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Chapter 2
Voter Registration

Part 1
General Voter Registration Requirements

20A-2-101 Eligibility for registration.
(1) Except as provided in Subsection (2), any person may apply to register to vote in an election

who:
(a) is a citizen of the United States;
(b) has been a resident of Utah for at least the 30 days immediately before the election;
(c) will be at least 18 years old on the day of the election; and
(d) currently resides within the voting district or precinct in which the person applies to register to

vote.
(2)

(a)
(i) A person who is involuntarily confined or incarcerated in a jail, prison, or other facility within

a voting precinct is not a resident of that voting precinct and may not register to vote in
that voting precinct unless the person was a resident of that voting precinct before the
confinement or incarceration.

(ii) A person who is involuntarily confined or incarcerated in a jail or prison is resident of the
voting precinct in which the person resided before the confinement or incarceration.

(b) A person who has been convicted of a felony or a misdemeanor for an offense under this
title may not register to vote or remain registered to vote unless the person's right to vote has
been restored as provided in Section 20A-2-101.3 or 20A-2-101.5.

(c) A person whose right to vote has been restored, as provided in Section 20A-2-101.3 or
20A-2-101.5, is eligible to register to vote.

(3) A person who is eligible to vote and who resides within the geographic boundaries of the entity
in which the election is held may register to vote in a:

(a) regular general election;
(b) regular primary election;
(c) municipal general election;
(d) municipal primary election;
(e) statewide special election;
(f) local special election;
(g) local district election; and
(h) bond election.

Amended by Chapter 395, 2011 General Session

20A-2-101.1 Preregistering to vote.
(1) An individual may preregister to vote if the individual:

(a) is 16 or 17 years of age;
(b) will not be 18 years of age before the next election;
(c) is a citizen of the United States;
(d) has been a resident of Utah for at least 30 days; and
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(e) currently resides within the voting district or precinct in which the individual preregisters to
vote.

(2) An individual described in Subsection (1) may not vote in an election and is not registered to
vote until:

(a) the individual is at least 18 years of age; and
(b) the county clerk registers the individual to vote under Subsection (4).

(3) An individual who preregisters to vote shall:
(a) complete a voter registration form, including an indication that the individual is preregistering

to vote; and
(b) submit the voter registration form to a county clerk in person, by mail, or in any other manner

authorized by this chapter for the submission of a voter registration form.
(4)

(a) A county clerk shall:
(i) retain the voter registration form of an individual who meets the qualifications for

preregistration and who submits a completed voter registration form to the county clerk
under Subsection (3)(b);

(ii) register the individual to vote in the next election in which the individual will be eligible to
vote, before the voter registration deadline established in Section 20A-2-102.5 for that
election; and

(iii) send a notice to the individual that:
(A) informs the individual that the individual's voter registration form has been accepted as an

application for preregistration;
(B) informs the individual that the individual will be registered to vote in the next election in

which the individual will be eligible to vote; and
(C) indicates in which election the individual will be registered to vote.

(b) An individual who the county clerk registers under Subsection (4)(a)(ii) is considered to have
applied for voter registration on the earlier of:

(i) the day of the voter registration deadline immediately preceding the election day on which
the individual will be at least 18 years of age; or

(ii) the day on which the individual turns 18 years of age.
(c) A county clerk shall refer a voter registration form to the county attorney for investigation and

possible prosecution if the clerk or the clerk's designee believes the individual is attempting to
preregister to vote in an election:

(i) that will be held on or after the day on which the individual turns 18 years of age; and
(ii) in which the individual will not be legally entitled to vote.

(5)
(a) The lieutenant governor or a county clerk shall classify the voter registration record of an

individual who preregisters to vote as a private record until the day on which the individual
turns 18 years of age.

(b) On the day on which the individual described in Subsection (5)(a) turns 18 years of age, the
lieutenant governor or county clerk shall classify the individual's voter registration record as a
public record in accordance with Subsection 63G-2-301(2)(l).

(6) If an individual who is at least 18 years of age erroneously indicates on the voter registration
form that the individual is preregistering to vote, the county clerk shall consider the form as a
voter registration form and shall process the form in accordance with this chapter.

Enacted by Chapter 130, 2015 General Session
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20A-2-101.3 Convicted misdemeanants -- Restoration of right to vote or hold office.
(1) As used in this section, "misdemeanant" means a person convicted of a misdemeanor for an

offense under this title.
(2) A misdemeanant's right to register to vote and to vote in an election is restored when the

misdemeanant:
(a) is sentenced to probation; or
(b) has successfully completed the term of incarceration to which the misdemeanant was

sentenced.
(3) A misdemeanant's right to hold elective office is restored when:

(a) the misdemeanor for an offense under this title is expunged as provided in Title 77, Chapter
40, Utah Expungement Act; or

(b)
(i) five years have passed since the date of the misdemeanant's most recent misdemeanor

conviction of an offense under this title;
(ii) the misdemeanant has paid all court-ordered restitution and fines; and
(iii) for each misdemeanor conviction that has not been expunged, the misdemeanant has:

(A) completed probation in relation to the misdemeanor; or
(B) successfully completed the term of incarceration associated with the misdemeanor.

Enacted by Chapter 395, 2011 General Session

20A-2-101.5 Convicted felons -- Restoration of right to vote and right to hold office.
(1) As used in this section, "convicted felon" means a person convicted of a felony in any state or

federal court of the United States.
(2) Each convicted felon's right to register to vote and to vote in an election is restored when:

(a) the felon is sentenced to probation;
(b) the felon is granted parole; or
(c) the felon has successfully completed the term of incarceration to which the felon was

sentenced.
(3) Except as provided by Subsection (4), a convicted felon's right to hold elective office is restored

when:
(a) all of the felon's felony convictions have been expunged; or
(b)

(i) 10 years have passed since the date of the felon's most recent felony conviction;
(ii) the felon has paid all court-ordered restitution and fines; and
(iii) for each felony conviction that has not been expunged, the felon has:

(A) completed probation in relation to the felony;
(B) been granted parole in relation to the felony; or
(C) successfully completed the term of incarceration associated with the felony.

(4) An individual who has been convicted of a grievous sexual offense, as defined in Section
76-1-601, against a child, may not hold the office of State Board of Education member or local
school board member.

Amended by Chapter 263, 2013 General Session

20A-2-102 Registration a prerequisite to voting.
(1) Except as provided in Subsection (2), a person may not vote at any election unless that person

is registered to vote as required by this chapter.
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(2) A person may vote a provisional ballot for an election as provided in Section 20A-2-307.

Amended by Chapter 231, 2014 General Session

20A-2-102.5 Voter registration deadline.
(1) Except as provided in Section 20A-2-201, 20A-2-206, 20A-4-107, or Chapter 16, Uniform

Military and Overseas Voters Act, a person who fails to submit a correctly completed voter
registration form on or before the voter registration deadline may not vote in the election.

(2) The voter registration deadline is 30 calendar days before the date of the election.

Amended by Chapter 98, 2014 General Session
Amended by Chapter 231, 2014 General Session

20A-2-103 Special elections -- Lists of voters.
(1)

(a) A special registration of voters is not required for a statewide or local special election.
(b) The last official or revised register is the register for the statewide or local special election.

