Utah Code

Effective 5/13/2014

53-3-803 Application for identification card -- Age requirements -- Application on behalf of

others.

(1) A person at least 16 years of age or older may apply to the division for an identification card.

(2) A person younger than 16 years of age may apply to the division for an identification card with
the consent of the applicant's parent or guardian.

3)

(a) If a person is unable to apply for the card due to his youth or incapacitation, the application
may be made on behalf of that person by his parent or guardian.
(b) A parent or guardian applying for an identification card on behalf of a child or incapacitated
person shall provide:
(i) identification, as required by the commissioner; and
(ii) the consent of the incapacitated person, as required by the commissioner.

(4) Beginning on or after July 1, 2012, a person who holds an unexpired Utah license certificate
issued under Part 2, Driver Licensing Act, may not be issued a Utah identification card or an
extension of a regular identification card unless:

(a) the Utah license certificate is canceled; and
(b) if the Utah license certificate is in the person's possession, the Utah license certificate is
surrendered to the division.

Amended by Chapter 252, 2014 General Session
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