Utah Code

Part 1
General Voter Registration Requirements

20A-2-101 Eligibility for registration.
(1) Except as provided in Subsection (2), any person may apply to register to vote in an election
who:

(a) is a citizen of the United States;

(b) has been a resident of Utah for at least the 30 days immediately before the election;

(c) will be at least 18 years old on the day of the election; and

(d) currently resides within the voting district or precinct in which the person applies to register to
vote.

2)

(a)

(i) A person who is involuntarily confined or incarcerated in a jail, prison, or other facility within
a voting precinct is not a resident of that voting precinct and may not register to vote in
that voting precinct unless the person was a resident of that voting precinct before the
confinement or incarceration.

(i) A person who is involuntarily confined or incarcerated in a jail or prison is resident of the
voting precinct in which the person resided before the confinement or incarceration.

(b) A person who has been convicted of a felony or a misdemeanor for an offense under this
title may not register to vote or remain registered to vote unless the person's right to vote has
been restored as provided in Section 20A-2-101.3 or 20A-2-101.5.

(c) A person whose right to vote has been restored, as provided in Section 20A-2-101.3 or
20A-2-101.5, is eligible to register to vote.

(3) A person who is eligible to vote and who resides within the geographic boundaries of the entity

in which the election is held may register to vote in a:

(a) regular general election;

(b) regular primary election;

(c) municipal general election;

(d) municipal primary election;

(e) statewide special election;

(f) local special election;

(g9) local district election; and

(h) bond election.

Amended by Chapter 395, 2011 General Session

20A-2-101.1 Preregistering to vote.
(1) An individual may preregister to vote if the individual:
(a) is 16 or 17 years of age;
(b) will not be 18 years of age before the next election;
(c) is a citizen of the United States;
(d) has been a resident of Utah for at least 30 days; and
(e) currently resides within the voting district or precinct in which the individual preregisters to
vote.

(2) An individual described in Subsection (1) may not vote in an election and is not registered to
vote until:
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(a) the individual is at least 18 years of age; and
(b) the county clerk registers the individual to vote under Subsection (4).
(3) An individual who preregisters to vote shall:

(a) complete a voter registration form, including an indication that the individual is preregistering
to vote; and

(b) submit the voter registration form to a county clerk in person, by mail, or in any other manner
authorized by this chapter for the submission of a voter registration form.

(4)

(a) A county clerk shall:

(i) retain the voter registration form of an individual who meets the qualifications for
preregistration and who submits a completed voter registration form to the county clerk
under Subsection (3)(b);

(ii) register the individual to vote in the next election in which the individual will be eligible to
vote, before the voter registration deadline established in Section 20A-2-102.5 for that
election; and

(iif) send a notice to the individual that:

(A) informs the individual that the individual's voter registration form has been accepted as an
application for preregistration;

(B) informs the individual that the individual will be registered to vote in the next election in
which the individual will be eligible to vote; and

(C) indicates in which election the individual will be registered to vote.

(b) An individual who the county clerk registers under Subsection (4)(a)(ii) is considered to have
applied for voter registration on the earlier of:

(i) the day of the voter registration deadline immediately preceding the election day on which
the individual will be at least 18 years of age; or

(ii) the day on which the individual turns 18 years of age.

(c) A county clerk shall refer a voter registration form to the county attorney for investigation and
possible prosecution if the clerk or the clerk's designee believes the individual is attempting to
preregister to vote in an election:

(i) that will be held on or after the day on which the individual turns 18 years of age; and

(i) in which the individual will not be legally entitled to vote.

()

(a) The lieutenant governor or a county clerk shall classify the voter registration record of an
individual who preregisters to vote as a private record until the day on which the individual
turns 18 years of age.

(b) On the day on which the individual described in Subsection (5)(a) turns 18 years of age, the
lieutenant governor or county clerk shall classify the individual's voter registration record as a
public record in accordance with Subsection 63G-2-301(2)(l).