(2) If a statewide or local special election is held at the same time and place as a regular general
election, a municipal general election, or a primary, persons qualified to vote at those elections
may also vote in the statewide or local special election.

(3) If a statewide or local special election is held on a date other than the date of a regular or
municipal general election, the county clerk of each county in which the municipality or entity is
wholly or partly located shall register persons to vote in that election during regular office hours
in accordance with the requirements of this chapter.

(4) The county clerk of each county in which the entity holding the statewide or local special
election is located shall make registration lists or copies of those lists available at each polling
place for use by registered voters entitled to use those polling places.

Amended by Chapter 264, 2006 General Session

20A-2-104 Voter registration form -- Registered voter lists -- Fees for copies.
(1) An individual applying for voter registration, or an individual preregistering to vote, shall

complete a voter registration form in substantially the following form:
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

UTAH ELECTION REGISTRATION FORM
Are you a citizen of the United States of America?                                        Yes          No
If you checked "no" to the above question, do not complete this form.
Will you be 18 years of age on or before election day?                    Yes          No
If you checked "no" to the above question, are you 16 or 17 years of age and preregistering to
vote?                                                                                                    Yes          No
If you checked "no" to both of the prior two questions, do not complete this form.
Name of Voter
_________________________________________________________________
                                        First                               Middle                          Last
Utah Driver License or Utah Identification Card  Number____________________________
Date of Birth ______________________________________________________
Street Address of Principal Place of Residence
____________________________________________________________________________
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          City                                County                                State                            Zip Code
Telephone Number (optional) _________________________
Last four digits of Social Security Number ______________________
Last former address at which I was registered to vote (if
known)__________________________
____________________________________________________________________________
          City                              County                              State                           Zip Code
Political Party
(a listing of each registered political party, as defined in Section 20A-8-101 and maintained
by the lieutenant governor under Section 67-1a-2, with each party's name preceded by a
checkbox)
❏Unaffiliated (no political party preference)    ❏Other (Please specify)___________________
          I do swear (or affirm), subject to penalty of law for false statements, that the information
contained in this form is true, and that I am a citizen of the United States and a resident of
the state of Utah, residing at the above address.  Unless I have indicated above that I am
preregistering to vote in a later election, I will be at least 18 years of age and will have resided
in Utah for 30 days immediately before the next election.  I am not a convicted felon currently
incarcerated for commission of a felony.
          Signed and sworn
          __________________________________________________________
                                                  Voter's Signature
          _______________(month/day/year).
          "The portion of a voter registration form that lists a person's driver license or identification
card number, Social Security number, and email address is a private record.  The portion of
a voter registration form that lists a person's date of birth is a private record, the use of which
is restricted to government officials, government employees, political parties, or certain other
persons.
          If you believe that disclosure of any information contained in this voter registration form
to a person other than a government official or government employee is likely to put you or a
member of your household's life or safety at risk, or to put you or a member of your household
at risk of being stalked or harassed, you may apply to the lieutenant governor or your county
clerk to have your entire voter registration record classified as private."

CITIZENSHIP AFFIDAVIT
Name:
Name at birth, if different:
Place of birth:
Date of birth:
Date and place of naturalization (if applicable):
          I hereby swear and affirm, under penalties for voting fraud set forth below, that I am
a citizen and that to the best of my knowledge and belief the information above is true and
correct.
____________________________
Signature of Applicant
          In accordance with Section 20A-2-401, the penalty for willfully causing, procuring, or
allowing yourself to be registered or preregistered to vote if you know you are not entitled to
register or preregister to vote is up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $2,500.
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NOTICE:  IN ORDER TO BE ALLOWED TO VOTE, YOU MUST PRESENT VALID VOTER
IDENTIFICATION TO THE POLL WORKER BEFORE VOTING, WHICH MUST BE A VALID
FORM OF PHOTO IDENTIFICATION THAT SHOWS YOUR NAME AND PHOTOGRAPH; OR
TWO DIFFERENT FORMS OF IDENTIFICATION THAT SHOW YOUR NAME AND CURRENT
ADDRESS.
FOR OFFICIAL USE ONLY
                                                            Type of I.D. ____________________________
                                                            Voting Precinct _________________________
                                                            Voting I.D. Number _____________________
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

(2)
(a) Except as provided under Subsection (2)(b), the county clerk shall retain a copy of each voter

registration form in a permanent countywide alphabetical file, which may be electronic or
some other recognized system.

(b) The county clerk may transfer a superseded voter registration form to the Division of Archives
and Records Service created under Section 63A-12-101.

(3)
(a) Each county clerk shall retain lists of currently registered voters.
(b) The lieutenant governor shall maintain a list of registered voters in electronic form.
(c) If there are any discrepancies between the two lists, the county clerk's list is the official list.
(d) The lieutenant governor and the county clerks may charge the fees established under the

authority of Subsection 63G-2-203(10) to individuals who wish to obtain a copy of the list of
registered voters.

(4)
(a) As used in this Subsection (4), "qualified person" means:

(i) a government official or government employee acting in the government official's or
government employee's capacity as a government official or a government employee;

(ii) a health care provider, as defined in Section 26-33a-102, or an agent, employee, or
independent contractor of a health care provider;

(iii) an insurance company, as defined in Section 67-4a-102, or an agent, employee, or
independent contractor of an insurance company;

(iv) a financial institution, as defined in Section 7-1-103, or an agent, employee, or independent
contractor of a financial institution;

(v) a political party, or an agent, employee, or independent contractor of a political party; or
(vi) a person, or an agent, employee, or independent contractor of the person, who:

(A) provides the date of birth of a registered voter that is obtained from the list of registered
voters only to a person who is a qualified person;

(B) verifies that a person, described in Subsection (4)(a)(vi)(A), to whom a date of birth that is
obtained from the list of registered voters is provided, is a qualified person;

(C) ensures, using industry standard security measures, that the date of birth of a registered
voter that is obtained from the list of registered voters may not be accessed by a person
other than a qualified person;

(D) verifies that each qualified person, other than a qualified person described in Subsection
(4)(a)(i) or (v), to whom the person provides the date of birth of a registered voter that
is obtained from the list of registered voters, will only use the date of birth to verify the
accuracy of personal information submitted by an individual or to confirm the identity of a
person in order to prevent fraud, waste, or abuse;



Utah Code

Page 7

(E) verifies that each qualified person described in Subsection (4)(a)(i), to whom the person
provides the date of birth of a registered voter that is obtained from the list of registered
voters, will only use the date of birth in the qualified person's capacity as a government
official or government employee; and

(F) verifies that each qualified person described in Subsection (4)(a)(v), to whom the person
provides the date of birth of a registered voter that is obtained from the list of registered
voters, will only use the date of birth for a political purpose.

