From: Timothy D. Hawkes
To: Don Guymon, Jim Dunnigan, Marc Roberts, Susan Duckworth, Gage Froerer, John Knotwell, Michael K. McKell, val.potter, Mike Schultz, Brad Wilson, Jeremy Peterson, Curt Webb,
Subject: Re: Important Information to Consider Before Voting on HB 485
Date: Mon Mar 05 05:28:12 MST 2018
Body:

Don:

 

The point of the proviso is to set up a test case, right? Well, the minute someone collects signatures, the bylaw jeopardizes the party’s QPP status. It doesn’t matter how narrowly if it’s drawn. The Party either abides by QPP, or it does not. If the party doesn’t abide by QPP, then the Party isn’t QPP and likely isn’t RPP either. If that happens, the folks most directly at risk are those who *haven’t* collected signatures—the caucus only folks. Most of the election experts who’ve looked at this think the bylaw directly jeopardizes the Party’s QPP status for this election.

 

I’m an attorney, and I don’t see how restricting it to First and Second District races is any different from a legal standpoint than applying it across the board. Many caucus only folks are contemplating gathering signatures in an effort to ensure they don’t get left off the ballot if the Party’s QPP status is voided. Presumably, that’s not the outcome the SCC had in mind when it passed its bylaw, but that’s the effect.

 

Respectfully,

Rep. Hawkes

 

 

From: Don Guymon <donguymon@gmail.com>
Date: Sunday, March 4, 2018 at 10:00 PM
To: Jim Dunnigan <jdunnigan@le.utah.gov>, Marc Roberts <mroberts@le.utah.gov>, Susan Duckworth <sduckworth@le.utah.gov>, Gage Froerer <gfroerer@le.utah.gov>, Timothy Hawkes <thawkes@le.utah.gov>, John Knotwell <jknotwell@le.utah.gov>, Michael McKell <mmckell@le.utah.gov>, "val.potter@comcast.net" <val.potter@comcast.net>, Mike Schultz <mikeschultzcch@gmail.com>, Brad Wilson <electbradwilson@gmail.com>, Jeremy Peterson <jeremyapeterson@le.utah.gov>, Curt Webb <curtwebb@le.utah.gov>
Subject: Important Information to Consider Before Voting on HB 485

 

Representatives, 

 

Thank you for your service as you wrap up the 2018 Legislative Session.

 

Before voting on HB 485, I hope you will review the bylaw passed by the Utah Republican Party State Central Committee which is attached to this email.  Please note the last paragraph of the attachment which includes the Proviso that for the 2018 election, this bylaw only applies to the Congressional First and Second District Races.  At the time of the passage of this bylaw, these two races had no candidate declare intent to gather signatures.  The bylaw would have no impact on any current candidates.

 

I would also invite you to read my column recently published in the Salt Lake Tribune.  Utah Republicans have first amendment rights of free speech and assembly.  We hope you will consider these rights and vote no on this legislation.  https://www.sltrib.com/opinion/commentary/2018/03/03/commentary-utah-republicans-are-just-protecting-their-first-amendment-rights/

 

 

Thank you for your consideration and your service.

 

Don Guymon

801-574-9461