(6) If an individual who is at least 18 years of age erroneously indicates on the voter registration

form that the individual is preregistering to vote, the county clerk shall consider the form as a

voter registration form and shall process the form in accordance with this chapter.

Enacted by Chapter 130, 2015 General Session
20A-2-101.3 Convicted misdemeanants -- Restoration of right to vote or hold office.

(1) As used in this section, "misdemeanant” means a person convicted of a misdemeanor for an
offense under this title.
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(2) A misdemeanant's right to register to vote and to vote in an election is restored when the
misdemeanant:
(a) is sentenced to probation; or
(b) has successfully completed the term of incarceration to which the misdemeanant was
sentenced.
(3) A misdemeanant's right to hold elective office is restored when:
(a) the misdemeanor for an offense under this title is expunged as provided in Title 77, Chapter
40, Utah Expungement Act; or
(b)
(i) five years have passed since the date of the misdemeanant's most recent misdemeanor
conviction of an offense under this title;
(i) the misdemeanant has paid all court-ordered restitution and fines; and
(iif) for each misdemeanor conviction that has not been expunged, the misdemeanant has:
(A) completed probation in relation to the misdemeanor; or
(B) successfully completed the term of incarceration associated with the misdemeanor.

Enacted by Chapter 395, 2011 General Session

20A-2-101.5 Convicted felons -- Restoration of right to vote and right to hold office.
(1) As used in this section, "convicted felon" means a person convicted of a felony in any state or
federal court of the United States.
(2) Each convicted felon's right to register to vote and to vote in an election is restored when:
(a) the felon is sentenced to probation;
(b) the felon is granted parole; or
(c) the felon has successfully completed the term of incarceration to which the felon was
sentenced.
(3) Except as provided by Subsection (4), a convicted felon's right to hold elective office is restored
when:
(a) all of the felon's felony convictions have been expunged; or
(b)
(i) 10 years have passed since the date of the felon's most recent felony conviction;
(ii) the felon has paid all court-ordered restitution and fines; and
(iii) for each felony conviction that has not been expunged, the felon has:
(A) completed probation in relation to the felony;
(B) been granted parole in relation to the felony; or
(C) successfully completed the term of incarceration associated with the felony.
(4) An individual who has been convicted of a grievous sexual offense, as defined in Section
76-1-601, against a child, may not hold the office of State Board of Education member or local
school board member.

Amended by Chapter 263, 2013 General Session

20A-2-102 Registration a prerequisite to voting.

(1) Except as provided in Subsection (2), a person may not vote at any election unless that person
is registered to vote as required by this chapter.

(2) A person may vote a provisional ballot for an election as provided in Section 20A-2-307.

Amended by Chapter 231, 2014 General Session

Page 3



Utah Code

20A-2-102.5 Voter registration deadline.

(1) Except as provided in Section 20A-2-201, 20A-2-206, 20A-4-107, or Chapter 16, Uniform
Military and Overseas Voters Act, a person who fails to submit a correctly completed voter
registration form on or before the voter registration deadline may not vote in the election.

(2) The voter registration deadline is 30 calendar days before the date of the election.

Amended by Chapter 98, 2014 General Session
Amended by Chapter 231, 2014 General Session

20A-2-103 Special elections -- Lists of voters.
1)
(a) A special registration of voters is not required for a statewide or local special election.
(b) The last official or revised register is the register for the statewide or local special election.

(2) If a statewide or local special election is held at the same time and place as a regular general
election, a municipal general election, or a primary, persons qualified to vote at those elections
may also vote in the statewide or local special election.

(3) If a statewide or local special election is held on a date other than the date of a regular or
municipal general election, the county clerk of each county in which the municipality or entity is
wholly or partly located shall register persons to vote in that election during regular office hours
in accordance with the requirements of this chapter.