(b) Notwithstanding Subsection 63G-2-302(1)(j)(iv), and except as provided in Subsection
63G-2-302(1)(k), the lieutenant governor or a county clerk shall, when providing the list of
registered voters to a qualified person under this section, include, with the list, the dates of
birth of the registered voters, if:

(i) the lieutenant governor or a county clerk verifies the identity of the person and that the
person is a qualified person; and

(ii) the qualified person signs a document that includes the following:
(A) the name, address, and telephone number of the person requesting the list of registered

voters;
(B) an indication of the type of qualified person that the person requesting the list claims to

be;
(C) a statement regarding the purpose for which the person desires to obtain the dates of

birth;
(D) a list of the purposes for which the date of birth of a registered voter that is obtained from

the list of registered voters may be used;
(E) a statement that the date of birth of a registered voter that is obtained from the list

of registered voters may not be provided or used for a purpose other than a purpose
described under Subsection (4)(b)(ii)(D);

(F) a statement that if the person obtains the date of birth of a registered voter from the
list of registered voters under false pretenses, or provides or uses the date of birth of
a registered voter that is obtained from the list of registered voters in a manner that is
prohibited by law, is guilty of a class A misdemeanor and is subject to a civil fine;

(G) an assertion from the person that the person will not provide or use the date of birth of
a registered voter that is obtained from the list of registered voters in a manner that is
prohibited by law; and

(H) notice that if the person makes a false statement in the document, the person is
punishable by law under Section 76-8-504.

(c) The lieutenant governor or a county clerk may not disclose the date of birth of a registered
voter to a person that the lieutenant governor or county clerk reasonably believes:

(i) is not a qualified person or a person described in Subsection (4)(k); or
(ii) will provide or use the date of birth in a manner prohibited by law.

(d) The lieutenant governor or a county clerk may not disclose the voter registration form
of a person, or information included in the person's voter registration form, whose voter
registration form is classified as private under Subsection (4)(f) to a person other than a
government official or government employee acting in the government official's or government
employee's capacity as a government official or government employee.

(e) A person is guilty of a class A misdemeanor if the person:
(i) obtains the date of birth of a registered voter from the list of registered voters under false

pretenses; or
(ii) uses or provides the date of birth of a registered voter that is obtained from the list of

registered voters, in a manner that is not permitted by law.
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(f) The lieutenant governor or a county clerk shall classify the voter registration record of a voter
as a private record if the voter submits:

(i) a written application, created by the lieutenant governor, requesting that the voter's voter
registration record be classified as private; and

(ii) provides evidence to the lieutenant governor or a county clerk establishing that release of
the information on the voter's voter registration record is likely to put the voter or a member
of the voter's household's life or safety at risk, or to put the voter or a member of the voter's
household at risk of being stalked or harassed.

(g) The evidence described in Subsection (4)(f) may include:
(i) a protective order;
(ii) a police report; or
(iii) other evidence designated by rule, made in accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3,

Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act, by the director of elections within the Office of the
Lieutenant Governor.

(h) In addition to any criminal penalty that may be imposed under this section, the lieutenant
governor may impose a civil fine against a person who obtains the date of birth of a registered
voter from the list of registered voters under false pretenses, or provides or uses a date of
birth of a registered voter that is obtained from the list of registered voters in a manner that is
not permitted by law, in an amount equal to the greater of:

(i) the product of 30 and the square root of the total number of dates of birth obtained, provided,
or used unlawfully, rounded to the nearest whole dollar; or

(ii) $200.
(i) A qualified person may not obtain, provide, or use the date of birth of a registered voter, if the

date of birth is obtained from the list of registered voters or from a voter registration record,
unless the person:

(i) is a government official or government employee who obtains, provides, or uses the date
of birth in the government official's or government employee's capacity as a government
official or government employee;

(ii) is a qualified person described in Subsection (4)(a)(ii), (iii), or (iv) and obtains or uses the
date of birth only to verify the accuracy of personal information submitted by an individual or
to confirm the identity of a person in order to prevent fraud, waste, or abuse;

(iii) is a qualified person described in Subsection (4)(a)(v) and obtains, provides, or uses the
date of birth for a political purpose; or

(iv) is a qualified person described in Subsection (4)(a)(vi) and obtains, provides, or uses the
date of birth to provide the date of birth to another qualified person to verify the accuracy of
personal information submitted by an individual or to confirm the identity of a person in order
to prevent fraud, waste, or abuse.

(j) A person who is not a qualified person may not obtain, provide, or use the date of birth of a
registered voter, if the date of birth is obtained from the list of registered voters or from a voter
registration record, unless the person:

(i) is a candidate for public office and uses the date of birth only for a political purpose; or
(ii) obtains the date of birth from a political party or a candidate for public office and uses the

date of birth only for the purpose of assisting the political party or candidate for public office
to fulfill a political purpose.

(k) The lieutenant governor or a county clerk may provide a date of birth to a member of the
media, in relation to an individual designated by the member of the media, in order for the
member of the media to verify the identity of the individual.



Utah Code

Page 9

(5) When political parties not listed on the voter registration form qualify as registered political
parties under Title 20A, Chapter 8, Political Party Formation and Procedures, the lieutenant
governor shall inform the county clerks about the name of the new political party and direct the
county clerks to ensure that the voter registration form is modified to include that political party.

(6) Upon receipt of a voter registration form from an applicant, the county clerk or the clerk's
designee shall:

(a) review each voter registration form for completeness and accuracy; and
(b) if the county clerk believes, based upon a review of the form, that an individual may be

seeking to register or preregister to vote who is not legally entitled to register or preregister to
vote, refer the form to the county attorney for investigation and possible prosecution.

Amended by Chapter 130, 2015 General Session

20A-2-105 Determining residency.
(1) As used in this section:

(a) "Principal place of residence" means the single location where a person's habitation is fixed
and to which, whenever the person is absent, the person has the intention of returning.

(b) "Resident" means a person whose principal place of residence is within a specific voting
precinct in Utah.

(2) Election officials and judges shall apply the standards and requirements of this section when
determining whether a person is a resident for purposes of interpreting this title or the Utah
Constitution.

(3)
(a) A person resides in Utah if:

(i) the person's principal place of residence is within Utah; and
(ii) the person has a present intention to maintain the person's principal place of residence in

Utah permanently or indefinitely.
(b) A person resides within a particular voting precinct if, as of the date of registering to vote, the

person's principal place of residence is in that voting precinct.
(c) A person's principal place of residence does not change solely because the person is present

in Utah, present in a voting precinct, absent from Utah, or absent from the person's voting
precinct because the person is:

(i) employed in the service of the United States or of Utah;
(ii) a student at an institution of learning;
(iii) incarcerated in prison or jail; or
(iv) residing upon an Indian or military reservation.

(d)
(i) A member of the armed forces of the United States is not a resident of Utah merely because

that member is stationed at a military facility within Utah.
(ii) In order to be a resident of Utah, a member of the armed forces described in this Subsection

(3)(d) shall meet the other requirements of this section.
(e)

(i) Except as provided in Subsection (3)(e)(ii) or (iii), a person has not lost the person's principal
place of  residence in Utah or a precinct if that person moves to a foreign country, another
state, or another voting precinct within Utah, for temporary purposes with the intention of
returning.

