# Utah State Senate

350 North State Street, Suite 320 Salt Lake City, Utah 84114 (801) 538-1458

October 18, 2017

The Honorable Gary R. Herbert Governor, State of Utah State Capitol Building, Suite 200 Salt Lake City, Utah 84114

Dear Governor Herbert:

President Wayne Niederhauser has asked me to inform you that on this date, the Senate confirmed the following appointments:

## Judge of the Fifth District Court

Matthew Bell

#### **Diné Advisory Committee**

Melvin Capitan Jr. is reappointed as a member of the Diné Advisory Committee, as nominated by the Aneth Chapter of the Navajo Nation, a term to expire June 30, 2021.

#### **Board of Parks and Recreation**

Russell B. Steadman (R) is appointed as a member of the Board of Parks and Recreation to replace Jaren Davis (R) as the representative of the Third Judicial District, representing Salt Lake, Tooele and Summit counties, a term to expire July 1, 2021.

Douglas E. Thompson (D) is reappointed as a member of the Board of Parks and Recreation as representative of the First Judicial District, representing Box Elder, Cache and Rich counties, a term to expire July 1, 2021.

Robert L. Murri (D) is reappointed as a member of the Board of Parks and Recreation as the representative of the Second Judicial District, representing Davis, Weber and Morgan counties, a term to expire July 1, 2021.

Corey Cram (R) is reappointed as a member of the Board of Parks and Recreation as the representative of the Fifth Judicial District, representing Beaver, Iron and Washington counties, a term to expire July 1, 2021.

## **Youth Parole Authority**

Dennis A. Martinez is appointed as a member of the Youth Parole Authority to replace Myron Benson, a term to expire April 1, 2021.

Athelia Tanner Woolley is reappointed as a member of the Youth Parole Authority, a term to expire April 1, 2021.

Margaret A. Jackson is reappointed as a member of the Youth Parole Authority, a term to expire April 1, 2021.

# **Board of Juvenile Justice Services**

Sergio A. Martinez (U) is appointed as a member of the Board of Juvenile Justice Services to replace a vacant position, a term to expire April 1, 2021.

George Homer Durham II (D) is appointed as a member of the Board of Juvenile Justice Services to replace a vacant position, a term to expire April 1, 2021.

## **Weber State University Board of Trustees**

Marty Carpenter is appointed as a member of the Weber State University Board of Trustees to replace Steve Starks and serve the remaining portion of the term to expire June 30, 2021.

## **Air Quality Board**

Mitra Basiri Kashanchi (U) is approved as a member of the Air Quality Board to replace Karma Thompson (U) as a representative from the fuels industry, a term to expire March 1, 2021.

## **Utah Digital Health Service Commission**

Preston D. Marx is reappointed as a member of the Utah Digital Health Service Commission, as a representative of rural Utah, a term to expire October 1, 2020.

Tamara U. Richards is reappointed as a member of the Utah Digital Health Service Commission, as a nurse who is involved in digital health service, a term to expire October 1, 2020.

Henry Wallace Gardner is reappointed as a member of the Utah Digital Health Service Commission, a representative of telehealth digital health service consumer advocates, a term to expire October 1, 2020.

## **Employability to Careers Program Board**

Aaron Osmond is appointed as a member of the Employability to Careers Program Board, as a member from the private or nonprofit sector with expertise in finance, a term to expire October 31, 2020.

Lorie D. Fowlke is appointed as a member of the Employability to Careers Program Board, as recommended by the Speaker of the House of Representatives, a term to expire October 31, 2020.

## **Securities Commission**

Peggy Hunt is appointed as a member of the Securities Commission to replace Erik Christiansen as the member from the securities section of the Utah State Bar, a term to expire October 31, 2021.

Respectfully, s/Leslie McLean Secretary of the Senate