60 Floor reached $2.45 29.4¢

$2.34 Floor not reached $2.45 29.4¢

$2.20 Floor not reached $2.45 29.4¢
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Although state policy continues to provide an 

incentive for consumers to use cleaner burning fuels 

by keeping taxes low, under the new taxing structure 

taxes on natural gas will increase over time. 

Beginning July 1, 2015, the tax on compressed and 

liquified natural gas will go from 8.5 cents to 10.5 

cents per fuel gallon equivalent. This rate will 

increase by 2 cents each fiscal year until the tax rate 

is 16.5 cents per fuel gallon equivalent in 2018. The 

tax on clean burning special fuels is an excise tax 

because the rate is not based on a percentage of the 

sales price. 

 

The maximum tax rate on gasoline and diesel is 40 

cents per gallon, whereas the maximum tax on 

compressed natural gas, liquified natural gas, and 

hydrogen is 16.5 cents. Revenue raised by taxing 

these clean burning fuels will reduce the projected 

shortfall in transportation needs.  

 

End Notes 
1 Motor fuel is gasoline or gasohol but does not include aviation or 

diesel fuel. 
2 Special fuel is diesel fuel and any other fuel, except motor and 

aviation fuel, used to operate a motor vehicle on the public highways 

of the state. 
3 The new modified sales tax on special fuel includes diesel, but 

excludes compressed natural gas, liquefied natural gas, and hydrogen. 

These cleaner burning fuels will continue to be taxed on a flat rate per 

gallon equivalent, regardless of price. 
4 The Transportation Investment Fund receives revenue from an 

annual transfer of about $70 million from the Transportation Fund, 

legislative appropriations, a designated portion of vehicle registration 

fees, sales and use tax dedications, and voluntary contributions. 

Money in the Transportation Investment Fund is used primarily for 

construction, reconstruction, and renovation of state and federal 

highways. The Critical Highway Needs Fund receives revenue from 

voluntary contributions and appropriations made by the Legislature. 

Money in this fund is used for state and federal highway projects 

identified by UDOT and prioritized by the Utah Transportation 

Commission that are high priority due to high growth in the 

surrounding areas, impacts from commercial and energy development, 

the opportunity for congestion mitigation, the availability of local 

matching funds, and the need for alternative routes in conjunction with 

Interstate 15 reconstruction projects. 
5 The Utah Department of Transportation, Utah's metropolitan 

planning organizations, the Utah Transit Authority, and other local 

transit agencies have produced an estimate of Utah's transportation 

needs. 
6 The consumer price index, as explained by the United States Bureau 

of Statistics, is a measure of the average change over time in the prices 

paid by urban consumers for a market basket of consumer goods and 

services. The basket of goods includes food, housing, clothing, 

gasoline, medical services, education, and recreation. This index is 

regularly used as a measure of inflation as experienced by consumers 

in their day-to-day living expenses. 

 

SUMMARY 
 Except for cleaner burning natural gas and 

hydrogen, the new motor and special fuel 

tax rate is 12% of the statewide average 

wholesale pretax price of a gallon of 

regular unleaded fuel. 

 Beginning on January 1, 2016, the 

minimum tax on a gallon of unleaded gas 

and diesel fuel will be at least 29.4 cents. 

 This new tax rate is annually increased as 

inflation and the statewide average 

wholesale price of fuel increases, until the 

tax is 40 cents per gallon. 

 The maximum 40 cent per gallon tax rate is 

met when either the statewide average 

wholesale price reaches $3.33 or the 

inflationary adjustment to the minimum tax 

rate meets or exceeds 40 cents per gallon. 

 Although this new modified sales tax on 

gasoline and diesel represents a significant 

step toward funding transportation, the 

modified sales tax on motor and special 

fuel still falls $7 billion short in meeting 

the state's projected transportation needs 

over the next 25 years. 

 Any revenue raised by local governments 

by implementing a .25% local option sales 

and use tax for roads and public transit 

districts will go toward reducing the 

projected revenue shortfall. 

 Any revenue raised from the tax on other 

special fuels, such as natural gas and 

hydrogen, will all go toward reducing the 

projected revenue shortfall. 


