From: Christel S
To: Angela Romero, Becky Edwards, Rebecca Lockhart, Brad Wilson, Brian King, Craig Hall, Curtis Oda, Carol Moss, Curt Webb, Don Ipson, Dana Layton, David Lifferth, Daniel McCay, Doug Sagers, Dixon Pitcher, Dean Sanpei, Earl Tanner, Eric Hutchings, Edward Redd, Francis Gibson, Gage Froerer, Greg Hughes, Jacob Anderegg, Johnny Anderson, Janice Fisher, Jim Bird, Joel Briscoe, Jon Cox, Jack Draxler, Jim Dunnigan, Jeremy Peterson, Jerry Anderson, Jim Nielson, John Knotwell, John G. Mathis, Jennifer M. Seelig, Jon Stanard, John Westwood, Kay Mciff, Kay Christofferson, Keith Grover, Ken Ivory, Keven John Stratton, larrywiley, LaVar Christensen, Lee Perry, Lynn Hemingway, Marie Poulson, Mark A. Wheatley, Melvin Brown, Michael Noel, Michael Mckell, Merrill Nelson, Marc Roberts, Patrice Arent, Paul Ray, Rebecca Houck, Richard Cunningham, Richard Greenwood, rhouck, Roger Barrus, Robert Spendlove, Ryan Wilcox, Stewart Barlow, Susan Duckworth, Steve Eliason, Steve Handy, Tim Cosgrove, Lowry Snow, Val Peterson,
Subject: Please vote NO on Powell's Convention of the States Bill HJR8
Date: Wed Mar 05 20:08:14 MST 2014
Dear Legislators,
It is urgent that you please vote no on HJR8.  The protections that have been claimed to be held against a runaway convention lack solid evidence.  I do not see how in the current political climate of America, we can expect that hijacking will not be attempted by those who hold very different values from those espoused by the Utahns who hope to limit this convention to a discussion on federal budget balancing.
In addition to this, it seems clear that balancing the federal budget could take place with a simple vote of Congress.  We don't need to open up this convention and risk losing control of our constitution.
Please vote no. 
Thank you.
Christel Swasey