(ii) If a person leaves the state or a voting precinct and votes in another state or voting precinct,
the person is no longer a resident of the state or voting precinct that the person left.
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(iii) A person loses the person's principal place of residence in Utah or in a precinct, if, after
the person moves to another state or another precinct under Subsection (3)(e)(i), the
person forms the intent of making the other state or precinct the person's principal place of
residence.

(f) A person is not a resident of a county or voting precinct if that person comes for temporary
purposes and does not intend to make that county or voting precinct the person's principal
place of residence.

(g) A person loses the person's principal place of residence in Utah or in a precinct if the person
moves to another state or precinct with the intention of making the other state or precinct the
person's principal place of residence.

(h) If a person moves to another state or precinct with the intent of remaining there for an
indefinite time as the person's principal place of residence, the person loses the person's
residence in Utah, or in the precinct, even though the person intends to return at some future
time.

(4) An election official or judge shall, in determining a person's principal place of residence,
consider the following factors, to the extent that the election official or judge determines the
factors to be relevant:

(a) where the person's family resides;
(b) whether the person is single, married, separated, or divorced;
(c) the age of the person;
(d) where the person usually sleeps;
(e) where the person's minor children attend school;
(f) the location of the person's employment, income sources, or business pursuits;
(g) the location of real property owned by the person;
(h) the person's residence for purposes of taxation or tax exemption; and
(i) other relevant factors.

(5)
(a) A person has changed the person's principal place of residence if the person:

(i) acts affirmatively to move from the state or a precinct in the state; and
(ii) has the intent to remain in another state or precinct.

(b) A person may not have more than one principal place of residence.
(c) A person does not lose the person's principal place of residence until the person establishes

another principal place of residence.
(6) In computing the period that a person is a resident, a person shall:

(a) include the day on which the person establishes the person's principal place of residence; and
(b) exclude the day of the next election.

(7)
(a) There is a rebuttable presumption that a person's principal place of residence is in Utah and

in the voting precinct claimed by the person if the person makes an oath or affirmation upon a
registration application form that the person's principal place of residence is in Utah and in the
voting precinct claimed by the person.

(b) The election officers and election officials shall allow a person described in Subsection (7)(a)
to register and vote unless, upon a challenge by a registrar or some other person, it is shown
by law or by clear and convincing evidence that:

(i) the person's principal place of residence is not in Utah; or
(ii) the person is incarcerated in prison or jail and did not, before the person was incarcerated in

prison or jail, establish the person's principal place of residence in the voting precinct.
(8)
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(a) The criteria described in this section for establishing a person's principal place of residence
for voting purposes do not apply in relation to the person's location while the person is
incarcerated in prison or jail.

(b) For voting registration purposes, the principal place of residence of a person incarcerated in
prison or jail is the state and voting precinct where the person's principal place of residence
was located before incarceration.

(9) If a person's principal place of residence is a residential parcel of one acre in size or smaller
that is divided by the boundary line between two or more counties, that person shall be
considered a resident of the county in which a majority of the residential parcel lies.

Amended by Chapter 260, 2014 General Session

20A-2-107 Designating or changing party affiliation -- Times permitted.
(1) The county clerk shall:

(a) record the party affiliation designated by the voter on the voter registration form as the voter's
party affiliation; or

(b) if no political party affiliation is designated by the voter on the voter registration form:
(i) except as provided in Subsection (1)(b)(ii), record the voter's party affiliation as the party that

the voter designated the last time that the voter designated a party on a voter registration
form, unless the voter more recently registered as "unaffiliated"; or

(ii) record the voter's party affiliation as "unaffiliated" if the voter:
(A) did not previously designate a party;
(B) most recently designated the voter's party affiliation as "unaffiliated"; or
(C) did not previously register.

(2)
(a) Any registered voter may designate or change the voter's political party affiliation by

complying with the procedures and requirements of this Subsection (2).
(b) A registered voter may designate or change the voter's political party affiliation by filing a

signed form with the county clerk that identifies the registered political party with which the
voter chooses to affiliate, during any period except the following:

(i) the period beginning on the day after the voter registration deadline and continuing through
the date of the regular primary election; and

(ii) the period beginning on the day after the voter registration deadline and continuing through
the date of the Western States Presidential Primary.

Amended by Chapter 394, 2015 General Session

20A-2-107.5 Designating or changing party affiliation -- Regular primary election and
Western States Presidential Primary.
(1) At any regular primary election or the Western States Presidential Primary:

(a) each county clerk shall provide change of party affiliation forms to the poll workers for each
voting precinct within the county; and

(b) any registered voter who is classified as "unaffiliated" may affiliate with a political party by
completing the form and giving it to the poll worker.

(2) An unaffiliated voter who affiliates with a political party as provided in Subsection (1)(b) may
vote in that party's primary election.

Amended by Chapter 329, 2008 General Session
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20A-2-108 Driver license registration form -- Transmittal of information.
(1) The lieutenant governor and the Driver License Division shall design the driver license

application and renewal forms to include the following questions:
(a) "If you are not registered to vote where you live now, would you like to register to vote

today?"; and
(b) "If you are 16 or 17 years of age, and will not be 18 years of age before the date of the next

election, would you like to preregister to vote today?"
(2)

(a) The lieutenant governor and the Driver License Division shall design a motor voter
registration form to be used in conjunction with driver license application and renewal forms.

(b) Each driver license application and renewal form shall contain:
(i) a place for the applicant to decline to register or preregister to vote;
(ii) an eligibility statement in substantially the following form:          "I do swear (or affirm),

subject to penalty of law for false statements, that the information contained in this form is
true, and that I am a citizen of the United States and a resident of the state of Utah, residing
at the above address. Unless I have indicated above that I am preregistering to vote in a
later election, I will be at least 18 years of age and will have resided in Utah for 30 days
immediately before the next election.
Signed and sworn
____________________________________________________
                              Voter's Signature
__________(month\day\year)";

(iii) a citizenship affidavit in substantially the following form:
"CITIZENSHIP AFFIDAVIT

Name:
Name at birth, if different:
Place of birth:
Date of birth:
Date and place of naturalization (if applicable):
          I hereby swear and affirm, under penalties for voting fraud set forth below, that I am
a citizen and that to the best of my knowledge and belief the information above is true and
correct.
____________________________
Signature of Applicant
          In accordance with Section 20A-2-401, the penalty for willfully causing, procuring, or
allowing yourself to be registered or preregistered to vote if you know you are not entitled to
register or preregister to vote is up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $2,500";

(iv) a statement that if an applicant declines to register or preregister to vote, the fact that the
applicant has declined to register or preregister will remain confidential and will be used only
for voter registration purposes;

(v) a statement that if an applicant does register or preregister to vote, the office at which the
applicant submits a voter registration application will remain confidential and will be used
only for voter registration purposes; and

(vi) the following statement:          "The portion of a voter registration form that lists a person's
driver license or identification card number, Social Security number, and email address is a
private record.  The portion of a voter registration form that lists a person's date of birth is a
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private record, the use of which is restricted to government officials, government employees,
political parties, or certain other persons.
          If you believe that disclosure of any information contained in this voter registration
form to a person other than a government official or government employee is likely to put
you or a member of your household's life or safety at risk, or to put you or a member of your
household at risk of being stalked or harassed, you may apply to the lieutenant governor or
your county clerk to have your entire voter registration record classified as private."