(4) The county clerk of each county in which the entity holding the statewide or local special
election is located shall make registration lists or copies of those lists available at each polling
place for use by registered voters entitled to use those polling places.

Amended by Chapter 264, 2006 General Session

20A-2-104 Voter registration form -- Registered voter lists -- Fees for copies.
(1) An individual applying for voter registration, or an individual preregistering to vote, shall
complete a voter registration form in substantially the following form:

UTAH ELECTION REGISTRATION FORM

Are you a citizen of the United States of America? Yes No

If you checked "no" to the above question, do not complete this form.

Will you be 18 years of age on or before election day? Yes No

If you checked "no" to the above question, are you 16 or 17 years of age and preregistering to
vote? Yes No

If you checked "no" to both of the prior two questions, do not complete this form.
Name of Voter

First Middle Last
Utah Driver License or Utah Identification Card Number
Date of Birth
Street Address of Principal Place of Residence

City County State Zip Code
Telephone Number (optional)
Last four digits of Social Security Number
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Last former address at which | was registered to vote (if
known)

City County State Zip Code
Political Party
(a listing of each registered political party, as defined in Section 20A-8-101 and maintained
by the lieutenant governor under Section 67-1a-2, with each party's name preceded by a
checkbox)
OUnaffiliated (no political party preference) [Other (Please specify)

| do swear (or affirm), subject to penalty of law for false statements, that the information
contained in this form is true, and that | am a citizen of the United States and a resident of
the state of Utah, residing at the above address. Unless | have indicated above that | am
preregistering to vote in a later election, | will be at least 18 years of age and will have resided
in Utah for 30 days immediately before the next election. | am not a convicted felon currently
incarcerated for commission of a felony.

Signed and sworn

Voter's Signature
(month/dayl/year).

"The portion of a voter registration form that lists a person's driver license or identification
card number, Social Security number, and email address is a private record. The portion of
a voter registration form that lists a person's date of birth is a private record, the use of which
is restricted to government officials, government employees, political parties, or certain other
persons.

If you believe that disclosure of any information contained in this voter registration form
to a person other than a government official or government employee is likely to put you or a
member of your household's life or safety at risk, or to put you or a member of your household
at risk of being stalked or harassed, you may apply to the lieutenant governor or your county
clerk to have your entire voter registration record classified as private."

CITIZENSHIP AFFIDAVIT

Name:
Name at birth, if different:
Place of birth:
Date of birth:
Date and place of naturalization (if applicable):
| hereby swear and affirm, under penalties for voting fraud set forth below, that | am
a citizen and that to the best of my knowledge and belief the information above is true and
correct.

Signature of Applicant

In accordance with Section 20A-2-401, the penalty for willfully causing, procuring, or
allowing yourself to be registered or preregistered to vote if you know you are not entitled to
register or preregister to vote is up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $2,500.
NOTICE: IN ORDER TO BE ALLOWED TO VOTE, YOU MUST PRESENT VALID VOTER
IDENTIFICATION TO THE POLL WORKER BEFORE VOTING, WHICH MUST BE A VALID
FORM OF PHOTO IDENTIFICATION THAT SHOWS YOUR NAME AND PHOTOGRAPH; OR
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TWO DIFFERENT FORMS OF IDENTIFICATION THAT SHOW YOUR NAME AND CURRENT

ADDRESS.

FOR OFFICIAL USE ONLY
Type of I.D.
Voting Precinct
Voting I.D. Number

2)

(a) Except as provided under Subsection (2)(b), the county clerk shall retain a copy of each voter
registration form in a permanent countywide alphabetical file, which may be electronic or
some other recognized system.

(b) The county clerk may transfer a superseded voter registration form to the Division of Archives
and Records Service created under Section 63A-12-101.

3)

(a) Each county clerk shall retain lists of currently registered voters.

(b) The lieutenant governor shall maintain a list of registered voters in electronic form.

(c) If there are any discrepancies between the two lists, the county clerk's list is the official list.

