From: Brock Lyle
To: Michael K. McKell,
Subject: RE: Overstock's Position on HB 241
Date: Wed Feb 07 03:23:01 MST 2018
Body:

The reference to principled opposition was intended to mean that the Utah business community’s opposition to prior non-compete ban attempts was based on the principles such bans would violate, not just on each company’s interest. Please let me know if you have additional questions or would like to discuss further.


Best regards,


Brock Lyle 

 

From: Michael K. McKell [mailto:mmckell@le.utah.gov]
Sent: Tuesday, February 6, 2018 5:08 PM
To: Brock Lyle <blyle@overstock.com>
Subject: Re: Overstock's Position on HB 241

 

Brock,

 

I am confused to the meaning “principled” opposition. What exactly do you mean by this. I am still undecided on this legislation.

 

Mike McKell

 

From: Brock Lyle <blyle@overstock.com>
Date: Tuesday, February 6, 2018 at 2:24 PM
To: Jim Dunnigan <
jdunnigan@le.utah.gov>, Marc Roberts <mroberts@le.utah.gov>, Mike Schultz <mikeschultz@le.utah.gov>, Susan Duckworth <sduckworth@le.utah.gov>, John Knotwell <jknotwell@le.utah.gov>, Val Potter <valpotter@le.utah.gov>, Gage Froerer <gfroerer@le.utah.gov>, Michael McKell <mmckell@le.utah.gov>, Curt Webb <curtwebb@le.utah.gov>, Mark Wheatley <markwheatley@le.utah.gov>, Timothy Hawkes <thawkes@le.utah.gov>, Jeremy Peterson <jeremyapeterson@le.utah.gov>, Jon Stanard <jstanard@le.utah.gov>, Brad Wilson <bradwilson@le.utah.gov>
Subject: Overstock's Position on HB 241

 

Dear Representatives,

 

We are writing to you about HB 241. We have heard the Committee was told there was no opposition to the bill. This is surprising given the strong and principled opposition from the business community on this issue over the past two years. Overstock opposes this bill, and we are not alone.

 

HB 241 ignores the efforts of a joint Legislative and business working group that has been examining this issue since 2016. The results of that effort seem to indicate that there is no need for further legislation. The Legislature also spent $50,000 of taxpayer funds, and asked local businesses to contribute an additional $50,000. After that “data driven” process, HB 241 not only disregards but actually contradicts the data. Overstock is concerned that its own industry will be targeted next because HB 241 undermines the principles in the current non-compete law. As a result, Overstock opposes HB 241 and plans to make a statement to the Committee at the upcoming hearing.

 

We would welcome the opportunity to meet with any of you to explain our position. We thank you for serving our state.

 

Sincerely,

 

Brock R. Lyle

Associate General Counsel

Overstock.com, Inc.

(801) 947-3149

 

 

 

 



CONFIDENTIALITY NOTICE: This message is intended only for the use and review of the individual or entity to which it is addressed and may contain information that is privileged and confidential. If the reader of this message is not the intended recipient, or the employee or agent responsible for delivering the message solely to the intended recipient, you are hereby notified that any dissemination, distribution or copying of this communication is strictly prohibited. If you have received this communication in error, please notify sender immediately by telephone or return email. Thank you.




CONFIDENTIALITY NOTICE: This message is intended only for the use and review of the individual or entity to which it is addressed and may contain information that is privileged and confidential. If the reader of this message is not the intended recipient, or the employee or agent responsible for delivering the message solely to the intended recipient, you are hereby notified that any dissemination, distribution or copying of this communication is strictly prohibited. If you have received this communication in error, please notify sender immediately by telephone or return email. Thank you.