(3) Upon receipt of a voter registration form from an applicant, the county clerk or the clerk's
designee shall:

(a) review the voter registration form for completeness and accuracy; and
(b) if the county clerk believes, based upon a review of the form, that a person may be seeking to

register or preregister to vote who is not legally entitled to register or preregister to vote, refer
the form to the county attorney for investigation and possible prosecution.

Amended by Chapter 130, 2015 General Session

20A-2-109 Statewide voter registration database -- Lieutenant governor to create -- Counties
to participate -- Maintenance of database -- Cooperation with governmental entities --
Record security -- List of incarcerated felons.
(1)

(a)
(i) The lieutenant governor shall develop a statewide voter registration database.
(ii)

(A) The lieutenant governor may compare the information in the statewide voter registration
database with information submitted by a registered voter to a state agency to identify a
change in a registered voter's principal place of residence or name.

(B) The lieutenant governor shall establish matching criteria and security measures for
identifying a change described in Subsection (1)(a)(ii)(A) to ensure the accuracy of a voter
registration record.

(C) The lieutenant governor shall notify the county clerk of the county in which the voter's
principal place of residence is located of the change in the registered voter's principal
place of residence or name.

(b) Each county clerk shall utilize the statewide voter registration database when recording or
modifying voter registration records.

(2)
(a) The lieutenant governor shall establish and implement a procedure to maintain the accuracy

of the statewide voter registration database by using information available from:
(i) a voter;
(ii) a governmental entity, as defined by Section 63G-2-103; or
(iii) another state.

(b) Subject to Subsection (2)(c), the lieutenant governor may cooperate or enter into an
agreement with a governmental entity or another state to share information to implement the
procedure established under Subsection (2)(a).

(c) For a record shared under Subsection (2)(b), the lieutenant governor shall ensure:
(i) that the record is only used to maintain the accuracy of a voter registration database;
(ii) compliance with Section 63G-2-206; and
(iii) that the record is secure from unauthorized use by employing data encryption or another

similar technology security system.



Utah Code

Page 14

(3)
(a) The lieutenant governor shall maintain a current list of all incarcerated felons in Utah.
(b)

(i) The Department of Corrections shall provide the lieutenant governor's office with a list of the
name and last-known address of each person who:

(A) was convicted of a felony in a Utah state court; and
(B) is currently incarcerated for commission of a felony.

(ii) The lieutenant governor shall establish the frequency of receipt of the information and the
method of transmitting the information after consultation with the Department of Corrections.

(c)
(i) The Department of Corrections shall provide the lieutenant governor's office with a list of the

name of each convicted felon who is no longer subject to the jurisdiction of the department
because the person has been released from incarceration.

(ii) The lieutenant governor shall establish the frequency of receipt of the information and the
method of transmitting the information after consultation with the Department of Corrections.

Amended by Chapter 333, 2011 General Session

Part 2
Alternate Means of Registering to Vote

20A-2-201 Registering to vote at office of county clerk.
(1) Except as provided in Subsection (3), the county clerk shall register to vote each individual who

registers in person at the county clerk's office during designated office hours if the individual
will, on the date of the election, be legally eligible to vote in a voting precinct in the county in
accordance with Section 20A-2-101.

(2) If an individual who is registering to vote submits a registration form in person at the office of
the county clerk during designated office hours, during the period beginning on the date after
the voter registration deadline and ending on the date that is 15 calendar days before the date
of the election, the county clerk shall:

(a) accept the form if the individual, on the date of the election, will be legally qualified and
entitled to vote in a voting precinct in the county; and

(b) inform the individual that the individual will be registered to vote in the pending election.
(3) If an individual who is registering to vote and who will be legally qualified and entitled to vote in

a voting precinct in the county on the date of an election appears in person, during designated
office hours, and submits a registration form on the date of the election or during the 14
calendar days before an election, the county clerk shall:

(a) accept the registration form; and
(b)

(i) if it is seven or more calendar days before the date of an election:
(A) inform the individual that the individual is registered to vote in the pending election; and
(B) for the pending election, the individual must vote on the day of the election and is not

eligible to vote using early voting under Chapter 3, Part 6, Early Voting, because the
individual registered too late; or

(ii) except as provided in Subsection 20A-4-108(5), if it is on the date of an election or during
the six calendar days before an election, inform the individual that the individual will be
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registered to vote but may not vote in the pending election because the individual registered
too late.

Amended by Chapter 130, 2015 General Session
Amended by Chapter 394, 2015 General Session

20A-2-202 Registration by mail.
(1)

(a) A citizen who will be qualified to vote at the next election may register by mail.
(b) To register by mail, a citizen shall complete and sign the by-mail registration form and mail or

deliver it to the county clerk of the county in which the citizen resides.
(c) In order to register to vote in a particular election, the citizen shall:

(i) address the by-mail voter registration form to the county clerk; and
(ii) ensure that it is postmarked on or before the voter registration deadline.

(d) The citizen has effectively registered to vote under this section only when the county clerk's
office has received a correctly completed by-mail voter registration form.

(2) Upon receipt of a correctly completed by-mail voter registration form, the county clerk shall,
unless the individual named in the form is preregistering to vote:

(a) enter the applicant's name on the list of registered voters for the voting precinct in which the
applicant resides; and

(b) mail confirmation of registration to the newly registered voter after entering the applicant's
voting precinct number on that copy.

(3)
(a) If the county clerk receives a correctly completed by-mail voter registration form that is

postmarked after the voter registration deadline, the county clerk shall, unless the individual
named in the form is preregistering to vote:

(i) register the applicant after the next election; and
(ii) if possible, promptly phone or mail a notice to the applicant before the election, informing the

applicant that his registration will not be effective until after the election.
(b) When the county clerk receives a correctly completed by-mail voter registration form at

least seven days before an election that is postmarked on or before the date of the voter
registration deadline, the county clerk shall:

(i) process the by-mail voter registration form; and
(ii) record the new voter in the official register.

(4) If the county clerk determines that a registration form received by mail or otherwise is incorrect
because of an error or because it is incomplete, the county clerk shall mail notice to the
person attempting to register or preregister, stating that the person has not been registered or
preregistered because of an error or because the form is incomplete.

Amended by Chapter 130, 2015 General Session

20A-2-204 Registering to vote when applying for or renewing a driver license.
(1) As used in this section, "voter registration form" means the driver license application/voter

registration form and the driver license renewal/voter registration form required by Section
20A-2-108.

(2) Any citizen who is qualified to vote may register to vote, and any citizen who is qualified to
preregister to vote may preregister to vote, by completing the voter registration form.

(3) The Driver License Division shall:
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(a) assist applicants in completing the voter registration form unless the applicant refuses
assistance;

(b) accept a completed voter registration form and transmit the form to the county clerk of the
county in which the applicant resides within five days after the day on which the division
receives the form;

(c) transmit each address change within five days after the day on which the division receives the
address change; and

(d) transmit electronically to the lieutenant governor's office the name, address, birth date,
and driver license number of each individual who answers "yes" to a question described in
Subsection 20A-2-108(1), and indicate whether the individual is registering or preregistering
to vote.