(d) The lieutenant governor and the county clerks may charge the fees established under the
authority of Subsection 63G-2-203(10) to individuals who wish to obtain a copy of the list of
registered voters.

(4)

(a) As used in this Subsection (4), "qualified person” means:

(i) a government official or government employee acting in the government official's or
government employee's capacity as a government official or a government employee;

(ii) a health care provider, as defined in Section 26-33a-102, or an agent, employee, or
independent contractor of a health care provider;

(iif) an insurance company, as defined in Section 67-4a-102, or an agent, employee, or
independent contractor of an insurance company;

(iv) a financial institution, as defined in Section 7-1-103, or an agent, employee, or independent
contractor of a financial institution;

(v) a political party, or an agent, employee, or independent contractor of a political party; or

(vi) a person, or an agent, employee, or independent contractor of the person, who:

(A) provides the date of birth of a registered voter that is obtained from the list of registered
voters only to a person who is a qualified person;

(B) verifies that a person, described in Subsection (4)(a)(vi)(A), to whom a date of birth that is
obtained from the list of registered voters is provided, is a qualified person;

(C) ensures, using industry standard security measures, that the date of birth of a registered
voter that is obtained from the list of registered voters may not be accessed by a person
other than a qualified person;

(D) verifies that each qualified person, other than a qualified person described in Subsection
(4)(a)(i) or (v), to whom the person provides the date of birth of a registered voter that
is obtained from the list of registered voters, will only use the date of birth to verify the
accuracy of personal information submitted by an individual or to confirm the identity of a
person in order to prevent fraud, waste, or abuse;

(E) verifies that each qualified person described in Subsection (4)(a)(i), to whom the person
provides the date of birth of a registered voter that is obtained from the list of registered
voters, will only use the date of birth in the qualified person's capacity as a government
official or government employee; and
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(F) verifies that each qualified person described in Subsection (4)(a)(v), to whom the person
provides the date of birth of a registered voter that is obtained from the list of registered
voters, will only use the date of birth for a political purpose.

(b) Notwithstanding Subsection 63G-2-302(1)(j)(iv), and except as provided in Subsection
63G-2-302(1)(k), the lieutenant governor or a county clerk shall, when providing the list of
registered voters to a qualified person under this section, include, with the list, the dates of
birth of the registered voters, if:

() the lieutenant governor or a county clerk verifies the identity of the person and that the
person is a qualified person; and
(i) the qualified person signs a document that includes the following:
(A) the name, address, and telephone number of the person requesting the list of registered

voters;

(B) an indication of the type of qualified person that the person requesting the list claims to
be;

(C) a statement regarding the purpose for which the person desires to obtain the dates of
birth;

(D) a list of the purposes for which the date of birth of a registered voter that is obtained from
the list of registered voters may be used;
(E) a statement that the date of birth of a registered voter that is obtained from the list
of registered voters may not be provided or used for a purpose other than a purpose
described under Subsection (4)(b)(ii)(D);
(F) a statement that if the person obtains the date of birth of a registered voter from the
list of registered voters under false pretenses, or provides or uses the date of birth of
a registered voter that is obtained from the list of registered voters in a manner that is
prohibited by law, is guilty of a class A misdemeanor and is subject to a civil fine;
(G) an assertion from the person that the person will not provide or use the date of birth of
a registered voter that is obtained from the list of registered voters in a manner that is
prohibited by law; and
(H) notice that if the person makes a false statement in the document, the person is
punishable by law under Section 76-8-504.
(c) The lieutenant governor or a county clerk may not disclose the date of birth of a registered
voter to a person that the lieutenant governor or county clerk reasonably believes:
() is not a qualified person or a person described in Subsection (4)(k); or
(i) will provide or use the date of birth in a manner prohibited by law.
(d) The lieutenant governor or a county clerk may not disclose the voter registration form
of a person, or information included in the person's voter registration form, whose voter
registration form is classified as private under Subsection (4)(f) to a person other than a
government official or government employee acting in the government official's or government
employee's capacity as a government official or government employee.
(e) A person is guilty of a class A misdemeanor if the person:
() obtains the date of birth of a registered voter from the list of registered voters under false
pretenses; or
(i) uses or provides the date of birth of a registered voter that is obtained from the list of
registered voters, in a manner that is not permitted by law.
(f) The lieutenant governor or a county clerk shall classify the voter registration record of a voter
as a private record if the voter submits:
(i) a written application, created by the lieutenant governor, requesting that the voter's voter
registration record be classified as private; and
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(ii) provides evidence to the lieutenant governor or a county clerk establishing that release of
the information on the voter's voter registration record is likely to put the voter or a member
of the voter's household's life or safety at risk, or to put the voter or a member of the voter's
household at risk of being stalked or harassed.

