Effective 5/9/2017 Superseded 5/14/2019

53-3-202 Drivers must be licensed -- Violation.

- (1) A person may not drive a motor vehicle or an autocycle on a highway in this state unless the person is:
 - (a) granted the privilege to operate a motor vehicle by being licensed as a driver by the division under this chapter;
 - (b) driving an official United States Government class D motor vehicle with a valid United States Government driver permit or license for that type of vehicle;

(c)

- (i) driving a road roller, road machinery, or any farm tractor or implement of husbandry temporarily drawn, moved, or propelled on the highways; and
- (ii) driving the vehicle described in Subsection (1)(c)(i) in conjunction with a construction or agricultural activity;
- (d) a nonresident who is at least 16 years of age and younger than 18 years of age who has in the nonresident's immediate possession a valid license certificate issued to the nonresident in the nonresident's home state or country and is driving in the class or classes identified on the home state license certificate, except those persons referred to in Part 6, Drivers' License Compact, of this chapter;
- (e) a nonresident who is at least 18 years of age and who has in the nonresident's immediate possession a valid license certificate issued to the nonresident in the nonresident's home state or country if driving in the class or classes identified on the home state license certificate, except those persons referred to in Part 6, Drivers' License Compact, of this chapter;
- (f) driving under a learner permit in accordance with Section 53-3-210.5;
- (g) driving with a temporary license certificate issued in accordance with Section 53-3-207; or
- (h) exempt under Title 41, Chapter 22, Off-Highway Vehicles.
- (2) A person may not drive or, while within the passenger compartment of a motor vehicle, exercise any degree or form of physical control of a motor vehicle being towed by a motor vehicle upon a highway unless the person:
 - (a) holds a valid license issued under this chapter for the type or class of motor vehicle being towed; or
 - (b) is exempted under either Subsection (1)(b) or (1)(c).

(3)

- (a) A person may not drive a motor vehicle as a taxicab on a highway of this state unless the person has a valid class D driver license issued by the division .
- (b) A person may not drive a motor vehicle as a private passenger carrier on a highway of this state unless the person has:
 - (i) a taxicab endorsement issued by the division on the person's license certificate; or
 - (ii) a commercial driver license with:
 - (A) a taxicab endorsement:
 - (B) a passenger endorsement; or
 - (C) a school bus endorsement.
- (c) Nothing in Subsection (3)(b) is intended to exempt a person driving a motor vehicle as a private passenger carrier from regulation under other statutory and regulatory schemes, including:
 - (i) 49 C.F.R. Parts 350-399, Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations;

- (ii) Title 34, Chapter 36, Transportation of Workers, and rules adopted by the Labor Commission in accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act; and
- (iii)Title 72, Chapter 9, Motor Carrier Safety Act, and rules adopted by the Motor Carrier Division in accordance with Title 63G, Chapter 3, Utah Administrative Rulemaking Act.

(4)

- (a) Except as provided in Subsections (4)(b), (c), (d), and (e) a person may not operate:
 - (i) a motorcycle unless the person has a valid class D driver license and a motorcycle endorsement issued under this chapter;
 - (ii) a street legal all-terrain vehicle unless the person has a valid class D driver license; or
 - (iii) a motor-driven cycle unless the person has a valid class D driver license and a motorcycle endorsement issued under this chapter.
- (b) A person operating a moped, as defined in Section 41-6a-102, is not required to have a motorcycle endorsement issued under this chapter.
- (c) A person operating an electric assisted bicycle, as defined in Section 41-6a-102, is not required to have a valid class D driver license or a motorcycle endorsement issued under this chapter.
- (d) A person is not required to have a valid class D driver license if the person is:
 - (i) operating a motor assisted scooter, as defined in Section 41-6a-102, in accordance with Section 41-6a-1115; or
 - (ii) operating an electric personal assistive mobility device, as defined in Section 41-6a-102, in accordance with Section 41-6a-1116.
- (e) A person operating an autocycle is not required to have a motorcycle endorsement issued under this chapter.
- (5) A person who violates this section is guilty of an infraction.