(4)
(a) Upon receipt of a correctly completed voter registration form from an individual who is

registering to vote, the county clerk shall:
(i) enter the applicant's name on the list of registered voters for the voting precinct in which the

applicant resides; and
(ii) notify the applicant of registration.

(b) Upon receipt of a correctly completed voter registration form from an individual who is
preregistering to vote, the county clerk shall process the form in accordance with the
requirements of Section 20A-2-101.1.

(5)
(a) If the county clerk receives a correctly completed voter registration form that is dated after the

voter registration deadline, the county clerk shall, unless the individual named in the form is
preregistering to vote:

(i) register the applicant after the next election; and
(ii) if possible, promptly phone or mail a notice to the applicant before the election, informing the

applicant that his registration will not be effective until after the election.
(b) When the county clerk receives a correctly completed voter registration form at least seven

days before an election that is dated on or before the voter registration deadline, the county
clerk shall, unless the individual named in the form is preregistering to vote:

(i) process the voter registration form; and
(ii) record the new voter in the official register.

(6) If the county clerk determines that a voter registration form received from the Driver License
Division is incorrect because of an error or because it is incomplete, the county clerk shall
mail notice to the individual attempting to register or preregister to vote, stating that the
individual has not been registered or preregistered because of an error or because the form is
incomplete.

Amended by Chapter 130, 2015 General Session

20A-2-205 Registration at voter registration agencies.
(1) As used in this section:

(a) "Discretionary voter registration agency" means the same as that term is defined in Section
20A-2-300.5.

(b) "Public assistance agency" means each office in Utah that provides:
(i) public assistance; or
(ii) state funded programs primarily engaged in providing services to people with disabilities.
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(2) An individual may obtain and complete a by-mail registration form at a public assistance agency
or discretionary voter registration agency.

(3) Each public assistance agency and discretionary voter registration agency shall provide, either
as part of existing forms or on a separate form, the following information in substantially the
following form:
          "REGISTERING TO VOTE
          If you are not registered to vote where you live now, would you like to apply to register
or preregister to vote here today? (The decision of whether to register or preregister to vote
will not affect the amount of assistance that you will be provided by this agency.) Yes____
No____ IF YOU DO NOT CHECK EITHER BOX, YOU WILL BE CONSIDERED TO HAVE
DECIDED NOT TO REGISTER OR PREREGISTER TO VOTE AT THIS TIME.  If you would
like help in filling out the voter registration form, we will help you.  The decision about whether
to seek or accept help is yours.  You may fill out the application form in private.  If you believe
that someone has interfered with your right to register or preregister or to decline to register
or preregister to vote, your right to privacy in deciding whether to register or preregister, or in
applying to register or preregister to vote, or your right to choose your own political party or
other political preference, you may file a complaint with the Office of the Lieutenant Governor,
State Capitol Building, Salt Lake City, Utah 84114.  (The phone number of the Office of the
Lieutenant Governor)."

(4) Unless a person applying for service or assistance from a public assistance agency or
discretionary voter registration agency declines, in writing, to register or preregister to vote,
each public assistance agency and discretionary voter registration agency shall:

(a) distribute a by-mail voter registration form with each application for service or assistance
provided by the agency or office;

(b) assist applicants in completing the voter registration form unless the applicant refuses
assistance;

(c) accept completed forms for transmittal to the appropriate election official; and
(d) transmit a copy of each voter registration form to the appropriate election official within five

days after it is received by the division.
(5) A person in a public assistance agency or a discretionary voter registration agency that helps a

person complete the voter registration form may not:
(a) seek to influence an applicant's political preference or party registration;
(b) display any political preference or party allegiance;
(c) make any statement to an applicant or take any action that has the purpose or effect of

discouraging the applicant from registering to vote; or
(d) make any statement to an applicant or take any action that has the purpose or effect of

leading the applicant to believe that a decision of whether to register or preregister has any
bearing upon the availability of services or benefits.

(6) Upon receipt of a correctly completed voter registration form, the county clerk shall, unless the
individual named in the form is preregistering to vote:

(a) enter the applicant's name on the list of registered voters for the voting precinct in which the
applicant resides; and

(b) notify the applicant of registration.
(7)

(a) If the county clerk receives a correctly completed voter registration form that is dated after the
voter registration deadline, the county clerk shall, unless the individual named in the form is
preregistering to vote:

(i) register the applicant after the next election; and
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(ii) if possible, promptly phone or mail a notice to the applicant before the election, informing the
applicant that his registration will not be effective until after the election.

(b) When the county clerk receives a correctly completed voter registration form at least seven
days before an election that is dated on or before the voter registration deadline, the county
clerk shall:

(i) process the voter registration form; and
(ii) record the new voter in the official register.

(8) If the county clerk determines that a voter registration form received from a public assistance
agency or discretionary voter registration agency is incorrect because of an error or because
it is incomplete, the county clerk shall mail notice to the individual attempting to register or
preregister to vote, stating that the individual has not been registered or preregistered to vote
because of an error or because the form is incomplete.

Amended by Chapter 130, 2015 General Session

20A-2-206 Electronic registration -- Requests for absentee ballot application.
(1) The lieutenant governor may create and maintain an electronic system that is publicly available

on the Internet for an individual to apply for voter registration or preregistration and for an
individual to request an absentee ballot.

(2) An electronic system for voter registration or preregistration shall require:
(a) that an applicant have a valid driver license or identification card, issued under Title 53,

Chapter 3, Uniform Driver License Act, that reflects the applicant's current principal place of
residence;

(b) that the applicant provide the information required by Section 20A-2-104, except that the
applicant's signature may be obtained in the manner described in Subsections (2)(d) and (4);

(c) that the applicant attest to the truth of the information provided; and
(d) that the applicant authorize the lieutenant governor's and county clerk's use of the applicant's:

(i) driver license or identification card signature, obtained under Title 53, Chapter 3, Uniform
Driver License Act, for voter registration purposes; or

(ii) signature on file in the lieutenant governor's statewide voter registration database developed
under Section 20A-2-109.

(3) Notwithstanding Section 20A-2-104, an applicant using the electronic system for voter
registration or preregistration created under this section is not required to complete a printed
registration form.

(4) A system created and maintained under this section shall provide the notices concerning a
voter's presentation of identification contained in Subsection 20A-2-104(1).

(5) The lieutenant governor shall:
(a) obtain a digital copy of the applicant's driver license or identification card signature from the

Driver License Division; or
(b) ensure that the applicant's signature is already on file in the lieutenant governor's statewide

voter registration database developed under Section 20A-2-109.
(6) The lieutenant governor shall send the information to the county clerk for the county in which

the applicant's principal place of residence is found for further action as required by Section
20A-2-304 after:

(a) receiving all information from an applicant; and
(b)

(i) receiving all information from the Driver License Division; or
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(ii) ensuring that the applicant's signature is already on file in the lieutenant governor's
statewide voter registration database developed under Section 20A-2-109.

(7) The lieutenant governor may use additional security measures to ensure the accuracy and
integrity of an electronically submitted voter registration.