(g) The evidence described in Subsection (4)(f) may include:

(i) a protective order;

(i) a police report; or

(i) other evidence designated by rule, made in accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3,

Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act, by the director of elections within the Office of the
Lieutenant Governor.

(h) In addition to any criminal penalty that may be imposed under this section, the lieutenant
governor may impose a civil fine against a person who obtains the date of birth of a registered
voter from the list of registered voters under false pretenses, or provides or uses a date of
birth of a registered voter that is obtained from the list of registered voters in a manner that is
not permitted by law, in an amount equal to the greater of:

() the product of 30 and the square root of the total number of dates of birth obtained, provided,
or used unlawfully, rounded to the nearest whole dollar; or

(i) $200.

(i) A qualified person may not obtain, provide, or use the date of birth of a registered voter, if the
date of birth is obtained from the list of registered voters or from a voter registration record,
unless the person:

() is a government official or government employee who obtains, provides, or uses the date
of birth in the government official's or government employee's capacity as a government
official or government employee;

(i) is a qualified person described in Subsection (4)(a)(ii), (iii), or (iv) and obtains or uses the
date of birth only to verify the accuracy of personal information submitted by an individual or
to confirm the identity of a person in order to prevent fraud, waste, or abuse;

(iii) is a qualified person described in Subsection (4)(a)(v) and obtains, provides, or uses the
date of birth for a political purpose; or

(iv) is a qualified person described in Subsection (4)(a)(vi) and obtains, provides, or uses the
date of birth to provide the date of birth to another qualified person to verify the accuracy of
personal information submitted by an individual or to confirm the identity of a person in order
to prevent fraud, waste, or abuse.

() A person who is not a qualified person may not obtain, provide, or use the date of birth of a
registered voter, if the date of birth is obtained from the list of registered voters or from a voter
registration record, unless the person:

() is a candidate for public office and uses the date of birth only for a political purpose; or

(ii) obtains the date of birth from a political party or a candidate for public office and uses the
date of birth only for the purpose of assisting the political party or candidate for public office
to fulfill a political purpose.

(k) The lieutenant governor or a county clerk may provide a date of birth to a member of the
media, in relation to an individual designated by the member of the media, in order for the
member of the media to verify the identity of the individual.

(5) When political parties not listed on the voter registration form qualify as registered political
parties under Title 20A, Chapter 8, Political Party Formation and Procedures, the lieutenant
governor shall inform the county clerks about the name of the new political party and direct the
county clerks to ensure that the voter registration form is modified to include that political party.
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(6) Upon receipt of a voter registration form from an applicant, the county clerk or the clerk's
designee shall:
(a) review each voter registration form for completeness and accuracy; and
(b) if the county clerk believes, based upon a review of the form, that an individual may be
seeking to register or preregister to vote who is not legally entitled to register or preregister to
vote, refer the form to the county attorney for investigation and possible prosecution.

