Title 26B Chapter 8 Part 1 Section 114
| << Previous Section (26B-8-113) | Download Options PDF | RTF | XML | Next Section (26B-8-115) >> |
| Index | Utah Code |
| Title 26B | Utah Health and Human Services Code |
| Chapter 8 | Health Data, Vital Statistics, and Utah Medical Examiner |
| Part 1 | Vital Statistics |
| Section 114 | Certificate of death -- Execution and registration requirements -- Information provided to lieutenant governor.
(Effective 1/1/2026)
|
Effective 1/1/2026
26B-8-114. Certificate of death -- Execution and registration requirements -- Information provided to lieutenant governor.
Amended by Chapter 500, 2025 General Session
26B-8-114. Certificate of death -- Execution and registration requirements -- Information provided to lieutenant governor.
| (2) |
|
| (3) |
|
| (4) |
|
| (5) |
|
| (6) | When death occurs more than 365 days after the day on which the decedent was last treated by a health care professional, the case shall be referred to the medical examiner for investigation to determine and certify the cause, date, and place of death. |
| (7) | When inquiry is required by Part 2, Utah Medical Examiner, the medical examiner shall make an investigation and complete and sign the medical section of the certificate of death within 72 hours after taking charge of the case. |
| (8) | If the cause of death cannot be determined within 72 hours after death:
|
| (9) |
|
| (10) | It is unlawful for a dispositioner to charge for or accept any remuneration for:
|
| (11) | The state registrar shall, within five business days after the day on which the state registrar or local registrar registers a certificate of death for a Utah resident, inform the lieutenant governor of:
|
| (12) | The lieutenant governor shall, within one business day after the day on which the lieutenant governor receives the information described in Subsection (11), provide the information to the county clerks. |
Amended by Chapter 500, 2025 General Session
| << Previous Section (26B-8-113) | Download Options PDF | RTF | XML | Next Section (26B-8-115) >> |