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Effective 5/12/2015
41-12a-302 Operating motor vehicle without owner's or operator's security -- Penalty.
(1)

(a) Except as provided in Subsection (1)(b), an owner of a motor vehicle on which owner's or
operator's security is required under Section 41-12a-301, who operates the owner's vehicle or
permits it to be operated on a highway in this state without owner's security being in effect is
guilty of a class C misdemeanor, and the fine shall be not less than:

(i) $400 for a first offense; and
(ii) $1,000 for a second and subsequent offense within three years of a previous conviction or

bail forfeiture.
(b) A court may waive up to $300 of the fine charged to the owner of a motor vehicle under

Subsection (1)(a)(i) if the owner demonstrates that owner's or operator's security required
under Section 41-12a-301 was obtained subsequent to the violation but before sentencing.

(2)
(a) Except as provided under Subsection (2)(b), any other person who operates a motor vehicle

upon a highway in Utah with the knowledge that the owner does not have owner's security in
effect for the motor vehicle is also guilty of a class C misdemeanor, and the fine shall be not
less than:

(i) $400 for a first offense; and
(ii) $1,000 for a second and subsequent offense within three years of a previous conviction or

bail forfeiture.
(b) A person that has in effect owner's security on a Utah-registered motor vehicle or its

equivalent that covers the operation, by the person, of the motor vehicle in question is exempt
from this Subsection (2).
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