Amended by Chapter 130, 2015 General Session

20A-2-105 Determining residency.
(1) As used in this section:
(a) "Principal place of residence" means the single location where a person's habitation is fixed
and to which, whenever the person is absent, the person has the intention of returning.
(b) "Resident" means a person whose principal place of residence is within a specific voting
precinct in Utah.
(2) Election officials and judges shall apply the standards and requirements of this section when

determining whether a person is a resident for purposes of interpreting this title or the Utah
Constitution.
3)
(a) A person resides in Utah if:
() the person's principal place of residence is within Utah; and
(i) the person has a present intention to maintain the person's principal place of residence in
Utah permanently or indefinitely.

(b) A person resides within a particular voting precinct if, as of the date of registering to vote, the
person's principal place of residence is in that voting precinct.

(c) A person's principal place of residence does not change solely because the person is present
in Utah, present in a voting precinct, absent from Utah, or absent from the person's voting
precinct because the person is:

(i) employed in the service of the United States or of Utah;
(ii) a student at an institution of learning;

(i) incarcerated in prison or jail; or

(iv) residing upon an Indian or military reservation.

(d)

(i) A member of the armed forces of the United States is not a resident of Utah merely because
that member is stationed at a military facility within Utah.
(ii) In order to be a resident of Utah, a member of the armed forces described in this Subsection
(3)(d) shall meet the other requirements of this section.
(e)

(i) Except as provided in Subsection (3)(e)(ii) or (iii), a person has not lost the person's principal
place of residence in Utah or a precinct if that person moves to a foreign country, another
state, or another voting precinct within Utah, for temporary purposes with the intention of
returning.

(i) If a person leaves the state or a voting precinct and votes in another state or voting precinct,
the person is no longer a resident of the state or voting precinct that the person left.

(iif) A person loses the person's principal place of residence in Utah or in a precinct, if, after
the person moves to another state or another precinct under Subsection (3)(e)(i), the
person forms the intent of making the other state or precinct the person's principal place of
residence.
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(f) A person is not a resident of a county or voting precinct if that person comes for temporary
purposes and does not intend to make that county or voting precinct the person's principal
place of residence.

(g) A person loses the person's principal place of residence in Utah or in a precinct if the person
moves to another state or precinct with the intention of making the other state or precinct the
person's principal place of residence.

(h) If a person moves to another state or precinct with the intent of remaining there for an
indefinite time as the person's principal place of residence, the person loses the person's
residence in Utah, or in the precinct, even though the person intends to return at some future
time.

(4) An election official or judge shall, in determining a person's principal place of residence,
consider the following factors, to the extent that the election official or judge determines the
factors to be relevant:

(a) where the person's family resides;

(b) whether the person is single, married, separated, or divorced;

(c) the age of the person;

(d) where the person usually sleeps;

(e) where the person's minor children attend school;

(f) the location of the person's employment, income sources, or business pursuits;

(g) the location of real property owned by the person;

(h) the person's residence for purposes of taxation or tax exemption; and

() other relevant factors.

()

(a) A person has changed the person's principal place of residence if the person:

(i) acts affirmatively to move from the state or a precinct in the state; and
(ii) has the intent to remain in another state or precinct.

(b) A person may not have more than one principal place of residence.

(c) A person does not lose the person's principal place of residence until the person establishes
another principal place of residence.

(6) In computing the period that a person is a resident, a person shall:

(a) include the day on which the person establishes the person's principal place of residence; and

(b) exclude the day of the next election.

(7)

(a) There is a rebuttable presumption that a person's principal place of residence is in Utah and
in the voting precinct claimed by the person if the person makes an oath or affirmation upon a
registration application form that the person's principal place of residence is in Utah and in the
voting precinct claimed by the person.

(b) The election officers and election officials shall allow a person described in Subsection (7)(a)
to register and vote unless, upon a challenge by a registrar or some other person, it is shown
by law or by clear and convincing evidence that:

() the person's principal place of residence is not in Utah; or
(ii) the person is incarcerated in prison or jail and did not, before the person was incarcerated in
prison or jail, establish the person's principal place of residence in the voting precinct.