(8)
(a) If an individual applies to register under this section during the period beginning on the date

after the voter registration deadline and ending on the date that is 15 calendar days before
the date of an election, the county clerk shall, unless the individual is preregistering to vote:

(i) accept the application for registration if the individual, on the date of the election, will be
legally qualified and entitled to vote in a voting precinct in the state; and

(ii) inform the individual that the individual is registered to vote in the pending election.
(b) If an individual applies to register under this section during the period beginning on the date

that is 14 calendar days before the election and ending on the date that is seven calendar
days before the election, the county clerk shall, unless the individual is preregistering to vote:

(i) accept the application for registration if the individual, on the date of the election, will be
legally qualified and entitled to vote in a voting precinct in the state; and

(ii) inform the individual that:
(A) the individual is registered to vote in the pending election; and
(B) for the pending election, the individual must vote on the day of the election and is not

eligible to vote using early voting under Chapter 3, Part 6, Early Voting, because the
individual registered too late.

(c) If an individual applies to register under this section during the six calendar days before an
election, the county clerk shall, unless the individual is preregistering to vote:

(i) accept the application for registration if the individual, on the date of the election, will be
legally qualified and entitled to vote in a voting precinct in the state; and

(ii) inform the individual that the individual is registered to vote but may not vote in the pending
election because the individual registered too late.

(9)
(a) A registered voter may file an application for an absentee ballot in accordance with Section

20A-3-304 on the electronic system for voter registration established under this section.
(b) The lieutenant governor shall provide a means by which a registered voter shall sign the

application form as provided in Section 20A-3-304.

Amended by Chapter 130, 2015 General Session

Part 3
County Clerk's Voter Registration Responsibilities

20A-2-300.5 Definitions.
          As used in this part:

(1) "Discretionary voter registration agency" means each office designated by the county clerk to
provide by-mail voter registration forms to the public.

(2) "Public assistance agency" means each office in Utah that provides:
(a) public assistance; and
(b) state funded programs primarily engaged in providing services to people with disabilities.
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Enacted by Chapter 311, 1994 General Session

20A-2-300.6 Chief elections officer.
(1) The lieutenant governor is Utah's chief elections officer.
(2) The lieutenant governor shall:

(a) oversee all of Utah's:
(i) voter registration activities; and
(ii) other responsibilities established by:

(A) Public Law 103-31, the National Voter Registration Act of 1993; and
(B) Public Law 107-252, the Help America Vote Act of 2002; and

(b) coordinate with local, state, and federal officials to ensure compliance with state and federal
election laws.

(3) The lieutenant governor, in cooperation with the county clerks, shall develop a general program
to obtain change of address information in order to remove the names of ineligible voters from
the official register.

Amended by Chapter 117, 2003 General Session

20A-2-301 County clerk responsibilities -- Voter registration forms.
(1) Each county clerk shall provide book voter registration forms and by-mail voter registration

forms for use in the voter registration process.
(2)

(a) Each county clerk shall:
(i) designate certain offices within the county to provide by-mail voter registration forms to the

public; and
(ii) provide by-mail voter registration forms to each public assistance agency and discretionary

voter registration agency.
(b) Each county clerk may provide copies of by-mail voter registration forms to public school

districts and nonpublic schools as provided in Section 20A-2-302.
(3) Each regular general election year, the county clerk shall provide by-mail voter registration

forms to the political parties in a quantity requested by the political parties, as needed.
(4) Candidates, parties, organizations, and interested persons may purchase by-mail voter

registration forms from the county clerk or from the printer.
(5)

(a) The clerk shall make book voter registration forms available to interested organizations in lots
of 250, to be replaced when each lot of 200 is returned to the county clerk.

(b) Interested organizations that receive book voter registration forms from the county clerk shall
return them to the county clerk on or before the voter registration deadline.

(6) The county clerk may not refuse to register any person to vote for failing to provide a telephone
number on the voter registration form.

(7)
(a) It is unlawful for any person to willfully fail or refuse to deliver completed voter registration

forms, obtained as provided in this section, to the county clerk.
(b) A person who violates this Subsection (7) is guilty of a class B misdemeanor.

Amended by Chapter 335, 2011 General Session

20A-2-302 Voter registration forms for high school students.
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(1)
(a) A county clerk may:

(i) contact each high school and each accredited nonpublic high school in the county;
(ii) determine the number of high school seniors; and
(iii) distribute by-mail voter registration forms to each accredited public or private high school in

an amount sufficient for distribution to each high school senior.
(b) The county clerk shall process a voter registration form received from an individual under this

section in accordance with Section 20A-2-101.1.
(2) Each public school and accredited nonpublic school may:

(a) include the by-mail voter registration form in the senior registration packet; and
(b) collect and forward completed by-mail voter registration forms to the county clerk.

Amended by Chapter 130, 2015 General Session

20A-2-304 County clerk's responsibilities -- Notice of disposition.
          Each county clerk shall:

(1) register to vote each applicant for registration who meets the requirements for registration and
who:

(a) submits a completed voter registration form to the county clerk on or before the voter
registration deadline;

(b) submits a completed voter registration form to the Driver License Division, a public assistance
agency, or a discretionary voter registration agency on or before the voter registration
deadline; or

(c) mails a completed by-mail voter registration form to the county clerk on or before the voter
registration deadline; and

(2) send a notice to the voter informing the voter that:
(a) the voter's application for voter registration has been accepted and that the voter is registered

to vote;
(b) the voter's application for voter registration has been rejected and the reason for the rejection;

or
(c) the application for voter registration is being returned to the voter for further action because

the application is incomplete and giving instructions to the voter about how to properly
complete the application.

Amended by Chapter 264, 2006 General Session

20A-2-304.5 County clerk's responsibilities -- Updating voter registration.
(1) A county clerk who receives notification from the lieutenant governor, as provided in Subsection

20A-2-109(1), of a change in a registered voter's principal place of residence or name may
verify the change with the registered voter.

(2) Unless the county clerk verifies that a change described in Subsection (1) is incorrect, the
county clerk shall:

(a) change the voter registration record to show the registered voter's current name and address;
and

(b) notify the registered voter of the change to the voter registration record.
(3)

(a) If a voter does not vote in any election during the period beginning on the date of any regular
general election and ending on the day after the date of the next regular general election and
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the county clerk has not sent the voter a notice described in Section 20A-2-306 during the
period, the county clerk shall send to the voter a preaddressed return form in substantially the
following form:          "VOTER REGISTRATION ADDRESS"
          To ensure the address on your voter registration is correct, please complete and return
this form if your address has changed. What is your current street address?
____________________________________________________________________________
Street                                        City                                        County           State                   
ZIP
___________________________
Signature of Voter

(b) The county clerk shall mail the form described in Subsection (3)(a) with a postal service that
will notify the county clerk if the voter has changed the voter's address.

