From: Peggy Burdett
To: David Lifferth, Jack Draxler, Paul Ray, Craig Hall, Brian Greene, Derrin Owens, Bradley Daw, Keith Grover, Keith Grover,
Subject: SB234 Are Utah Legislators qualified to legislate RISKY Medical Procedures?
Date: Thu Mar 10 18:58:22 MST 2016
I am very uncomfortable with "risky" medical procedures being determined
on the floor of the Utah Legislature!  Why should Utah Laws put women at risk for
medical procedures?

Peggy Burdett

Bramble says that the science is inconclusive on whether a 20 weeks old fetus can feel pain, so “to be on the safe side” heavy anesthesia should be administered. 

But administering the anesthetic, three maternal-fetal doctors from Intermountain Healthcare and the University of Utah told the committee, can be extremely risky to the woman, including a “high risk of aspirating and death.” And while they agreed that the science is inconclusive that a 20 week fetus being pain-capable, the words lawmakers are seeking to force them to tell their patients are inaccurate and misleading. Doctors Alexandra Eller, Sean Esplin, and Doug Richard had strong words for committee members.

I don’t want to be required to tell my patients things that are untrue,” Dr. Richard told lawmakers. Esplin agreed, adding that “I wouldn’t come up here and testify about a tax bill because I’m not a tax expert; but on this subject I am and this isn’t truthful with patients.”

Right now, the three doctors testified, women having abortions after 20 weeks are given the option of choosing fetal anesthesia, and the risks are fully explained so that the woman can make an informed choice. “You’re now mandating [women] take that risk, based on inconclusive and biased evidence. You don’t understand what you’re legislating,” Dr. Esplin said.

Bramble acknowledged that there may be some risk, saying “It may be true a woman may feel physical or emotional pain, but we have to balance that with the pain of the unborn baby.”