(8)

(a) The criteria described in this section for establishing a person's principal place of residence
for voting purposes do not apply in relation to the person's location while the person is
incarcerated in prison or jail.
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(b) For voting registration purposes, the principal place of residence of a person incarcerated in
prison or jail is the state and voting precinct where the person's principal place of residence
was located before incarceration.

(9) If a person's principal place of residence is a residential parcel of one acre in size or smaller
that is divided by the boundary line between two or more counties, that person shall be
considered a resident of the county in which a majority of the residential parcel lies.

Amended by Chapter 260, 2014 General Session

20A-2-107 Designating or changing party affiliation -- Times permitted.
(1) The county clerk shall:

(a) record the party affiliation designated by the voter on the voter registration form as the voter's
party affiliation; or

(b) if no political party affiliation is designated by the voter on the voter registration form:

(i) except as provided in Subsection (1)(b)(ii), record the voter's party affiliation as the party that
the voter designated the last time that the voter designated a party on a voter registration
form, unless the voter more recently registered as "unaffiliated"; or

(ii) record the voter's party affiliation as "unaffiliated" if the voter:

(A) did not previously designate a party;
(B) most recently designated the voter's party affiliation as "unaffiliated"; or
(C) did not previously register.

2)

(a) Any registered voter may designate or change the voter's political party affiliation by
complying with the procedures and requirements of this Subsection (2).

(b) A registered voter may designate or change the voter's political party affiliation by filing a
signed form with the county clerk that identifies the registered political party with which the
voter chooses to affiliate, during any period except the following:

() the period beginning on the day after the voter registration deadline and continuing through
the date of the regular primary election; and

(ii) the period beginning on the day after the voter registration deadline and continuing through
the date of the Western States Presidential Primary.

Amended by Chapter 394, 2015 General Session

20A-2-107.5 Designating or changing party affiliation -- Regular primary election and
Western States Presidential Primary.
(1) At any regular primary election or the Western States Presidential Primary:
(a) each county clerk shall provide change of party affiliation forms to the poll workers for each
voting precinct within the county; and
(b) any registered voter who is classified as "unaffiliated" may affiliate with a political party by
completing the form and giving it to the poll worker.
(2) An unaffiliated voter who affiliates with a political party as provided in Subsection (1)(b) may
vote in that party's primary election.

Amended by Chapter 329, 2008 General Session

20A-2-108 Driver license registration form -- Transmittal of information.
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(1) The lieutenant governor and the Driver License Division shall design the driver license
application and renewal forms to include the following questions:
(a) "If you are not registered to vote where you live now, would you like to register to vote
today?"; and
(b) "If you are 16 or 17 years of age, and will not be 18 years of age before the date of the next
election, would you like to preregister to vote today?"
2)
(a) The lieutenant governor and the Driver License Division shall design a motor voter
registration form to be used in conjunction with driver license application and renewal forms.
(b) Each driver license application and renewal form shall contain:

(i) a place for the applicant to decline to register or preregister to vote;

(i) an eligibility statement in substantially the following form: "l do swear (or affirm),
subject to penalty of law for false statements, that the information contained in this form is
true, and that | am a citizen of the United States and a resident of the state of Utah, residing
at the above address. Unless | have indicated above that | am preregistering to vote in a
later election, | will be at least 18 years of age and will have resided in Utah for 30 days
immediately before the next election.

Signed and sworn

Voter's Signature
(month\day\year)";
(i) a citizenship affidavit in substantially the following form:
"CITIZENSHIP AFFIDAVIT

Name:
Name at birth, if different:
Place of birth:
Date of birth:
Date and place of naturalization (if applicable):

| hereby swear and affirm, under penalties for voting fraud set forth below, that | am
a citizen and that to the best of my knowledge and belief the information above is true and
correct.