Amended by Chapter 52, 2012 General Session

20A-2-305 Removing names from the official register -- General requirements.
(1) The county clerk may not remove a voter's name from the official register because the voter

has failed to vote in an election.
(2) The county clerk shall remove a voter's name from the official register if:

(a) the voter dies and the requirements of Subsection (3) are met;
(b) the county clerk, after complying with the requirements of Section 20A-2-306, receives written

confirmation from the voter that the voter no longer resides within the county clerk's county;
(c) the county clerk has:

(i) obtained evidence that the voter's residence has changed;
(ii) mailed notice to the voter as required by Section 20A-2-306;
(iii)

(A) received no response from the voter; or
(B) not received information that confirms the voter's residence; and

(iv) the voter has failed to vote or appear to vote in an election during the period beginning on
the date of the notice described in Section 20A-2-306 and ending on the day after the date
of the second regular general election occurring after the date of the notice;

(d) the voter requests, in writing, that the voter's name be removed from the official register;
(e) the county clerk receives a returned voter identification card, determines that there was no

clerical error causing the card to be returned, and has no further information to contact the
voter;

(f) the county clerk receives notice that a voter has been convicted of any felony or a
misdemeanor for an offense under this title and the voter's right to vote has not been restored
as provided in Section 20A-2-101.3 or 20A-2-101.5; or

(g) the county clerk receives notice that a voter has registered to vote in another state after the
day on which the voter registered to vote in this state.

(3) The county clerk shall remove a voter's name from the registration list within 21 days of
receipt of confirmation from the Department of Health's Bureau of Vital Records that a voter is
deceased.

Amended by Chapter 33, 2012 General Session
Amended by Chapter 52, 2012 General Session
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20A-2-306 Removing names from the official register -- Determining and confirming change
of residence.
(1) A county clerk may not remove a voter's name from the official register on the grounds that the

voter has changed residence unless the voter:
(a) confirms in writing that the voter has changed residence to a place outside the county; or
(b)

(i) has not voted in an election during the period beginning on the date of the notice required by
Subsection (3), and ending on the day after the date of the second regular general election
occurring after the date of the notice; and

(ii) has failed to respond to the notice required by Subsection (3).
(2)

(a) When a county clerk obtains information that a voter's address has changed and it appears
that the voter still resides within the same county, the county clerk shall:

(i) change the official register to show the voter's new address; and
(ii) send to the voter, by forwardable mail, the notice required by Subsection (3) printed on a

postage prepaid, preaddressed return form.
(b) When a county clerk obtains information that a voter's address has changed and it appears

that the voter now resides in a different county, the county clerk shall verify the changed
residence by sending to the voter, by forwardable mail, the notice required by Subsection (3)
printed on a postage prepaid, preaddressed return form.

(3) Each county clerk shall use substantially the following form to notify voters whose addresses
have changed:          "VOTER REGISTRATION NOTICE
          We have been notified that your residence has changed.  Please read, complete, and
return this form so that we can update our voter registration records.  What is your current
street address?
___________________________________________________________________________
Street                                          City                               County                    State                   
Zip
          If you have not changed your residence or have moved but stayed within the same
county, you must complete and return this form to the county clerk so that it is received by the
county clerk no later than 30 days before the date of the election.  If you fail to return this form
within that time:
          - you may be required to show evidence of your address to the poll worker before being
allowed to vote in either of the next two regular general elections; or
          - if you fail to vote at least once from the date this notice was mailed until the passing
of two regular general elections, you will no longer be registered to vote.  If you have changed
your residence and have moved to a different county in Utah, you may register to vote by
contacting the county clerk in your county.
________________________________________
Signature of Voter"
          "The portion of a voter registration form that lists a person's driver license or identification
card number, social security number, and email address is a private record. The portion of a
voter registration form that lists a person's date of birth is a private record, the use of which
is restricted to government officials, government employees, political parties, or certain other
persons.
          If you believe that disclosure of any information contained in this voter registration form
to a person other than a government official or government employee is likely to put you or a
member of your household's life or safety at risk, or to put you or a member of your household
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at risk of being stalked or harassed, you may apply to the lieutenant governor or your county
clerk to have your entire voter registration record classified as private."

(4)
(a) Except as provided in Subsection (4)(b), the county clerk may not remove the names of any

voters from the official register during the 90 days before a regular primary election and the
90 days before a regular general election.

(b) The county clerk may remove the names of voters from the official register during the 90 days
before a regular primary election and the 90 days before a regular general election if:

(i) the voter requests, in writing, that the voter's name be removed; or
(ii) the voter has died.

(c)
(i) After a county clerk mails a notice as required in this section, the clerk may list that voter as

inactive.
(ii) An inactive voter shall be allowed to vote, sign petitions, and have all other privileges of a

registered voter.
(iii) A county is not required to send routine mailings to inactive voters and is not required to

count inactive voters when dividing precincts and preparing supplies.

Amended by Chapter 373, 2014 General Session

20A-2-307 County clerks' instructions to election judges.
(1) Each county clerk shall instruct election judges to allow a voter to vote a regular ballot if:

(a) the voter has moved from one address within a voting precinct to another address within the
same voting precinct; and

(b) the voter affirms the change of address orally or in writing before the election judges.
(2) Each county clerk shall instruct election judges to allow a person to vote a provisional ballot if:

(a) the voter's name does not appear on the official register; or
(b) the voter is challenged as provided in Section 20A-3-202.

Amended by Chapter 79, 2015 General Session

20A-2-308 Lieutenant governor and county clerks to preserve records.
(1) As used in this section:

(a) "Voter registration record" means a record concerning the implementation of programs and
activities conducted for the purpose of ensuring that the official register is accurate and
current.

(b) "Voter registration record" does not include a record that:
(i) relates to a person's decision to decline to register to vote; or
(ii) identifies the particular public assistance agency, discretionary voter registration agency, or

Driver License Division through which a particular voter registered to vote.
(2) The lieutenant governor and each county clerk shall:

(a) preserve for at least two years all records relating to voter registration, including:
(i) the official register; and
(ii) the names and addresses of all persons to whom the notice required by Section 20A-2-306

was sent and a notation as to whether or not the person responded to the notice;
(b) make a voter registration record available for public inspection, except for a voter registration

record, or part of a voter registration record that is classified as private under Section
63G-2-302; and
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(c) allow a record or part of a record described in Subsection (2)(b) that is not classified as a
private record to be photocopied for a reasonable cost.

Amended by Chapter 373, 2014 General Session

Part 4
Crimes Involving Voter Registration

20A-2-401 Fraudulent registration -- Penalty.
(1)

(a) An individual may not willfully register to vote, or cause, procure, or allow himself or herself
to be registered to vote, knowing that the individual is not eligible to register to vote under
Section 20A-2-101.

(b) A person may not willfully cause, procure, advise, encourage, or assist any individual to be
registered to vote, knowing or believing that the individual is not eligible to register to vote
under Section 20A-2-101.

(2)
(a) An individual may not willfully preregister to vote, or allow himself or herself to be

preregistered to vote, knowing that the individual is not eligible to preregister to vote under
Section 20A-2-101.1.

(b) A person may not willfully cause, advise, encourage, or assist an individual to preregister to
vote, knowing or believing that the individual is not eligible to preregister to vote under Section
20A-2-101.1.

(3) A person who violates this section is guilty of a class A misdemeanor.

Amended by Chapter 130, 2015 General Session