Signature of Applicant

In accordance with Section 20A-2-401, the penalty for willfully causing, procuring, or
allowing yourself to be registered or preregistered to vote if you know you are not entitled to
register or preregister to vote is up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $2,500";

(iv) a statement that if an applicant declines to register or preregister to vote, the fact that the
applicant has declined to register or preregister will remain confidential and will be used only
for voter registration purposes;

(v) a statement that if an applicant does register or preregister to vote, the office at which the
applicant submits a voter registration application will remain confidential and will be used
only for voter registration purposes; and

(vi) the following statement: "The portion of a voter registration form that lists a person's
driver license or identification card number, Social Security number, and email address is a
private record. The portion of a voter registration form that lists a person's date of birth is a
private record, the use of which is restricted to government officials, government employees,
political parties, or certain other persons.
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If you believe that disclosure of any information contained in this voter registration
form to a person other than a government official or government employee is likely to put
you or a member of your household's life or safety at risk, or to put you or a member of your
household at risk of being stalked or harassed, you may apply to the lieutenant governor or
your county clerk to have your entire voter registration record classified as private."

(3) Upon receipt of a voter registration form from an applicant, the county clerk or the clerk's
designee shall:
(a) review the voter registration form for completeness and accuracy; and
(b) if the county clerk believes, based upon a review of the form, that a person may be seeking to
register or preregister to vote who is not legally entitled to register or preregister to vote, refer
the form to the county attorney for investigation and possible prosecution.

Amended by Chapter 130, 2015 General Session

20A-2-109 Statewide voter registration database -- Lieutenant governor to create -- Counties
to participate -- Maintenance of database -- Cooperation with governmental entities --
Record security -- List of incarcerated felons.
1)
(a)
() The lieutenant governor shall develop a statewide voter registration database.
(ii)

(A) The lieutenant governor may compare the information in the statewide voter registration
database with information submitted by a registered voter to a state agency to identify a
change in a registered voter's principal place of residence or name.

(B) The lieutenant governor shall establish matching criteria and security measures for
identifying a change described in Subsection (1)(a)(ii)(A) to ensure the accuracy of a voter
registration record.

(C) The lieutenant governor shall notify the county clerk of the county in which the voter's
principal place of residence is located of the change in the registered voter's principal
place of residence or name.

(b) Each county clerk shall utilize the statewide voter registration database when recording or
modifying voter registration records.

2)

(a) The lieutenant governor shall establish and implement a procedure to maintain the accuracy

of the statewide voter registration database by using information available from:
(i) a voter,
(i) a governmental entity, as defined by Section 63G-2-103; or
(iif) another state.

(b) Subject to Subsection (2)(c), the lieutenant governor may cooperate or enter into an
agreement with a governmental entity or another state to share information to implement the
procedure established under Subsection (2)(a).

(c) For a record shared under Subsection (2)(b), the lieutenant governor shall ensure:

() that the record is only used to maintain the accuracy of a voter registration database;
(i) compliance with Section 63G-2-206; and
(iif) that the record is secure from unauthorized use by employing data encryption or another
similar technology security system.
3)

(a) The lieutenant governor shall maintain a current list of all incarcerated felons in Utah.
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(b)
(i) The Department of Corrections shall provide the lieutenant governor's office with a list of the
name and last-known address of each person who:
(A) was convicted of a felony in a Utah state court; and
(B) is currently incarcerated for commission of a felony.
(i) The lieutenant governor shall establish the frequency of receipt of the information and the
method of transmitting the information after consultation with the Department of Corrections.
(€)

(i) The Department of Corrections shall provide the lieutenant governor's office with a list of the
name of each convicted felon who is no longer subject to the jurisdiction of the department
because the person has been released from incarceration.

(i) The lieutenant governor shall establish the frequency of receipt of the information and the
method of transmitting the information after consultation with the Department of Corrections.

Amended by Chapter 333, 2011 General Session
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